"Large Divided Oval: Butterfly" by Henry Moore

Even before visitors enter the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, they will be welcomed by Henry Moore's majestic "Butterfly". Weighing in at over eight-tons, and yet seeming to hover weightlessly over the surface of the reflecting pool, the sculpture was erected in 1987 for the reopening of the Haus during Berlin’s 750th anniversary.

One of the greatest sculptors of his generation, Henry Moore (b. 1898, British Castleford) had started working on "Large Divided Oval: Butterfly" a year earlier. It was destined to be his last work. When Moore died shortly later, the sculpture was still in the foundry , and he was unable to answer a letter requesting that he donate his work to Berlin. The city eventually acquired the bronze at a price of DM 3.5 million - one of the most expensive purchases of public art Berlin has ever made.

The play of light and reflective water makes the sculpture appear as if it is opening upwards and expanding beyond the borders of its form. It plays with the impression of being a pair of wings, thus awakening most intriguingly the image of a butterfly coming to life.

In the spring of 2010, the sculpture was completely overhauled, newly coated and polished. In its old, bronze-colored shine, the sculpture now is back in its original place.


The restoration was carried out by the Noack foundry. We thank the Verein der Freunde - Haus der Kulturen der Welt for the initiative for restoring the sculpture "Large Divided Oval: Butterfly" and its President, Jörg A. Henle, the Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin, and Bayer AG for their generous support without whom it would not have been possible.
An initiative of the Verein der Freunde – Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Circle of Friends – Haus der Kulturen der Welt), with support from Jörg A. Henle, the Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin, and Bayer AG


Verein der Freunde - Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Bayer

null

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

"Large Divided Oval: Butterfly" von Henry Moore

Noch ehe der Besucher das Haus der Kulturen der Welt betritt, wird er von Henry Moores majestätischem „Schmetterling“ empfangen. Die über acht Tonnen schwere und doch wie schwerelos über dem Spiegelteich schwebende Skulptur wurde 1987 zur Wiedereröffnung des Hauses im Zuge der 750-Jahr-Feier Berlins aufgestellt.

Nur ein Jahr zuvor hatte Henry Moore, 1898 im britischen Castleford geboren und einer der größten Bildhauer seiner Generation, die Arbeit an „Large Divided Oval: Butterfly“ begonnen. Es sollte sein letztes Werk werden. Als Moore wenig später starb, befand sich die Skulptur noch in der Bildgießerei. Einen Brief mit der Bitte, seine Arbeit Berlin zu stiften, hatte Moore nicht mehr beantworten können. So erwarb die Stadt schließlich die Bronze zum Preis von 3,5 Millionen DM – einer der teuersten Ankäufe von Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, die Berlin jemals getätigt hat.

Die Skulptur scheint sich im Spiel des Lichts und des reflektierenden Wassers nach oben zu öffnen und sich ständig über die Grenzen ihrer Gestalt hinaus zu erweitern. Sie spielt mit der Anmutung eines Flügelpaares und erweckt somit in faszinierender Weise das Bild des Schmetterlings zum Leben.

Im Frühjahr 2010 wurde die Plastik vollständig überarbeitet, neu patiniert und poliert. Im alten, bronzefarbenen Glanz steht sie nun wieder an ihrer angestammten Stelle.


Die Restaurierung wurde ausgeführt von der Bildgießerei Noack. Wir danken dem Verein der Freunde – Haus der Kulturen der Welt für die Initiative zur Restaurierung der Skulptur „Large Divided Oval: Butterfly“ sowie seinem Präsidenten Jörg A. Henle, der Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin und der Bayer AG für die großzügige Unterstützung, ohne die sie nicht möglich gewesen wäre.


Verein der Freunde - Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Bayer

null