Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

Episode 5 / 1960: The Roof: Its Symbol and Function

Sketch from Bauwelt 1958, Issue1 | (c) Bauwelt 1958, Issue1

Sketch from Bauwelt 1958, Issue1 | (c) Bauwelt 1958, Issue1

The Congress Hall debate and Frei Otto’s criticisms

Routine sets in at the Congress Hall. The German doctors hold their congress there, as do the metalworkers’ union, road researchers, “film-workers for the youth”, the German student union, the German writers' union, the Union des Etudiants Catholiques Africains and the Liberale Weltunion (later the Liberale Internationale). Normality prevails – if indeed one may speak of normality in a city in which more than 150,000 people will cross the demarcation line from East to West this year alone. At a time when thousands and thousands of people a year are leaving their homes between Rügen and the Erzgebirge and using Berlin as an emergency exit, the returnees hold their congress at the Congress Hall. German history is evidently keeping people on the move ...

The fact that the Congress Hall has thus become a beacon of freedom is not lost on the East, as the petulant tone of an article published in the East German architectural journal in March clearly shows. A few years later, the East German magazine Deutsche Architecture will recapitulate the arguments advanced by the West German architect Frei Otto, probably the shrewdest critic of the Congress Hall’s design. Nor will it forgo the obligatory polemic against Eleanor Dulles, accused in the introduction of regularly infiltrating agents and arsonists. For all that, it is worth revisiting the debate between Otto and Hugh Stubbins. (Otto experimented with tent structures in the 1950s and later designed bold space grid structures such as the Olympic Stadium in Munich.)

In 1958, the respective arguments of Otto and Stubbins appear simultaneously in the German architectural magazine Bauwelt and in the American Architectural Forum The very different and perhaps prototypical approaches of the two architects are quite apparent. Frei Otto’s main criticism is directed at the roof structure, which he deems too complicated. Everything is borne ultimately by the concrete ring (above the auditorium), whose load is transferred only to a minor degree down through the two pillars. The point is that this concrete ring and other load-bearing elements, which would be unnecessary in a different type of structure, are hidden from view. The design does not strive for a unity of form and function, complains Otto. Stubbins replies that form, which is dependent on function, must be subordinated to the goal of expressing beauty. Whereas Otto declares that it is absurd to search for (and construct) the form of an abstract idea, the US architect argues that human beings have a fundamental need for symbols. Here, the East German magazine Deutsche Architektur certainly quotes Stubbins correctly, even if it does end up suppressing his arguments. And Frei Otto sums up by pointing out that this new building form is unquestionably "a significant act" - a necessary beginning. Unsurprisingly, though, the East German magazine closes on a totally negative note: for all the impressive talk about democracy and the “free spirit”, such talk is just as hypocritical as the entire concept of the West Berlin Congress Hall. Q.E.D. …
A.B.

The next episode deals with walls, which nobody wanted to build, very close to the Congress Hall: Episode 1961 .

Helgard Behrendt, Die Mauerschneise, Berlin 1994
Deutsche Architektur, 3/1960
Architectural Forum 108, 1958
Bauwelt 1/1958

Episode 5 / 1960: Das Dach: Symbol und Funktion

Skizze aus Bauwelt 1958, Heft 1 | (c) Bauwelt, Heft 1, 1958

Skizze aus Bauwelt 1958, Heft 1 | (c) Bauwelt, Heft 1, 1958

Die Kongresshallen-Debatte und die kritischen Argumente des Frei Otto

Die Kongresshalle ist in eine Art Alltagsbetrieb eingetreten. Die deutschen Ärzte tagen, die IG Metaller, die Forscher am Straßenwesen, die Filmarbeiter für die Jugend, der Deutsche Studenten- und der Deutsche Journalistentag und die Schriftsteller deutscher Sprache, die „Union des Etudiants Catholiques Africains“ und die Liberale Weltunion. Normales Tagungsgeschäft eben, soweit man von Normalität sprechen kann in einer Stadt, in der in diesem Jahr über 150.000 Menschen über die Demarkationslinie von Ost nach West wechseln. Während also Jahr für Jahr zigtausende ihre Heimat zwischen Rügen und Erzgebirge durch den Notausgang Berlin verlassen, findet in der Kongresshalle der Verbandstag der Heimkehrer statt. Man sieht daran: Deutsche Geschichte hält die Menschen in Bewegung.

Dass die Kongresshalle trotz allen Alltagsgeschäfts doch „nach Osten ausstrahlt“, zeigt ein gereizter Artikel in der DDR-Architekturzeitschrift vom März. Um mehrere Jahre verspätet resümiert die „Deutsche Architektur“ die Argumente des wohl scharfsinnigsten Kritikers des Kongresshallendesigns, des westdeutschen Architekten Frei Otto. Das geht nicht ohne die übliche einleitende Polemik gegen Eleanor Dulles ab, der das gewohnheitsmäßige Einschleusen von Agenten und Brandstiftern vorgehalten wird. Aber es lohnt dennoch, die Diskussion nachzuschlagen, die Otto, der Mitte der 50er mit Zeltkonstruktionen experimentiert hat und später kühne Netzbauten wie das Münchener Olympiastadion schafft, mit Stubbins führt.

Die Argumente werden 1958 zeitgleich von „Bauwelt“ und der amerikanischen „Architectural Forum“ abgedruckt – und die sehr unterschiedlichen vielleicht prototypischen Herangehensweisen der beiden Architekten werden hier deutlich: Die Hauptkritik Frei Ottos zielt natürlich auf die Konstruktion des Daches. Sie sei zu kompliziert, alles hänge letztlich an dem Betonring über dem Auditorium, dessen Last nur zu einem geringen Teil durch die beiden Pfeiler abgenommen werde. Aber genau dieser Betonring und weitere in Wirklichkeit tragenden Elemente, die bei anderer Konstruktion unnötig wären, würden den Blicken verborgen. Hier sei keine Einheit von Form und Funktion angestrebt, kritisiert der Deutsche. Stubbins erwidert, Form in der Abhängigkeit von der Funktion müsse dem Ausdruck der Schönheit untergeordnet sein. Wo Otto es für widersinnig erklärt, die Gestalt einer abstrakten Idee suchen (und bauen) zu wollen, betont der amerikanische Architekt, Symbole seien Teil des menschlichen Wesens. Soweit zitiert die Ost-„Deutsche Architektur“ korrekt, wenn sie auch die Positionen von Stubbins verdrängt. Aber Frei Otto fasst zusammen: Diese neue Gebäudeform sei zweifellos „eine Tat“, ein notwendiger Anfang. Die DDR-Zeitschrift dagegen endet erwartungsgemäß totalnegativ mit den Sätzen, so sehr das ganze Gerede von Demokratie und „freiem Geist“ schillere, so verlogen sei es, wie eben die ganze Kongresshalle von Westberlin. Was zu beweisen war …
A.B.

In der nächsten Folge geht es um Mauern, die keiner bauen wollte, ganz nah an der Kongresshalle: Episode 6: 1961

Helgard Behrendt, Die Mauerschneise, Berlin 1994
Deutsche Architektur, 3/1960
Architectural Forum 108, 1958
Bauwelt 1/1958