Das Anthropozän. Zum Stand der Dinge

Das Anthropozän. Zum Stand der Dinge

Das Anthropozän. Zum Stand der Dinge

Editors: Jürgen Renn and Bernd Scherer
With essays by Jane Bennett, Dipesh Chakrabarty, Paul Edwards, Rüdiger Kruse, Armin, Linke, Anne Peters, Jürgen Renn, Bernd Scherer, Peter Sloterdijk, Benjamin Steininger, Davor Vidas, Jan Willmroth, Jan Zalasiewicz
260 pages, German
Publisher: Matthes & Seitz Berlin, 2015
ISBN DE: 978-3957571533
Price: 24,90 €

Available at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt Shop, in bookstores and online at Matthes & Seitz Berlin

“It is a world of our making, but not of our choice.”
Georges Monbiot

The anthropocene, the “age of humankind,” has brought us to a tipping point. It consists not merely of the fact that climate change has reached a point where it is self-reinforcing or that “natural” resources are becoming dramatically depleted. When what we previously understood to be nature is now made by humans, dualisms such as nature/culture or subject/object no longer function in the accustomed fashion. The unbreakable chain of industrial metabolism, climate change, urbanization, soil erosion, and the extinction of species as well as a new social (self-)consciousness have shown that the rapid reformation of cause and effect, means and end, quality and quantity requires a new approach to the world that aims not at postmodern discourse but material processes. A new sense of amazement at the wonder of the earth is needed. What can we do, how can we know, and to what extent are these two questions connected? With what means, methods, and senses can we encounter the world of our own creation? The anthropocene is both a responsibility and an opportunity. Humankind makes the decisions but can only do so if knowledge and actions remain correlated.

The essays range from a look back at the invention of writing four millennia ago to the decisive historical-cultural threshold of the modern era when humankind stepped out of its role as an integral part of the natural cycle, to the current diversifications of the anthropocene, whether the chasm between global character and regional interests, whether case studies as that on international maritime law, whether the economization of nature as capital, or the question of the rights of animals as persons.

The editors

Jürgen Renn is the director of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science and honorary professor of the history of science at Humboldt-Universität and the Freie Universität Berlin.

Bernd Scherer is the director of Haus der Kulturen der Welt and honorary professor at the Institut für Europäische Ethnologie of Humboldt-Universität, Berlin.

Das Anthropozän. Zum Stand der Dinge

Das Anthropozän. Zum Stand der Dinge

Das Anthropozän. Zum Stand der Dinge

Herausgeber: Jürgen Renn und Bernd Scherer
Mit Texten von Jane Bennett, Dipesh Chakrabarty, Paul Edwards, Rüdiger Kruse, Armin, Linke, Anne Peters, Jürgen Renn, Bernd Scherer, Peter Sloterdijk, Benjamin Steininger, Davor Vidas, Jan Willmroth, Jan Zalasiewicz
260 Seiten, Deutsch
Verlag: Matthes & Seitz Berlin, 2015
ISBN DE: 978-3957571533
Preis: 24,90 €

Erhältlich im Shop des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt, im Buchhandel und online bei Matthes & Seitz Berlin

„It is a world of our making, but not of our choice.“
Georges Monbiot

Mit dem Anthropozän, dem „Zeitalter des Menschen“, sind wir an einem Tipping Point angekommen. Er besteht nicht allein darin, dass der Klimawandel einen Punkt erreicht hat, der selbstverstärkend wirkt, oder die „natürlichen“ Ressourcen dramatisch zur Neige gehen: Wenn das, was wir bisher als Natur verstanden haben, von Menschen gemacht ist, funktionieren Dualismen wie Natur/Kultur oder Subjekt/Objekt nicht mehr in ihrer althergebrachten Funktion. Die untrennbare Verkettung von industriellem Stoffwechsel, Klimawandel, Verstädterung, Bodenerosion und Artensterben, aber auch ein neues gesellschaftliches (Selbst-)Bewusstsein, haben gezeigt: Die rasante Neuformation von Ursache und Wirkung, Mittel und Zweck, Quantität und Qualität erfordert eine neue Erschließung von Welt, die nicht auf postmoderne Diskurse, sondern materielle Prozesse abzielt. Ein neues Staunen über das Wunder Erde ist gefragt: Was können wir tun, wie können wir wissen – und inwiefern hängt beides zusammen? Mit welchen Mitteln, Methoden und Sinnen können wir der von uns selbst geschaffenen Welt begegnen? Das Anthropozän ist Verantwortung wie Chance: Der Mensch entscheidet, doch er kann dies nur tun, wenn Wissen und Handeln aufeinander bezogen bleiben.

Die Beiträge reichen von einem Rückblick auf die Erfindung der Schrift im 4. Jahrtausend vor unserer Zeitrechnung über die entscheidende kulturgeschichtliche Schwelle der Neuzeit, als der Mensch aus seiner Rolle als integraler Bestandteil des Naturkreislaufs heraustrat, bis hin zu den gegenwärtigen Diversifizierungen des Anthropozäns: sei es die Kluft zwischen globalem Charakter und regionalem Anspruch, seien es Fallstudien wie die zum Internationalen Seerecht, sei es die Ökonomisierung der Natur als Kapital, sei es die Frage nach dem Recht der Tiere als Personen.

Die Herausgeber

Jürgen Renn ist Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und Honorarprofessor für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Freien Universität Berlin.

Bernd Scherer ist Intendant des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt und Honorarprofessor am Institut für Europäische Ethnologie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.