Due to the Berlin-Marathon, there are traffic delays until September 25. More information...

Publikumsprogramm

Mama, ich zieh ins HKW! | © Jan von Holleben

Mama, ich zieh ins HKW! | © Jan von Holleben

Nervous Systems - Kids & Teens - Altes Obst, neue Sounds | © Caroline Scheidt

Nervous Systems - Kids & Teens - Altes Obst, neue Sounds | © Caroline Scheidt

Kids & teens

Young researchers create art, young artists delve into research. For kids and teens, HKW offers age-suitable workshops on Sundays, during vacation and in school projects under the guidance of selected artists.

They use light and color to make abstract films, make flipbooks from drawings and modern architecture from paper and stone. But not only the visual arts are offered: they can build robotic orchestras, transform remote controls into musical instruments, or produce soundtracks for horror films. For the annual Wassermusik festival, teens shoot a making-of film or produce a radio broadcast.

Participation fee: €5
To register and for more information, email

Photo: © David Gauffin

Photo: © David Gauffin

Workshops for adults

Film workshops invite participants to explore HKW’s current topics cinematically. Under the guidance of trained cinematographers and dramaturges, they produce short films with opening and closing credits.

Participation fee: €60, in cooperation with FilmArche Berlin
To register and for more information, email

Ape Culture / Kultur der Affen, curator-led tour

Ape Culture / Kultur der Affen, curator-led tour

Guided exhibition tours

For the duration of exhibitions, curators, experts and trained guides escort visitors through the exhibition rooms.

Cost: €3 plus admission
To register and for more information, email

The Whole Earth - Guided school tour

The Whole Earth - Guided school tour

Guided school tours

In the scope of the exhibitions, HKW offers free guided exhibition tours for primary and high schools. In open discussion panels, a space is created to stimulate reflection. In addition to contextual information, the students are given the opportunity to intensely examine the exhibition content in small practical exercises.

To register and for more information, email

Nervous Systems | Girls’ Day | © Stephanie Pilick

Nervous Systems | Girls’ Day | © Stephanie Pilick

Guided group tours

For the duration of exhibitions, guided group tours with customized focuses are possible on appointment.

Cost: max. 35 people; €50 per hour (in German), €65 per hour (foreign languages), plus admission
To register and for more information, email

Guided architectural tours

The former Kongresshalle in Berlin-Tiergarten, an architectural landmark of western modernity, serves as both the headquarters and venue of HKW. The building was the U.S. contribution to the INTERBAU International Building Exhibition in 1957 and was designed to embody freedom in the exchange of ideas. Thus, from the very beginning the building was associated with ideas of western modernity as well as with the east-west positioning of those times. The HKW program, developed by curators, academics and artists, continuously subjects this history of modernity to (self-) critical revision.

On request, we offer multilingual guided architectural tours in English, French, Italian, Greek and Spanish. Cost: max. 35 people; €60 per hour (in German), €70 per hour (foreign languages)
To register and for more information, email

Publikumsprogramm

Mama, ich zieh ins HKW! | © Jan von Holleben

Mama, ich zieh ins HKW! | © Jan von Holleben

Nervöse Systeme - Kids & Teens - Altes Obst, neue Sounds | © Caroline Scheidt

Nervöse Systeme - Kids & Teens - Altes Obst, neue Sounds | © Caroline Scheidt

Kids & Teens

Kleine Forscher*innen machen Kunst, kleine Künstler*innen gehen auf Recherche. Für Kids & Teens bietet das HKW sonntags, in den Ferien und in Schulprojekten altersgerechte Workshops unter der Leitung von ausgewählten Künstler*innen.

Aus Licht und Farbe entstehen abstrakte Filme, aus Zeichnungen Daumenkinos, aus Papier und Stein moderne Architektur. Aber nicht nur Bildende Künste sind im Angebot: Es werden Roboterorchester gebaut, Fernbedienungen in Musikinstrumente verwandelt oder Soundtracks für Gruselfilme produziert. Zum jährlichen Wassermusik-Festival drehen Teens ein Making-of oder produzieren eine Radiosendung.

Teilnahmebeitrag: 5 €
Anmeldung und Information unter

Foto: © David Gauffin

Foto: © David Gauffin

Workshops für Erwachsene

Filmworkshops laden dazu ein, sich filmisch mit den aktuellen Themen des HKW auseinanderzusetzen. Unter Anleitung geschulter Kameraleute und Dramaturg*innen entstehen Kurzfilme mit Vor- und Abspann.

Teilnahmebeitrag: 60 €, in Kooperation mit der FilmArche Berlin
Anmeldung und Information unter

Ape Culture / Kultur der Affen, Kuratorenführung

Ape Culture / Kultur der Affen, Kuratorenführung

Ausstellungsführungen

Während der Laufzeit von Ausstellungen führen Kurator*innen, Expert*innen und geschulte Guides durch die Ausstellungsräume.

Kosten: 3 € zzgl. Eintritt
Anmeldung und Information unter

The Whole Earth - Schulführung

The Whole Earth - Schulführung

Schulführungen

Im Rahmen der Ausstellungen bietet das HKW kostenfreie Ausstellungsführungen für Grund- und Oberschulen an. In offenen Diskussionsrunden werden Reflexionsräume eröffnet, die zum Nachdenken anregen. Neben Kontextinformationen erhalten die Schülerinnen und Schüler die Möglichkeit, sich in kleinen praktischen Übungen intensiv mit den Ausstellungsinhalten auseinander zu setzen.

Anmeldung und Information unter

Nervöse Systeme | Girls’ Day | © Stephanie Pilick

Nervöse Systeme | Girls’ Day | © Stephanie Pilick

Gruppenführungen

Während der Laufzeit von Ausstellungen sind nach Terminabsprache Gruppenführungen mit individuell vereinbarten Schwerpunkten möglich.

Kosten: max. 35 Personen; 50 Euro pro Stunde (deutsch), 65 Euro pro Stunde (Fremdsprachen), zzgl. Eintritt
Anmeldung und Information unter

Architekturführungen

Sitz und Spielstätte des Hauses ist die ehemalige Kongresshalle in Berlin-Tiergarten, ein architektonisches Wahrzeichen der westlichen Moderne. Das Gebäude entstand als US-amerikanischer Beitrag zur Internationalen Bauausstellung INTERBAU 1957 und sollte die Freiheit des Gedankenaustauschs verkörpern. Damit war der Bau von Beginn an mit Ideen der westlichen Moderne sowie der damaligen Ost-West-Positionierung verbunden. Durch das Programm des Hauses, entwickelt von Kurator*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen, wird diese Geschichte der Moderne kontinuierlich einer (selbst-)kritischen Revision unterzogen.

Auf Anfrage bieten wir mehrsprachige Architekturführungen auf Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Griechisch und Spanisch an. Kosten: max. 35 Personen; 50 Euro pro Stunde (deutsch), 65 Euro pro Stunde (Fremdsprachen).
Anmeldung und Information unter