2013, Fri, Apr 26 — 2013, Mon, Aug 26

#1 Plan the Planet

Armin Linke | Mountain with Antennas, Kitakyushu, Japan, 2006 | Photo: Armin Linke

Armin Linke | Mountain with Antennas, Kitakyushu, Japan, 2006 | Photo: Armin Linke

In a series of short films, interviews and documentations, the first episode of the Anthropocene Observatory explores the processes behind the scenes: on the basis of considerations such as Buckminster Fuller's game theory during the Cold War and the first analyzes of the entire earth system – up to present forms of knowledge production and current measures adressing climate change.

From an expansionary modernist world-view to contemporary knowledge production and action on climate change through Earth-Systems modelling, the film documents how a number of international organisations are currently starting to deal with the implications of the Anthropocene.

How does the Anthropocene thesis reshape notions of social intervention? What role do the ever-evolving technologies play producing a permanent measurement data about the atmosphere ? What are the new institutions of the Anthropocene?

A project by Armin Linke, Territorial Agency (John Palmesino und Ann-Sofi Rönnskog) and Anselm Franke

Fr, 26. April 2013 — Mo, 26. August 2013

#1 Den Planeten planen

Armin Linke | Mountain with Antennas, Kitakyushu, Japan, 2006 | Foto: Armin Linke

Armin Linke | Mountain with Antennas, Kitakyushu, Japan, 2006 | Foto: Armin Linke

In einer Reihe aus Kurzfilmen, Interviews und Dokumentationen erforscht die erste Episode des Anthropozän-Observatoriums die Prozesse hinter den Kulissen: ausgehend von Überlegungen wie Buckminster Fullers Spieltheorie aus Zeiten des Kalten Krieges und ersten Analysen des gesamten Erdsystems – bis hin zu gegenwärtigen Formen der Wissensproduktion und Aktion zum Klimawandel.

Von einer expansionistischen modernistischen Weltsicht bis zur zeitgenössischen Wissensproduktion und Maßnahmen gegen den Klimawandel durch Erdsystemmodellierung dokumentiert der Film, wie eine Reihe von internationalen Organisationen zur Zeit beginnen, mit den Implikationen des Anthropozäns umzugehen.

Wie beeinflusst die Anthropozän-Idee Vorstellungen von gesellschaflicher Intervention? Welche Rolle spielen die sich stetig entwickelnden Technologien, die permanent Messdaten etwa der Atmosphäre produzieren? Wie verändern sich die internationalen Institutionen und die politischen Prozesse?


Ein Projekt von: Armin Linke, Territorial Agency (John Palmesino und Ann-Sofi Rönnskog) und Anselm Franke