Due to the Berlin-Marathon, there are traffic delays until September 25. More information...

Case Studies and Talks

Forensis | Forensic Oceanography (Charles Heller, Lorenzo Pezzani, SITU Research), “LEFT-TO-DIE BOAT” | Synthetic aperture radar satellite imagery (A and B) showing the “left-to-die” boat’s drift trajectory | Photo: © Forensic Architecture and SITU Research

Forensis | Forensic Oceanography (Charles Heller, Lorenzo Pezzani, SITU Research), “LEFT-TO-DIE BOAT” | Synthetic aperture radar satellite imagery (A and B) showing the “left-to-die” boat’s drift trajectory | Photo: © Forensic Architecture and SITU Research

Forensis | Eyal Weizman (r.) with Anselm Franke | © Laura Fiorio/Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Forensis | Eyal Weizman (r.) with Anselm Franke | © Laura Fiorio/Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Further case studies will be discussed in Sunday sessions. Pakistani lawyer Shahzad Akbar will speak on the visualization of drone impacts. Lawrence Abu Hamdan will present his artistic research on EU countries’ related pseudo-forensic methods of identifying the origins of asylum-seekers by accents in their speech. Forensic anthropologist Luis Fonderbrider will explain how techniques of forensic anthropology helped locate and identify the Argentines “disappeared” during the 1976–1983 military dictatorship.

Fallstudien und Gespräche

Forensis | Forensic Oceanography (Charles Heller, Lorenzo Pezzani, SITU Research), “LEFT-TO-DIE BOOT” | Ein SAR-Satellitenbild zeigt den Kurs eines abgetriebenen Flüchtlingsbootes vor Lampedusa, dem niemand zu Hilfe kam. | Foto: © Forensic Architecture und SITU Research

Forensis | Forensic Oceanography (Charles Heller, Lorenzo Pezzani, SITU Research), “LEFT-TO-DIE BOOT” | Ein SAR-Satellitenbild zeigt den Kurs eines abgetriebenen Flüchtlingsbootes vor Lampedusa, dem niemand zu Hilfe kam. | Foto: © Forensic Architecture und SITU Research

Forensis | Eyal Weizman (r.) mit Anselm Franke | © Laura Fiorio/Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Forensis | Eyal Weizman (r.) mit Anselm Franke | © Laura Fiorio/Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Sonntags bieten Fallstudien und Gespräche weitere Zugänge zu den ausgestellten Arbeiten. Der pakistanische Rechtsanwalt Shahzad Akbar spricht über das Sichtbarmachen von Drohnenangriffen. Lawrence Abu Hamdan präsentiert seine künstlerische Forschung zu den pseudoforensischen Methoden, mit denen in EU-Staaten Asylbewerber nach deren vermeintlichen Sprachbesonderheiten identifiziert werden. Luis Fonderbrider, Gründer des Equipo Argentino de Antropología Forense, erläutert, wie forensische Anthropologie zur Identifizierung der „Verschwundenen“, der Opfer der argentinischen Militärdiktatur 1976-1983 verhalf.