Arriving in Berlin

A map made by refugees

Arriving in Berlin | Photo: Leila Haghighat

Arriving in Berlin | Photo: Leila Haghighat

What does it mean for refugees to arrive in Berlin for the first time? In 2015 and 2016, the Afghan urban planner Hamidullah Ehrari, the Syrian merchant Alhadi Aldebs, the Afghan translator Mohammad Yari and the Iranian biotechnologist Farhad Ramazanali designed a digital map containing helpful information for new arrivals to Berlin, which has been expanded since.

As residents of Haus Leo, a residential home for refugees in Berlin-Moabit, they used critical geography methods to compile information that is relevant for refugees in Berlin. In a collective process and a series of workshops they combined the experiences of new arrivals to Berlin with proactive research: Where are there free German courses? Where are advisory offices, gynecologists or free Wi-Fi? The result is a digital mapping platform and an Android app, also useable offline, with helpful places and information available in German, English, Farsi, French, Arabic and Sorani.

The Arriving in Berlin App for Android smartphones was developed in cooperation with Refugees on Rails and with the kind support of the Verein der Freunde – Haus der Kulturen der Welt e. V.

Berlin Mondiale is a project of the Rat für die Künste Berlin in cooperation with the Kulturnetzwerk Neukölln e.V. with advisory support by the Flüchtlingsrat Berlin e.V. and funded by the Berliner Projektfonds Kulturelle Bildung.

Arriving in Berlin

A map made by refugees

Ankommen in Berlin | Foto: Leila Haghighat

Ankommen in Berlin | Foto: Leila Haghighat

Was bedeutet es für geflüchtete Menschen, neu in Berlin anzukommen? Der afghanische Stadtplaner Hamidullah Ehrari, der syrische Kaufmann Alhadi Aldebs, der afghanische Übersetzer Mohammad Yari und der iranische Biotechnologe Farhad Ramazanali haben 2015/16 eine digitale Karte mit hilfreichen Informationen für Neuankommende in Berlin entwickelt, die seitdem ausgebaut wird.

Als Bewohner des Haus Leo, eines Wohnheims für Geflüchtete in Berlin-Moabit, sammelten sie mit Methoden kritischer Geografie Informationen, die für Geflüchtete in Berlin relevant sind. In einem kollektiven Prozess und einer Reihe von Workshops verbanden sie Erfahrungen neu in Berlin ankommender Menschen mit pro-aktiver Recherche: Wo gibt es kostenlose Sprachkurse? Wo gibt es Beratungsstellen, Frauenärzt*innen oder freie Wi-Fi-Netzwerke? Das Ergebnis ist eine digitale Mapping-Plattform und eine offline nutzbare Android App mit hilfreichen Orten und Informationen – abrufbar auf Deutsch, Englisch, Farsi, Französisch, Arabisch und Sorani.

Die Arriving in Berlin App für Android-Smartphones wurde entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit Refugees on Rails und mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Vereins der Freunde – Haus der Kulturen der Welt e. V.

Berlin Mondiale ist ein Projekt des Rates für die Künste Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Kulturnetzwerk Neukölln e. V. mit beratender Unterstützung des Flüchtlingsrats Berlin e .V., gefördert vom Berliner Projektfonds Kulturelle Bildung.