Wed, 24 May – Thu, May 25: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information...

After the Wildly Improbable

Adania Shibli, Mohammad Al Attar, Rabih Mroué
September/October 2017

Georges Henein / Photograph by Boula Henein | Courtesy: Farhi Estate, Paris and the artist

Georges Henein / Photograph by Boula Henein | Courtesy: Farhi Estate, Paris and the artist

In three newly conceived artistic projects,After the Wildly Improbable takes a look at alternative schemes for sociopolitical and cultural transformations in regions of the eastern and southern Mediterranean that evolved in the aftermath of the breakup of the Ottoman Empire. The title of the project goes back to a statement made in 1900 by the British Consul of Damascus expressing his disbelief in the idea of constructing a railroad across the Ottoman Empire from Damascus to Mecca: “So wildly improbable, not to say fantastic.” The title aims at the ambiguity of the term “wild” as being outside the reach of culture, and thus outside its limits and limitations. This act of liberation points at the project’s focus: How can we explore experiential spaces beyond the pitfalls of established narratives such as progress, civilization, orientalism?

In a two-day event, author and cultural researcher Adania Shibli examines a large-scale project of the Ottoman Empire that was begun and left unfinished during the First World War: With German support, the Baghdad Railway was meant to connect Berlin with Baghdad, while the Hedjaz Railway would have linked Damascus with Mecca and run all the way to Jerusalem and Alexandria.

The playwright Mohammad Al Attar illuminates the – artificial – formation of the state of Syria by the colonial powers and locates roots of today’s conflicts and positions in the political cataclysms following the First World War. Moving beyond ready-made answers, he deconstructs the complex structure of the proxy wars that continue to decide the fate of the region to this day. Reflecting on Syria’s past and present, he asks himself – and us – the not so simple question: Why are we here today?

In his newly developed work, the artist and director Rabih Mroué questions Western consumerism as well as current Islamic ideologies. Mroué’s productions, such as Riding on a Cloud, presented at HKW as part of the Berlin Documentary Forum, repudiate any propagandist usurpation by asking questions instead of giving answers and leaving the audience or listeners to think for themselves.

Part of 100 Years of Now

Performances, presentations, lectures

2017, Sept 15-16
Adania Shibli
2017, Sept 22-23
Mohammad Al Attar
2017, Oct 6-7
Rabih Mroué

After the Wildly Improbable

Adania Shibli, Mohammad Al Attar, Rabih Mroué
September/Oktober 2017

Georges Henein / Photograph by Boula Henein | Courtesy: Farhi Estate, Paris and the artist

Georges Henein / Photograph by Boula Henein | Courtesy: Farhi Estate, Paris and the artist

After the Wildly Improbable betrachtet in drei neu entwickelten künstlerischen Projekten alternative Entwürfe soziopolitischer und kultureller Transformationen, die in Regionen im östlichen und südlichen Mittelmeerraum mit dem Zusammenbruch des Osmanischen Reichs ihren Anfang nahmen. Der Titel des Projekts ist einem Ausspruch des britischen Konsuls von Damaskus im Jahr 1900 entlehnt. Der Bau einer Eisenbahn von Damaskus nach Mekka schien ihm „so wildly improbable, not to say fantastic“ – und auf das Wort „wild“ in seiner doppelten Bedeutung kommt es an: außerhalb der Reichweite der Kultur und damit außerhalb ihrer Grenzen und Beschränkungen. Diese Grenzüberschreitung ist thematischer Fokus: Wie kann man jenseits der Fallgruben etablierter Narrative – Fortschritt, Zivilisation, Orientalismus – bisher kaum beachtete Erfahrungsräume erkunden?

Die Autorin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin Adania Shibli untersucht in einer zweitägigen Veranstaltung die Bagdad- und Hedjaz-Eisenbahn: das mit deutscher Unterstützung während des Ersten Weltkrieges begonnene und unvollendet gebliebene Großprojekt des Osmanischen Reiches. Die Bagdad-Bahn sollte Berlin mit Bagdad verbinden, während die Hedjaz-Bahn Damaskus mit Mekka und quer bis nach Jerusalem und Alexandria verbunden hätte.

Der Dramatiker Mohammad Al Attar beleuchtet die – künstliche – Staatenbildung Syriens seitens der Kolonialmächte und lokalisiert Ursachen heutiger Konflikte und Positionen in den politischen Kataklysmen nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Jenseits vorgefertigter Denkmuster dekonstruiert er die komplexe Struktur der Stellvertreter-Kriege, die das Schicksal der Region bis heute bestimmen. In seiner Reflexion über Vergangenheit und Gegenwart Syriens stellt er sich – und uns – die nicht so einfache Frage: Wo stehen wir heute?

Der Künstler und Regisseur Rabih Mroué hinterfragt mit seiner neu entwickelten Arbeit sowohl den Konsumismus des Westens als auch aktuelle islamische Ideologien. Mroués Produktionen, wie beispielsweise das am HKW im Rahmen des Berlin Documentary Forum aufgeführte Riding on a Cloud, verwahren sich gegen jegliche agitatorische Vereinnahmungen, indem sie Fragen stellen, statt Antworten zu geben, und den Zuschauer/Zuhörer*innen auf sein eigenes Denken zurückwerfen.

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Performances, Präsentationen, Vorträge

15.-16. September 2017
Adania Shibli
22.-23. September 2017
Mohammad Al Attar
6.-7. Oktober 2017
Rabih Mroué