Contributors

Inke Arns is the director of the Hartware MedienKunstVerein (HMKV) in Dortmund and also a curator and author focusing on media art and theory, Internet cultures and Eastern Europe. She attained her doctorate in 2004 at the Humboldt University Berlin, writing about the paradigm shift in the reception of the historic avant-garde and the idea of utopia in (media) art projects of the 1980s and 1990s in ex-Yugoslavia and Russia. She has curated several exhibitions, most recently alien matter for the 2017 transmediale. Her publications include Neue Slowenische Kunst (NSK) (2002) and Objects in the mirror may be closer than they appear! Die Avantgarde im Rückspiegel (2004).

Robert Bird is Professor for Slavic Languages and Literatures as well as Cinema and Media Studies at the University of Chicago. His primary area of interest is the aesthetic practice and theory of Russian/Soviet modernism, focusing on Russian film and video art. He is currently completing the manuscript for his book Soul Machine: How Soviet Film Modeled Socialism. He is the co-curator of Revolution Every Day (September 2017) on Soviet graphic art and moving images at the Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago. His upcoming project Revolutionology examines intellectual revolution across a variety of media, spaces, and historical moments.

Maria Chehonadskih is a philosopher and critic. She received her PhD in philosophy from the Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University, London. Soviet epistemologies across Marxist philosophy, literature, and art are at the center of her work. Her texts on Soviet philosophy, art theory, and post-Soviet politics have been published in journals such as Radical Philosophy, South Atlantic Quarterly, Moscow Art Magazine, and Alfabeta2. She co-curated with Ilya Budraitskis the exhibition Shadow of a Doubt (2014) at Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow, dedicated to the problem of conspiracy. Chehonadskih lives and works in London and Moscow.

Anselm Franke is a curator and writer based in Berlin. He is Head of Visual Art and Film at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), where he co-curated Nervous Systems (2016), Ape Culture (2015), Forensis (2014), The Anthropocene Project (2013–14), and the exhibitions The Whole Earth and After Year Zero (both 2013), among others. In 2012, he curated the Taipei Biennial. Franke’s exhibition project Animism has been presented in Antwerp, Bern, Vienna, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul, and Beirut in various collaborations from 2010 to 2014. Previously, Franke was curator at the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, and director of Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerp. He completed his PhD at Goldsmiths, University of London.

Boris Groys is a philosopher, essayist, and media theorist. Having taught in Philadelphia, Münster, and Los Angeles, he became in 1994 Professor of Art History, Philosophy and Media Theory at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design. In 2009, he was appointed Professor of Russian and Slavic Studies at New York University. He has published widely on the subject of the Russian avant-garde and was co-curator of the exhibition Dream Factory Communism at Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt in 2003/04. In 2005, he and Michael Hagemeister published Die neue Menschheit (The New Mankind, 2005) in which the principal texts of the Russian Cosmists were made available in the German language.

Michael Hagemeister is a historian and Slavic scholar. He wrote his PhD thesis on the Russian philosopher Nikolai Fedorov and has published widely on Russian philosophy and the history of ideas, on Russian utopian and apocalyptic thought, and on the Protocols of the Elders of Zion. With Boris Groys he co-edited a book on biopolitical utopias in Russia in the early twentieth century: Die Neue Menschheit (The New Mankind, 2005). Hagemeister has been researching and teaching at various universities in Austria, Germany, and Switzerland. In his current research at the Chair of East European History at the University of Bochum, he concentrates on anti-modern and anti-Western thinking in Russia.

Jörg Heiser is the managing director of the Institute for Art in Context at the Berlin Universität der Künste. From 1998 until 2003 he was editor and from 2003 until 2016 co-editor-in-chief of the international art journal frieze, then from 2011 until 2016 editor of frieze d/e. He has been an art critic for Süddeutsche Zeitung since 1997. His most recent publication is Double Lives in Art and Pop Music (2017).

Alexei Penzin received his PhD from the Institute of Philosophy of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, where he remains as a Research Associate. He is currently teaching at the University of Wolverhampton, UK. Penzin is a member of the collective Chto Delat (What is to be done?). His research has been published in the journals Rethinking Marxism, Mediations, South Atlantic Quarterly, and Manifesta Journal among others. He co-edited the English translation of the book Art and Production (2017) by Boris Arvatov, one of the key theorists of the Soviet avant-garde. Currently, he is preparing his book Against the Continuum: Sleep and Subjectivity in Capitalist Modernity for Bloomsbury Academic.

Hito Steyerl is an artist and filmmaker in the field of essayist documentary video. She is professor for Multimedia at Universität der Künste, Berlin. Her work, which examines issues such as globalization, feminism, and postcolonial critique, takes the image, its production and circulation as a point of departure. Besides being a frequent lecturer, Steyerl has published influential writings, and participated in numerous exhibitions and biennials. Her works were exhibited i.a. at 32nd São Paulo Biennial (2016), 9th Berlin Biennale (2016), the German Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennial (2015), and Documenta 12 (2007).

Anton Vidokle is an artist and editor of e-flux journal. He was born in Moscow and lives in New York and Berlin. Vidokle’s work has been exhibited internationally at Documenta 13 and at the 56th Venice Biennale. His films have been presented at Bergen Assembly; Shanghai Biennale; the 65th and 66th Berlinale International Film Festival Forum Expanded; Gwangju Biennale; the Centre Pompidou, Paris; Tate Modern, London; Garage Museum, Moscow; Istanbul Biennial, and others.

Arseny Zhilyaev is an artist based in Moscow. In recent works he has examined the legacy of Soviet museology and the museum in Russian Cosmism. Among others, he has published articles in e-flux journal. Zhilyaev is editor of Avant-Garde Museology (2015). His works have been shown at the Gwangju Biennale, Liverpool Biennale, and at the Ljubljana Triennale as well as at exhibitions including at the Centre Pompidou and Palais de Tokyo, Paris; De Appel, Amsterdam; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris and San Francisco; and at the V-A-C Foundation in Moscow.

Beitragende

Inke Arns ist Direktorin des Hartware MedienKunstVerein (HMKV) in Dortmund sowie Kuratorin und Autorin mit den Schwerpunkten Medienkunst und -theorie, Netzkulturen und Osteuropa. 2004 promovierte sie an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin zum Paradigmenwechsel der Rezeption der historischen Avantgarde und des Utopie-Begriffs in (medien-)künstlerischen Projekten der 1980er und 1990er Jahre in Ex-Jugoslawien und Russland. Sie kuratiert(e) viele Ausstellungen, zuletzt u. a. alien matter zur transmediale 2017. Zu Ihren Publikationen zählen u. a.: Neue Slowenische Kunst (NSK) (2002) und Objects in the mirror may be closer than they appear! Die Avantgarde im Rückspiegel (2004).

Robert Bird ist Professor für Slawische Sprachen und Literaturen sowie Film- und Medienwissenschaften an der University of Chicago. Sein wichtigstes Forschungsgebiet ist die ästhetische Praxis und Theorie der russischen bzw. sowjetischen Moderne, insbesondere im Bereich des Films und der Videokunst. Zurzeit arbeitet er an dem Buch Soul Machine: How Soviet Film Modeled Socialism. Bird ist Ko-Kurator der Ausstellung Revolution Every Day (September 2017) zur sowjetischen Druckgrafik und Filmkunst am Smart Museum of Art der University of Chicago. Sein Folgeprojekt Revolutionology widmet sich der Revolution des Denkens in einem breiten Spektrum von Medien, Räumen und geschichtlichen Momenten.

Maria Chehonadskih ist Philosophin und Kritikerin. Sie hat einen PhD der Philosophie vom Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University, London. Im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit stehen sowjetische Epistemologien in marxistischer Philosophie, Literatur und Kunst. Ihre Texte zur sowjetischen Philosophie, Kunsttheorie und postsowjetischen Politik erscheinen in Zeitschriften wie Radical Philosophy, South Atlantic Quarterly, Moscow Art Magazine und Alfabeta2. Gemeinsam mit Ilya Budraitskis hat sie 2014 am Garage Museum of Contemporary Art in Moskau die Ausstellung Shadow of a Doubt zum Problem der Verschwörung kuratiert. Chehonadskih lebt in London und Moskau.

Anselm Franke lebt als Kurator und Autor in Berlin. Er ist Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst und Film des Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Als Co-Kurator verwirklichte er dort Projekte wie Nervöse Systeme (2016), Ape Culture (2015), Forensis (2014), Anthropozän (2013-2014), The Whole Earth und After Year Zero (beide 2013). 2012 kuratierte er mit anderen zusammen die Taipei Bienniale. Frankes Ausstellungsprojekt Animismus wurde zwischen 2010 und 2014 in zahlreiche Kollaborationen in Antwerpen, Bern, Wien, Berlin, New York, Shenzhen, Seoul und Beirut präsentiert. Vor seiner Tätigkeit im HKW wirkte Anselm Franke als Kurator im KW Berlin und als Direktor der Extra City Kunsthal, Antwerpen. Seinen Doktor schloss er am Goldsmiths, University of London ab.

Boris Groys ist Philosoph, Essayist und Medientheoretiker. Nach Lehrtätigkeiten in Philadelphia, Münster und Los Angeles war er Professor für Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie und Medientheorie an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe. Seit 2009 ist er außerdem Professor der Russistik und Slawistik an der New York University. Er hat umfangreich zur Kunst der russischen Avantgarde publiziert und 2003/04 die Ausstellung Traumfabrik Kommunismus an der Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt ko-kuratiert. 2005 veröffentlichte er gemeinsam mit Michael Hagemeister den Band Die neue Menschheit, der die wichtigsten Texte russischer Kosmist*innen in deutscher Sprache verfügbar macht.

Michael Hagemeister ist Historiker und Slawist. Er promovierte mit einer Arbeit über den russischen Philosophen Nikolaj Fedorov und verfasste zahlreiche Publikationen zur russischen Philosophie und Geistesgeschichte, zum utopischen und apokalyptischen Denken in Russland sowie zu den Protokollen der Weisen von Zion. Gemeinsam mit Boris Groys gab er den Band Die Neue Menschheit (2005) heraus. Nach Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit an zahlreichen Universitäten in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz arbeitet er derzeit am Lehrstuhl für osteuropäische Geschichte an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum über das antimoderne und antiwestliche Denken in Russland

Jörg Heiser ist Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts Kunst im Kontext an der Universität der Künste in Berlin. Von 1998 bis 2003 war er Redakteur, von 2003 bis 2016 Co-Chefredakteur der internationalen Kunstzeitschrift frieze, sowie von 2011-16 Herausgeber von frieze d/e. Er schreibt seit 1997 Kunstkritiken für die Süddeutsche Zeitung. Zuletzt erschien Doppelleben Kunst und Popmusik (2016).

Alexei Penzin hat einen PhD des Instituts für Philosophie der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Moskau, wo er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter tätig ist. Außerdem lehrt er an der University of Wolverhampton, Großbritannien. Penzin gehört dem Kollektiv Chto Delat (What is to be done?) an. Seine Texte erscheinen in Zeitschriften wie Rethinking Marxism, Mediations, South Atlantic Quarterly und Manifesta. Er ist Mitherausgeber der 2017 erschienenen englischen Übersetzung des Buchs Kunst und Produktion von Boris Arvatov, einem der wichtigsten Theoretiker der sowjetischen Avantgarde. Zurzeit arbeitet er an dem Buch Against the Continuum: Sleep and Subjectivity in Capitalist Modernity (erscheint demnächst bei Bloomsbury Academic).

Hito Steyerl arbeitet als Künstlerin und Filmemacherin mit Mitteln des essayistischen Dokumentarfilms. Sie ist Professorin im Bereich Multimedia an der Universität der Künste, Berlin. Themen ihrer Arbeit sind die Globalisierung sowie feministische und postkoloniale Fragen, wobei sie meist bei der Produktion und Zirkulation von Bildern ansetzt. Neben ihrer intensiven Vortragstätigkeit hat sie einflussreiche Texte publiziert und war auf zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Biennalen vertreten. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. auf der 32. São Paulo Biennale (2016), der 9. Berlin Biennale (2016), im Deutschen Pavillon der 56. Biennale von Venedig (2015) und auf der documenta 12 (2007) gezeigt.

Anton Vidokle ist Künstler und Herausgeber des Online-Journals e-flux. Er kam in Moskau zur Welt und lebt in New York und Berlin. Vidokles Arbeiten wurden in vielen Ländern gezeigt, unter anderem auf der documenta 13 und der 56. Kunstbiennale von Venedig. Seine Filme waren beim Bergen Assembly, auf der Shanghai Biennale, im Forum Expanded der 65. und 66. Berlinale, auf der Gwangju Biennale, am Centre Pompidou, in der Tate Modern, am Moskauer Garage Museum, auf der Istanbul Biennale und an weiteren Orten zu sehen.

Arseny Zhilyaev lebt und arbeitet als Künstler in Moskau. In neueren Arbeiten untersucht er das Erbe der sowjetischen Museologie und das Museum im Russischen Kosmismus. Er veröffentlicht Beiträge u. a. im e-flux journal. Seine Arbeiten wurden u. a. bei der Liverpool Biennale und der Triennale Ljubljana gezeigt sowie bei Ausstellungen im Centre Pompidou und im Palais de Tokyo, Paris, bei De Appel, Amsterdam; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris und San Francisco sowie in der V-A-C Foundation, Moskau.