Now is the Time of Monsters

What Comes After Nations?
2017, Mar 23, Thu — 2017, Mar 25, Sat

Photo: Lonneke van der Palen – Souvenir

Photo: Lonneke van der Palen – Souvenir

The present moment is marked by one central political idea: the nation-state. It installs itself through a system of nation-states and a corresponding global framework that originated from a new world order after the Paris Peace Conference in 1919. Since then, it has become so deeply embedded in our thinking that alternative forms of political organization have become practically unimaginable—even though serious alternatives, such as transnational anti-colonial movements and communist internationalism, existed at the time. By laying bare the framing conditions of the nation-state, their exclusionary mechanisms and the structural violence anchored within them, Now is the Time of Monsters picks up a phrase by Antonio Gramsci to open up a space for the decisive question: How can one think beyond the limits of the nation-state system? Today, neo-nationalist threats and the failures of a nation-state system facing global migration make it clear that we need to reclaim such a zone of political transformation and radical imagination.

Curated by Rana Dasgupta, Nanna Heidenreich and Katrin Klingan, this three-day discussion will draw on international voices from art, literature, theory, and science. How did the nation-state system replace all other ideas of political organization, and what was lost in this process? How do inequality and global power asymmetries get transferred into international systems of state and law? How can migration allow for a radical reconsideration of existing structures? How should one understand the role of the state in the relational network of globalization and financial capitalism, and how does this influence our idea of the actual character of the state?

The event is organized in four thematic sections:

Read the curatorial statement

With Antony T. Anghie, Arjun Appadurai, Cemil Aydin, Patrick Bernier & Olive Martin with Sébastien Canevet & Sylvia Preuss-Laussinotte, In Koli Jean Bofane, cinéma copains (Arne Hector & Minze Tummescheit), Ann Cotten, Kudzanai Chiurai with Zaki Ibrahim, Slavenka Drakulić, Keller Easterling, Susan George, Avery F. Gordon, Bernd Kasparek, Ramzi Kassem, Brigitta Kuster, Lawrence Liang, Charles Lim Yi Yong, Sandro Mezzadra, Christian Nyampeta, Kim Rygiel, Isabelle Saint-Saëns, David Scott, Boaventura de Sousa Santos, Felix Stalder, Hito Steyerl, Zoran Terzić and Samar Yazbek

Part of 100 Years of Now

A manifestation of research, theory, and art

March 23, 2017
Free admission

March 24 — March 25, 2017
Day pass: 9€/6€
Afternoon pass (12-17h): 6€/4€
Evening pass (17-23h): 6€/4€
Conversations: Free admission
Tickets online

With simultaneous translation into German and English

The restaurant is open until 7 pm. The Hirschfeld Bar remains open after the last event closes.

Die Jetztzeit der Monster

What Comes After Nations?
Do, 23. März 2017 — Sa, 25. März 2017

Foto: Lonneke van der Palen – Souvenir

Foto: Lonneke van der Palen – Souvenir

Eine zentrale politische Ordnungsidee prägt die Gegenwart: der Nationalstaat in seinem globalen Regelwerk, wie er als neue Weltordnung nach der Pariser Friedenskonferenz 1919 entstanden ist. Er hat sich so tief in zeitgenössisches Denken und Handeln eingeschrieben, dass andere Formen politischer Organisation unvorstellbar geworden sind, obwohl es ernst zu nehmende Gegenentwürfe wie transnationale Visionen antikolonialer Bewegungen und den kommunistischen Internationalismus gab. Die Jetztzeit der Monster widmet sich – in Anknüpfung an ein Zitat von Antonio Gramsci – den gegenwärtigen Erscheinungsformen des nationalstaatlichen Ordnungsgefüges, untersucht seine Ausschlussmechanismen sowie die darin strukturell verankerte Gewalt und stellt die entscheidende Frage: Was ist jenseits des Nationalstaatensystems denkbar? Heute, angesichts sich ausbreitender Neo-Nationalismen und der Unzulänglichkeiten des Nationalstaatensystems gegenüber weltweiten Flucht- und Migrationsbewegungen, gilt es, Zonen politischer Gestaltungsfreiheit und radikaler ideeller Setzungen zurückzuerobern.

Kuratiert von Rana Dasgupta, Nanna Heidenreich und Katrin Klingan, verhandeln internationale Teilnehmer*innen aus Kunst, Literatur, Theorie und Wissenschaft vier Themenfelder. Wie kam es, dass das Nationalstaatensystem alle anderen Vorstellungen politischer Organisation ablöste und was ist in diesem Prozess verlorengegangen? Wie schreiben sich Ungleichheit und asymmetrische Machtverhältnisse im internationalen Staaten- und Rechtssystem fort? Wie ermöglicht Migration ein radikal anderes Denken bestehender Strukturen? Wie lässt sich die aktuelle Rolle des Staates im Beziehungsgeflecht von Globalisierung und Finanzkapitalismus verstehen und wie beeinflusst dieses Verständnis das tatsächliche Wesen des Staates?

Zum kuratorischen Statement

Mit Antony T. Anghie, Arjun Appadurai, Cemil Aydin, Patrick Bernier & Olive Martin, In Koli Jean Bofane, cinéma copains (Arne Hector & Minze Tummescheit), Ann Cotten, Kudzanai Chiurai, Slavenka Drakulić, Keller Easterling, Susan George, Avery F. Gordon, Bernd Kasparek, Ramzi Kassem, Brigitta Kuster, Lawrence Liang, Charles Lim Yi Yong, Sandro Mezzadra, Christian Nyampeta, Marcus Rediker, Kim Rygiel, Isabelle Saint-Saëns, David Scott, Boaventura de Sousa Santos, Felix Stalder, Hito Steyerl, Zoran Terzić, Naomi Wallace und Samar Yazbek.

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Theorie, Forschung, Kunst

23.3.
Eintritt frei

Tagesticket: 9€/6€
Nachmittagsticket (12-17h): 6€/4€
Abendticket (17-23h): 6€/4€
Konversationen: Eintritt frei

Simultanübersetzung deutsch, englisch