Wed, 24 May – Thu, May 25: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information...

Jury of 2017

The jury was nominated by an independent selection committee consisting of: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (president of the Goethe-Institut), Joachim Sartorius (poet, translator and former director of the Berliner Festspiele), Rainer Traube (director of the arts desk, Deutsche Welle), Christina Weiss (publicist, professor, chair of the Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (chair of the executive board of Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Verena Auffermann | © Manfred Claudi

Verena Auffermann | © Manfred Claudi

Verena Auffermann
(literary critic / author)
Verena Auffermann, born in 1944, studied art history after training in the book trade. Since then, she has worked as a literary critic, editor and arts correspondent for example for Die Zeit, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Deutschlandradio Kultur and DeutschlandRadio and as an author. Her books include Nelke und Caruso. Über Hunde. Eine Romanze and Das geöffnete Kleid. Von Giorgione zu Tiepolo. In 2009, Auffermann, Gunhild Kübler, Ursula März and Elke Schmitter published the literary anthology Leidenschaften. 99 Autorinnen der Weltliteratur. In 2016, the series Leben in Bildern included her “Henry James.” In addition to hosting and participating in radio and television discussions, Verena Auffermann taught from 1997-2002 as a lecturer in the further education program on book and media practices at Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main. Between 1992 and 1996 she was a member of the jury of the Klagenfurt Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis competition and from 2010 and 2012 the jury chair for the Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse.

Jens Bisky | © privat

Jens Bisky | © privat

Jens Bisky
(Journalist/Writer)
Jens Bisky, born in Leipzig in 1966, studied German and cultural studies at Humboldt-Universität Berlin. In 1999, he earned his doctorate with a study on architectural aesthetics in Goethe’s era. He wrote for the Berliner Zeitung and has been an editor for the arts pages of the Süddeutsche Zeitung since 2001. Bisky has published a number of books, including Geboren am 13. August – Der Sozialismus und ich (2004), Kleist. Eine Biographie (2007) and Unser König: Friedrich der Große und seine Zeit – ein Lesebuch (2011).

Frank Heibert | © Paulus Ponizak

Frank Heibert | © Paulus Ponizak

Frank Heibert
(Literary translator)
Frank Heibert, born in Essen in 1960, studied Romance and German languages in Berlin, Rome and Paris, earning his doctorate on paronomasia and translation. He has worked since 1983 as a literary and theatre translator from English, French, Italian and Portuguese (works by Don DeLillo, Richard Ford, William Faulkner, George Saunders, Boris Vian, Yasmina Reza and many others). From 1990 until 1995 he and Thomas Brovot managed the zebra literaturverlag. He works as a freelance editor, literary critic, host of literary events and lecturer on translation at home and abroad and is also a novelist (Kombizangen, 2006) and jazz vocalist. He received the Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt Translator's Prize for his complete works as a translator in 2012, was the Wilhelm August von Schlegel guest professor for poetry translation during the 2015-2016 winter semester at the Freie Universität Berlin and received the 2016 Helmut Braem Translator’s Award.

Jens Hillje | © Esra Rotthoff

Jens Hillje | © Esra Rotthoff

Jens Hillje
(Dramaturge/Author/Curator)
Jens Hillje, born in 1968, grew up in Milan, Munich and Landshut. After studying applied cultural sciences in Perugia, Hildesheim and Berlin, he has worked as an actor, author and director in the independent theatre scene since 1990. In 1996, he and director Thomas Ostermeier founded the Baracke at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin, which received the Theatre of the Year award of the professional journal Theater heute under his direction in 1998. It was during this period that he developed the still-successful Streitraum format. From 1999 until 2009, Jens Hillje was one of the artistic directors and chief dramaturge of the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, where he founded the Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik (F.I.N.D). The directors he has collaborated with as dramaturge include Falk Richter, Barbara Frey, Luk Perceval, Rafael Sanchez, Yael Ronen and Sebastian Nübling. In 2010, together with Nurkan Erpulat, he developed the play Verrücktes Blut (Ballhaus Naunynstraße, Ruhrtriennale), which was chosen Play of the Year 2011 by the professional journal Theater heute. That same year, Jens Hillje curated the Intransit Performing Arts Festival at Haus der Kulturen der Welt as artistic director. Since the 2013-2014 season, he has been co-director of the Maxim Gorki Theater and shares the artistic direction of the Gorki with Shermin Langhoff. The two received the 2016 Berlin Theatrical Award from the Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung and were named Theatre of the Year in 2014 and 2016.

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger
(Author/Publisher)
Michael Krüger, born in 1943 in the state of Saxony-Anhalt and raised in Berlin, lives in Munich today. For many years, he was the executive publisher at Carl Hanser Verlag in Munich, and for over three decades has been the editor of the journal Akzente, the book series Edition Akzente, and the series Lyrik Kabinett. Since the 1970s, his own published work has included novels, stories, essays, and poetry, for which he has received the Peter-Huchel-Preis, the Mörike-Preis, the Joseph-Breitbach-Preis, and the Prix Médicis étranger, among other awards. He is currently the president of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts and in spring 2015 will be a fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin
(Author/Journalist)
Marko Martin, born in 1970, left East Germany in May 1989 for political reasons. He studied German, history, and political science at the Technische Universität and Freie Universität in Berlin. After a long residence in Paris, Martin returned to Berlin, where he lives when not traveling as a reporter. As a journalist, he has contributed most notably to Die Welt, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Deutschlandradio, Jüdische Allgemeine, and Internationale Politik. His most recent literary work includes the essay collections Kosmos Tel Aviv (2012) and Treffpunkt '89 (2014), as well as the volumes of stories Schlafende Hunde (2009) and Die Nacht von San Salvador (2013), both published by Die Andere Bibliothek.

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl
(Author/Essayist)
Sabine Scholl, born in 1959, studied German, history, and drama in Vienna and wrote her doctoral dissertation on Unica Zürn. From 1988 to 1990, she was a lecturer at the University of Aveiro, Portugal. She made her literary debut in 1992 with Fette Rosen. She has taught at universities in Chicago, New York, and Nagoya and conceived the “Sprachkunst” course of study at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, where she held a professorship from 2009 to 2012. She is currently on the faculty at the Literaturinstitut Leipzig and Berlin University of the Arts, and directs the ERAschreibkurse (writing courses) in Berlin. She has published novels, essays, audio dramas, and texts on art, and additionally writes about the cultures of the Portuguese-speaking world, the US and Latin America, Japan, and Eastern Europe. Sabine Scholl served as a juror for the 1996 Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis. Most recently, she has published the novel Wir sind die Früchte des Zorns (2013) and Nicht ganz dicht: Zu transnationalen Literaturen (2015). She has been honored with numerous awards and grants and is a member of the Grazer Autorenversammlung and the literary advisory committee of Fiktion e.V.

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Die Jury 2017

Die Jury wurde von einem unabhängigen Auswahlgremium nominiert. Diesem gehörten an: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Präsident des Goethe-Instituts), Joachim Sartorius (Lyriker, Übersetzer und ehemaliger Intendant der Berliner Festspiele), Rainer Traube (Leiter Kulturredaktion, Deutsche Welle), Christina Weiss (Publizistin, Professorin, Vorsitzende des Vereins der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (Vorstandsvorsitzender Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Verena Auffermann | © Manfred Claudi

Verena Auffermann | © Manfred Claudi

Verena Auffermann
(Literaturkritikerin/Autorin)
Verena Auffermann, geb. 1944, studierte nach einer Buchhandelslehre Kunstgeschichte. Seitdem arbeitet sie als Literaturkritikerin, Redakteurin und Kulturkorrespondentin u. a. für Die Zeit, die Süddeutsche Zeitung, Deutschlandradio Kultur und DeutschlandRadio sowie als Autorin. Von ihr erschienen u. a. Nelke und Caruso. Über Hunde. Eine Romanze und Das geöffnete Kleid. Von Giorgione zu Tiepolo. Mit Gunhild Kübler, Ursula März und Elke Schmitter veröffentlichte Auffermann 2009 den literaturwissenschaftlichen Sammelband Leidenschaften. 99 Autorinnen der Weltliteratur. 2016 erschien von ihr in der Reihe Leben in Bildern: „Henry James“. Neben Moderationen und Teilnahmen an Rundfunk- und Fernsehdiskussion, lehrte Verena Auffermann von 1997-2002 als Dozentin beim Fortbildungsprogramm Buch- und Medienpraxis Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main. Sie war von 1992-1996 Jurorin des Klagenfurter Ingeborg Bachmann-Wettbewerbs, von 2010-2012 Jury-Vorsitzende für den Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse.

Jens Bisky | © privat

Jens Bisky | © privat

Jens Bisky
(Journalist/Schriftsteller)
Jens Bisky, geb. 1966 in Leipzig, studierte an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin Germanistik und Kulturwissenschaft. 1999 promovierte er mit einer Studie zur Architekturästhetik der Goethe-Zeit. Er schrieb für die Berliner Zeitung und ist seit 2001 Redakteur im Feuilleton der Süddeutschen Zeitung. Bisky hat mehrere Bücher veröffentlicht, darunter Geboren am 13. August – Der Sozialismus und ich (2004), Kleist. Eine Biographie (2007) und Unser König: Friedrich der Große und seine Zeit – ein Lesebuch (2011).

Frank Heibert | © Paulus Ponizak

Frank Heibert | © Paulus Ponizak

Frank Heibert
(Literaturübersetzer)
Frank Heibert, geb. 1960 in Essen, studierte Romanistik und Germanistik in Berlin, Rom und Paris. 1990 Promotion zum Thema Wortspiel und Übersetzung. Seit 1983 arbeitet er als Literatur- und Theaterübersetzer aus dem Englischen, Französischen, Italienischen und Portugiesischen (Werke von Don DeLillo, Richard Ford, William Faulkner, George Saunders, Boris Vian, Yasmina Reza, u.v.a.). 1990-1995 leitete er gemeinsam mit Thomas Brovot den zebra literaturverlag. Er ist als freier Lektor, Literaturkritiker, Moderator von Literaturveranstaltungen und Dozent zu Übersetzungsthemen im In- und Ausland tätig, außerdem Romanautor (Kombizangen, 2006) und Jazzsänger. Für sein übersetzerisches Gesamtwerk bekam er 2012 den Heinrich-Maria-Ledig-Rowohlt-Übersetzerpreis, war im WS 2015/16 Wilhelm-August-von-Schlegel-Gastprofessor für Poetik der Übersetzung an der Freien Universität Berlin und erhielt 2016 den Helmut-Braem-Übersetzerpreis.

Jens Hillje | © Esra Rotthoff

Jens Hillje | © Esra Rotthoff

Jens Hillje
(Dramaturg/Autor/Kurator)
Jens Hillje, geb.1968, wuchs in Mailand, München und Landshut auf. Nach einem Studium der angewandten Kulturwissenschaften in Perugia, Hildesheim und Berlin arbeitete er seit 1990 in der freien Theaterszene als Schauspieler, Autor und Regisseur. 1996 gründete er mit dem Regisseur Thomas Ostermeier die Baracke am Deutschen Theater in Berlin, welche unter seiner Leitung 1998 die Auszeichnung Theater des Jahres der Fachzeitschrift Theater heute erhielt. In dieser Zeit entwickelte er das bis heute erfolgreiche Format „Streitraum. Von 1999 bis 2009 war Jens Hillje Mitglied der Künstlerischen Leitung und Chefdramaturg der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, wo er das Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik (F.I.N.D) gründete. Als Dramaturg arbeitete er unter anderem mit den Regisseur*innen Falk Richter, Barbara Frey, Luk Perceval, Rafael Sanchez, Yael Ronen und Sebastian Nübling zusammen. Gemeinsam mit Nurkan Erpulat erarbeitete er 2010 das Stück Verrücktes Blut (Ballhaus Naunynstraße, Ruhrtriennale), das 2011 von der Fachzeitschrift Theater heute zum Stück des Jahres gewählt wurde. Im selben Jahr kuratierte Jens Hillje am Haus der Kulturen der Welt als Künstlerischer Leiter das Performing Arts Festival Intransit. Seit der Spielzeit 2013/14 ist er Co-Intendant des Maxim Gorki Theaters und hat mit Shermin Langhoff die künstlerische Leitung des Gorki inne – mit ihr erhielt er von der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung den Theaterpreis Berlin 2016 sowie die Auszeichnung Theater des Jahres 2014 und 2016.

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger | © Santiago Engelhardt

Michael Krüger
(Schriftsteller/Verleger)
Michael Krüger, geb. 1943 in Sachsen-Anhalt, wuchs in Berlin auf und lebt heute in München. Er war viele Jahre lang geschäftsführender Verleger des Carl Hanser Verlags in München, mehr als dreißig Jahre Herausgeber der Zeitschrift Akzente, der Buchreihe Edition Akzente und der Reihe Lyrik Kabinett. Seit den siebziger Jahren veröffentlicht er Romane, Erzählungen, Essays und Gedichte, für die er u.a. mit dem Peter-Huchel-Preis, dem Mörike-Preis, dem Joseph-Breitbach-Preis und dem Prix Medicis étranger ausgezeichnet wurde. Zurzeit ist er Präsident der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste und im Frühjahr 2015 Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs in Berlin.

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin | © Santiago Engelhardt

Marko Martin
(Schriftsteller/Publizist)
Marko Martin, geb. 1970, verließ im Mai 1989 aus politischen Gründen die DDR, Studium der Germanistik, Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft an der TU und FU in Berlin. Nach langjährigem Aufenthalt in Paris lebt Martin, sofern nicht auf Reportagereisen, wieder in Berlin. Publizistische Arbeiten vor allem in Die Welt, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Deutschlandradio, Jüdische Allgemeine und Internationale Politik. Jüngste literarische Veröffentlichungen (Auswahl): Die Essaybände Kosmos Tel Aviv (2012) und Treffpunkt '89 (2014), dazu die in der Anderen Bibliothek erschienenen Erzählbände Schlafende Hunde (2009) und Die Nacht von San Salvador (2013) sowie das literarische Tagebuch Madiba Days. Eine südafrikanische Reise (2015). Für 2016 erhielt Marko Martin  das Stadtschreiber-Stipendium der Stadt Breslau/Wroclaw.

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl | © Santiago Engelhardt

Sabine Scholl
(Schriftstellerin/Essayistin)
Sabine Scholl, geb. 1959, studierte Germanistik, Geschichte, Theaterwissenschaft in Wien, promovierte zu Unica Zürn. 1988 -1990 Lektorin an der Universität Aveiro/Portugal. 1992 Debüt mit Fette Rosen. Sie lehrte an Universitäten in Chicago, New York und Nagoya, konzipierte den Lehrgang „Sprachkunst“ in Wien, war dort von 2009-2012 Professorin. Derzeit unterrichtet sie am Literaturinstitut Leipzig sowie an der UdK Berlin, ist Leiterin der ERAschreibkurse Berlin. Sie veröffentlichte Romane, Essays, Hörspiele, Texte über Kunst. Daneben publiziert sie zur Kultur des portugiesischsprachigen, US- und lateinamerikanischen, japanischen sowie osteuropäischen Raums. Sabine Scholl nahm 1996 als Jurorin am Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis teil. Zuletzt erschienen 2015  Nicht ganz dicht: Zu örtlichen Verschiebungen und Post-Literaturen, sowie 2016 der Roman Die Füchsin spricht. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, ist Mitglied der Grazer Autorenversammlung und im Literarischen Beirat von Fiktion e.V.