Why Are We Here Now?

3 Weekends with Adania Shibli, Mohammad Al Attar, Rabih Mroué
2017, Sep 15, Fri — 2017, Oct 07, Sat

Rania Stephan, train-trains (where’s the track), 1999 (film still)

Rania Stephan, train-trains (where’s the track), 1999 (film still)

Rabih Mroué, Sand in the Eyes, 2017

Rabih Mroué, Sand in the Eyes, 2017

Akram Zaatari, In This House, 2005 (film still)

Akram Zaatari, In This House, 2005 (film still)

© Ammar Abd Rabbo

© Ammar Abd Rabbo

How can the past be inscribed into the present not as a relict, but as lived experience “here and now”? Adania Shibli, Mohammad Al Attar, and Rabih Mroué investigate key discourses that have underlined political, social and cultural transformations over the past century in the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean.

They deliberately avoid the grand narratives like progress, civilization, or orientalism. Instead of generating knowledge about an irrevocable truth, they invoke new perspectives, seemingly minor details, undetected connections, and narratives not yet explored.

In After the Wildly Improbable, writer and cultural researcher Adania Shibli follows the traces of the Ottoman railway to disclose its potentialities as a witness to major shifts in the 20th century. Motivated by a desire not to yield to a language of loss, playwright Mohammad Al Attar asks with Aleppo. A Portrait of Absence, how it is possible to reconstruct Aleppo based on people’s testimonies about their beloved places in the city. Finally, with a series of “non-academic lectures” entitled How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive? artist Rabih Mroué endeavors to find out how art can establish new forms to speak about the complexity of history.

Curated by Adania Shibli, Rabih Mroué und Mohammad Al Attar under the direction of Katrin Klingan.

Part of 100 Years of Now

Performances, presentations, lectures

Fri & Sat, Sept 15 & 16
After the Wildly Improbable
curated by Adania Shibli

Thu, 21 - Sat, 23 Sept
Aleppo. A Portrait of Absence
by Mohammad Al Attar

Fri & Sat, Oct 6 & 7
How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive?
curated by Rabih Mroué

Tickets online

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Why Are We Here Now?

3 Wochenenden mit Adania Shibli, Mohammad Al Attar, Rabih Mroué
Fr, 15. September 2017 — Sa, 07. Oktober 2017

© Ammar Abd Rabbo

© Ammar Abd Rabbo

Akram Zaatari, In This House, 2005 (Filmstill)

Akram Zaatari, In This House, 2005 (Filmstill)

Rabih Mroué, Sand in the Eyes, 2017

Rabih Mroué, Sand in the Eyes, 2017

Rania Stephan, train-trains (where’s the track), 1999 (Filmstill)

Rania Stephan, train-trains (where’s the track), 1999 (Filmstill)

Wie lässt sich die Vergangenheit in die Gegenwart einschreiben – nicht als Relikt, sondern als gelebte Erfahrung im „Hier und Jetzt“? Adania Shibli, Mohammad Al Attar und Rabih Mroué erforschen die politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Transformationsprozesse des vergangenen Jahrhunderts im südlichen und östlichen Mittelmeerraum.

Bewusst meiden sie die großen Erzählungen Fortschritt, Zivilisation, Orientalismus. Nicht die Produktion von Wissen über eine unwiderrufliche Wahrheit steht hier im Vordergrund, sondern neue Perspektiven, scheinbar nebensächliche Details, verborgene Verbindungslinien und bislang kaum erforschte Narrative.

Die Autorin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin Adania Shibli folgt in After the Wildly Improbable den Spuren des osmanischen Eisenbahnnetzes, um sein Potenzial als Zeuge der Verwerfungen des 20. Jahrhunderts offenzulegen. Gegen die Sprache des Verlusts richtet sich der Dramatiker Mohammad Al Attar. Mit Aleppo. A Portrait of Absence fragt er nach Möglichkeiten, die Stadt zu rekonstruieren – durch Erzählungen der Einwohner*innen von ihren Lieblingsorten. In einer Reihe „nicht-akademischer Vorträge“ unter dem Titel How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive? erkundet der Künstler Rabih Mroué neue Formen in der Kunst, um über die Komplexität der Geschichte zu sprechen.

Kuratiert von Adania Shibli, Rabih Mroué und Mohammad Al Attar unter der Leitung von Katrin Klingan.

Im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart

Performances, Präsentationen, Vorträge

Fr 15. & Sa 16. September
After the Wildly Improbable
kuratiert von Adania Shibli

Do 21. - Sa 23. September
Aleppo. A Portrait of Absence
von Mohammad Al Attar

Fr 6. & Sa 7. Oktober
How Close Could We Get to the Light and Survive?
kuratiert von Rabih Mroué

Onlinetickets