2015, Sat, Feb 28

CIRCLE / RHYTHM / RITUAL

With Kodwo Eshun, Ayesha Hameed, and Diedrich Diederichsen

The workshop films form the starting point of the second day of the conference: a small selection of specific films, chosen according to thematic and associative terminological fields, provide an opening for each panel and serve as a common knowledge base for presentations and discussions.

CIRCLE / RHYTHM / RITUAL
This panel is devoted to the organizational forms of work processes in time and space in historical and time-diagnostic perspective. How are rhythms of working and living synchronized in the “tempo of modern life” between innovation and repetition? What rituals and routines of material and immaterial reproduction are processed in the spaces of experience and meaning created by the films?

With
Kodwo Eshun (artist, writer, London) and Ayesha Hameed (artist, writer, Goldsmiths, University of London)
Moderator: Diedrich Diederichsen (cultural scientist, curator, journalist, Berlin)

Contributors

Diedrich Diederichsen is a professor of the theory, practice, and communication of contemporary art at the Institute of Art Theory and Cultural Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Since the 1980s, he has regularly published writings on popular and contemporary music, as well as contemporary art, cinema, theater, design, and politics in periodicals such as die tageszeitung, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, theater heute, and Texte zur Kunst. Recent book publications include Über Pop-Musik (2014), The Sopranos (2012), Psicodelia y ready-made (2010), and Utopia of Sound (2010). Jointly with Anselm Franke, he curated the 2013 exhibition The Whole Earth as part of The Anthropocene Project at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin.

Kodwo Eshun is an artist and theorist. He studied English literature at University College, Oxford University, and is Lecturer in Aural and Visual Culture at Goldsmiths, University of London. In 2002 Eshun cofounded The Otolith Group, which was nominated for the Turner Prize in 2010. The Otolith Group’s work explores the potentials of liberation struggles, speculative futures and science-fictions. He is coeditor of The Ghosts of Songs: The Film Art of the Black Audio Film Collective, 2007, with Anjalika Sagar; Harun Farocki: Against What? Against Whom?, 2009, with Antje Ehmann; and The Militant Image: A Cine Geography, 2011, with Ros Gray. He is the author of Dan Graham: Rock My Religion, 2012.

Ayesha Hameed is an artist and writer. She is Joint Programme Leader in Fine Art and History of Art in the Department of Visual Cultures at Goldsmiths, University of London, where she is also a research fellow in the Forensic Architecture project. Hameed’s practice includes performance, video, and text, and examines borders, migration, and detention. Her essays have been widely published in journals and edited collections such as Tate ETC (2010), Photoworks (2011), Place: Location and Belonging in New Media Contexts (2008), and The Sarai Reader (2013).

Sa, 28. Februar 2015

KREIS / RHYTHMUS / RITUAL

Mit Kodwo Eshun, Ayesha Hameed und Diedrich Diederichsen

Ausgewählte Workshopfilme aus den 15 Städten sind visueller Ausgangspunkt wie auch gemeinsame Wissensbasis des zweiten Konferenztages, dessen Konzept gemeinsam mit Farocki und Ehmann entwickelt wurde: Sortiert nach thematischen und assoziativen Begriffsfeldern eröffnen spezifisch ausgewählte Filme den Einstieg in die Panels.

KREIS / RHYTHMUS / RITUAL
Das Panel widmet sich den Organisationsformen von Arbeit in Zeit und Raum in historischer und zeitdiagnostischer Perspektive. Wie werden Arbeits- und Lebensrhythmen im „Takt er Moderne“ zwischen Innovation und Repetition synchronisiert? Welche Rituale und Routinen materieller und immaterieller Reproduktion werden in den filmischen Erfahrungs- und Bedeutungsräumen verarbeitet?

Mit
Kodwo Eshun (Künstler, Theoretiker, London) und Ayesha Hameed (Künstlerin, Autorin, Goldsmiths, University of London)
Moderation: Diedrich Diederichsen (Kulturwissenschaftler, Kurator, Journalist, Berlin)

Beitragende

Diedrich Diederichsen ist Professor für Theorie, Praxis und Vermittlung von Gegenwartskunst am Institut für Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien. Seit den 1980er Jahren veröffentlicht er regelmäßig zu Gegenwartskunst, Pop-Musik und zeitgenössischer Musik, Kino, Theater, Design und Politik, u.a. in die tageszeitung, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, theater heute und Texte zur Kunst. Zu seinen letzten Veröffentlichungen zählen Über Pop-Musik (2014), The Sopranos (2012), Psicodelia y ready-made (2010) und Utopia of Sound (2010). Gemeinsam mit Anselm Franke kuratierte er 2013 die Ausstellung The Whole Earth im Rahmen des Anthropozän Projektes am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin.

Kodwo Eshun ist Künstler und Theoretiker. Er studierte Englische Literatur am University College der Oxford University und lehrt Aural and Visual Culture an Goldsmiths, University of London. 2002 gründete er gemeinsam mit Anjalika Sagar die 2010 für den Turner Prize nominierte Künstlergruppe The Otolith Group, die die Potentiale von Befreiungskämpfen, spekulativen Zukünften und Sciencefiction-Szenarien erforscht. Eshun ist Mitherausgeber von The Ghosts of Songs: The Film Art of the Black Audio Film Collective, 2007, mit Anjalika Sagar; Harun Farocki: Against What? Against Whom?, 2009, mit Antje Ehmann; und The Militant Image: A Cine Geography, 2011, mit Ros Gray. Er ist der Autor von Dan Graham: Rock My Religion, 2012.

Ayesha Hameed ist Künstlerin und Autorin. Sie ist Co-Leiterin des Studiengangs Kunst und Kunstgeschichte an der Fakultät für Visual Cultures an Goldsmiths, University of London, wo sie auch wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bei Forensic Architecture ist. Hameeds Praxis umfasst Performance, Video und Text und beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Grenzen, Migration und Internierung. Ihre Essays sind in zahlreichen Zeitschriften und Sammlungen erschienen, darunter Tate ETC (2010), Photoworks (2011), Place: Location and Belonging in New Media Contexts (2008) und The Sarai Reader (2013).