2016, Sat, Apr 09

Between Ear and Mouth

With Terézia Mora, Lilian-Astrid Geese and Günther Orth

The art of interpreting does not just mean translating fluently from one language into the other simultaneously. Interpreters must anticipate foreign trains of thought: How is it possible to capture the underlying subtext?

How does one correctly translate the short pauses during which the speaker hesitates, deliberates, expresses their incomprehension with their interlocutor? The writer and translator Terézia Mora discusses with the interpreters Lilian-Astrid Geese and Günther Orth.

Terézia Mora is a writer, playwright, screenwriter and translator from Hungarian. She was awarded the 1999 Ingeborg Bachmann Prize for her first short story Der Fall Ophelia, and shortly thereafter published her short story collection Seltsame Materie. It was followed in 2004 by her novel Alle Tage, Der einzige Mann auf dem Kontinent in 2009 and in 2013 by Das Ungeheuer on the uncertainty and obscurity of a globalized world, for which she received the German Book Prize. She has translated works by Peter Esterházy and others. In 2013 Mora held the Frankfurt poetry chair, since 2015 she is a member of the Academy for Language and Literature.

Lilian-Astrid Geese lives in Berlin as a conference interpreter and translator for English, French and Spanish. Herself the daughter of musicians, she has specialized in translations for film, music and the arts for, among others, HKW, the Berlinale, theaters in Berlin, Munich and Salzburg, museums, art collections and publishers. She is consultant interpreter of the Berlin international literature festival and the International Women’s Film Festival Dortmund/Cologne. Her reviews appear in print and online. On her website she operates the virtual photo gallery vue comunicada.

Günther Orth is a conference interpreter, literary translator and lecturer in the Arabic department of Deutsche Welle-TV. He studied Islamic studies, geography and sociology in Erlangen, Cairo, Damascus and Leipzig, was a professor of Arabic at various German universities and since 1992 has been an interpreter and translator for Arabic. After completing his doctorate on the modern literature of Yemen in 1996, he worked as a lecturer in translation studies and German as a foreign language at the University of Sanaa (Yemen).

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Sa, 09. April 2016

Zwischen Ohr und Mund

Mit Terézia Mora, Lilian-Astrid Geese und Günther Orth

Die Kunst des Dolmetschens umfasst mehr als nur die Fähigkeit, fließend von einer Sprache in die andere zu übersetzen, während zugleich weitergesprochen wird.

Wer dolmetscht, muss fremde Gedankengänge antizipieren: Wie lässt sich der mitschwingende Subtext einfangen? Wie übersetzt man die kurzen Sprechpausen richtig, in denen jemand zögert, abwägt, sein Unverständnis des Gegenübers zum Ausdruck bringt? Die Schriftstellerin und Übersetzerin Terézia Mora diskutiert mit der Dolmetscherin Lilian- Astrid Geese und dem Dolmetscher Günther Orth.

Terézia Mora ist Schriftstellerin, Dramatikerin, Drehbuchautorin und Übersetzerin aus dem Ungarischen. Für ihre erste Erzählung Der Fall Ophelia erhielt sie 1999 den Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis, kurz darauf veröffentlichte sie ihren Erzählband Seltsame Materie. 2004 folgte ihr Roman Alle Tage, 2009 Der einzige Mann auf dem Kontinent und 2013 Das Ungeheuer über die Unsicherheit und Undurchschaubarkeit einer globalisierten Welt, für den sie den Deutschen Buchpreis erhielt. Als Übersetzerin hat sie u. a. Werke von Peter Esterházy übersetzt. 2013 hatte Mora die Frankfurter Poetik-Dozentur inne, seit 2015 ist sie Mitglied der Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung.

Lilian-Astrid Geese lebt als Konferenzdolmetscherin und Übersetzerin für Englisch, Französisch und Spanisch in Berlin. Selbst Musikertochter, spezialisierte sie sich auf Übersetzungen für Film, Musik und die Künste, u. a. für das HKW, die Berlinale, Theater in Berlin, München, Salzburg, Museen, Kunstsammlungen und Verlage. Sie ist beratende Dolmetscherin des internationalen literaturfestivals berlin und des Internationalen Frauenfilmfestivals Dortmund/Köln. Ihre Rezensionen erscheinen gedruckt und online. Auf ihrer Websitebetreibt sie die virtuelle Fotogalerie vue comunicada.

Günther Orth ist Konferenzdolmetscher, Literaturübersetzer und Lektor in der arabischen Redaktion von Deutsche Welle-TV. Er studierte Islamwissenschaft, Geografie und Soziologie in Erlangen, Kairo, Damaskus und Leipzig, war Dozent für Arabisch an verschiedenen deutschen Universitäten und arbeitete seit 1992 als Dolmetscher und Übersetzer für Arabisch. Nach seiner Promotion zur modernen Literatur des Jemen im Jahr 1996 war er auch als Dozent für Übersetzungswissenschaft und für Deutsch als Fremdsprache an der Universität Sanaa (Jemen) tätig.