Wed, 24 May – Thu, May 25: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information...

2017, Fri, Mar 24

Conversations

With Boaventura de Sousa Santos and Samar Yazbek; Arjun Appadurai, Cemil Aydin and Rana Dasgupta; Keller Easterling, Bernd Kasparek, and Kim Rygiel

5:30 – 6:30 pm
Samar Yazbek & Boaventura de Sousa Santos
Which Humans Have Human Rights?
70 years after the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, it has become evident that there is nothing “universal” about these rights. Why is this? What are the contradictions between a war-prone world order and the means of protection supposedly enjoyed by every human being? What other models of human dignity might offer a more hopeful prospect?

7:00 – 8:00 pm
Arjun Appadurai, Cemil Aydin and Rana Dasgupta
Have Nations Killed Cosmopolitanism?
As many nations are reaching the limits of their multicultural potential, it seems prudent to abandon the superiority they have always felt over empires. Looking back at those empires, one might identify spaces that could accommodate a far greater diversity than contemporary nation-states. Can old empires offer inspirations for today’s political impasses?

8:30 – 9:30 pm
Keller Easterling, Bernd Kasparek and Kim Rygiel
What is the Space of Exception?
Spatial zones with special qualities have proliferated over recent years, creating an “archipelago of exceptions” (Easterling) in legal and economic spaces: on the one side a multitude of “free” zones offering exemptions from taxation and other forms of state control, gated communities and luxury housing projects. On the other, zones of exemption from the right to have rights, “black sites” and sites for incarceration and detention of migrants and refugees, but also autonomous zones, spaces of refusal and escape. What are the connections between these different zones of exception? And which role do “smart technologies” of borders and nations play here?

Fr, 24. März 2017

Konversationen

Mit Boaventura de Sousa Santos und Samar Yazbek; Arjun Appadurai, Cemil Aydin und Rana Dasgupta, Keller Easterling, Bernd Kasparek und Kim Rygiel

17:30 – 18:30h
Boaventura de Sousa Santos und Samar Yazbek
Für wen gelten die Menschenrechte?
70 Jahre nach der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte zeigt sich, dass nichts an diesen Rechten „universell“ ist. Woran liegt das? Wo liegen die Widersprüche zwischen der kriegsanfälligen Weltordnung und dem Schutz, den jeder Mensch angeblich genießt? Welche alternativen Modelle der Menschenwürde könnten eine hoffnungsvollere Perspektive bieten?

19 – 20h
Arjun Appadurai, Cemil Aydin und Rana Dasgupta
Sind Nationen die Totengräber des Kosmopolitismus?
Viele Nationen haben offensichtlich die Grenzen ihres multikulturellen Potenzials erreicht: Die Zeit scheint gekommen, sich von dem Überlegenheitsgefühl gegenüber den früheren Imperien zu verabschieden. Lassen sich im Rückblick auf diese Imperien Räume identifizieren, die mehr Vielfalt zuließen, als die Nationalstaaten von heute das tun? Könnten die alten Imperien die nötige Inspiration liefern, um einen Ausweg aus den politischen Sackgassen unserer Zeit zu finden?

20:30 – 21:30h
Keller Easterling, Bernd Kasparek und Kim Rygiel
Zonen der Ausnahme: Wo gelten welche Regeln (nicht)?
In den letzten Jahren sind immer mehr Sonderwirtschafts- und Sonderrechtszonen entstanden, in denen eigene Regeln gelten – „archipelagos of exceptions“, wie Keller Easterling sie nennt. Auf der einen Seite eine Unzahl „freier“ Räume, die Steuererleichterungen oder den Wegfall anderer Formen staatlicher Kontrolle gewähren, Gated Communities oder Luxuswohnanlagen; auf der anderen Seite Zonen, in denen das Recht auf Rechte aufgehoben ist, „black sites“, an denen Migrant*innen und Geflüchtete gegen ihren Willen festgehalten werden. Aber auch drittens autonome Zonen, Räume, die eine Verweigerungshaltung ermöglichen, und Schlupflöcher. Welche Verbindungen bestehen zwischen diesen Ausnahmezonen? Und an welcher Stelle kommen die „smarten Grenztechnologien“ von Nationalstaaten ins Spiel?