2017, Wed, Jul 12

Merkur Talk: Respect! The limits to cultural appropriation

With Eva Geulen and Matthias Dell

“Should Art That Infuriates Be Removed?” asked Roberta Smith in the New York Times, when a fiery debate ensued at the presentation of Dana Schutz’s painting “Open Casket” at the 2017 Whitney Biennial. It centered on the legitimacy of cultural appropriation, but the issue also reveals debates about safe spaces, identity politics and trigger warnings. A discussion about conflicts that lead to the core of the self-concept of liberal societies.

Eva Geulen is the director of the Zentrum für Literatur- und Kulturforschung (ZfL) in Berlin and professor of the history of European culture and knowledge at the Humboldt-Universität Berlin. She was previously a professor at New York University, in Bonn and in Frankfurt (Main). She most recently published the book Aus dem Leben der Form: Goethes Morphologie und die Nager.

Matthias Dell is a freelance editor for Freitag and Deutschlandfunk Kultur. He is a media columnist for Merkur and the DLF program @mediasres. He also writes ARD Sunday evening crime show reviews on zeit.de. His book "Herrlich inkorrekt": Die Thiel-Börne-Tatorte was issued in 2012.

The discussion is moderated by Ekkehard Knörer (Merkur, editorial office)

Mi, 12. Juli 2017

Merkur-Gespräch: Respekt! Grenzen kultureller Aneignung

Mit Eva Geulen und Matthias Dell

„Sollte Kunst, die empört, entfernt werden?“, fragte Roberta Smith in der New York Times, als anlässlich der Präsentation von Dana Schutz’ Open Casket Gemälde bei der Whitney Biennale 2017 heftiger Streit entbrannte. Es ging hierbei um die Legitimität kultureller Aneignungen, aber hinter der Frage liegen Debatten um Safe Spaces, Identitätspolitik und Trigger Warnings. Ein Gespräch zu Auseinandersetzungen, die ins Zentrum des Selbstverständnisses liberaler Gesellschaften führen.

Eva Geulen leitet das Zentrum für Literatur- und Kulturforschung (ZfL) in Berlin und hat eine Professur für Europäische Kultur- und Wissensgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin. Zuvor war sie Professorin an der New York University, in Bonn und in Frankfurt (Main). Sie hat zuletzt das Buch Aus dem Leben der Form: Goethes Morphologie und die Nager veröffentlicht.

Matthias Dell ist freier Redakteur des Freitag und des Deutschlandfunk Kultur. Er ist Medienkolumnist beim Merkur und bei der DLF-Sendung @mediasres. Außerdem schreibt er auf zeit.de ARD-Sonntagabendkrimi-Kritiken. Sein Buch "Herrlich inkorrekt": Die Thiel-Börne-Tatorte erschien 2012.

Das Gespräch wird moderiert von Ekkehard Knörer (Redaktion Merkur).