2017, Tue, Nov 14

Herta Müller and Marcel Beyer – LANGUAGE

Herta Müller © Stephanie von Becker, Marcel Beyer © Aya Schamoni

Herta Müller © Stephanie von Becker, Marcel Beyer © Aya Schamoni

Is language the last remaining freedom of the oppressed and what are its modes of resistance? Or is it instead an expression of power, which silences dissidents, through the linguistic means of bureaucracy and through attributions, ordinances and categorizations? Language holds both: emancipation and the freedom to act on the one hand and the brutal exercise of power and tyranny on the other.

In Dictionary of Now #8, Nobel laureate in literature Herta Müller and Georg-Büchner awardee Marcel Beyer talk about literary facets of language and analyze its significance in times of hardened political fronts.

The conversation will be moderated by literary critic and author Verena Auffermann. The dialogic debate will include excerpts from the works of Oskar Pastior, Friederike Mayröcker, Michel Leiris, Georges-Arthur Goldschmidt (in dialogue with Hans-Jürgen Heinrichs) as well as the two contributors.

The writer and curator Marcel Beyer lives in Dresden. He writes poetry, novels, essays and libretti. His recent publications include the book of poetry Graphit (2014), the essay compilation Sie nannten es Sprache (2016) and Das blindgeweinte Jahrhundert. Bild und Ton (2017). Herta Müller was born in Nițchidorf, Romania and has lived in Berlin as a writer since 1987. Her debut work Nadirs was published in a censored version in Romania in 1982 and uncensored in Germany in 1986. Other novels by her include The Land of Green Plums (1996) and The Hunger Angel of 2012.

Di, 14. November 2017

Herta Müller und Marcel Beyer – SPRACHE

Herta Müller © Stephanie von Becker, Marcel Beyer © Aya Schamoni

Herta Müller © Stephanie von Becker, Marcel Beyer © Aya Schamoni

Ist Sprache die letzte Freiheit der Unterdrückten und birgt sie die Möglichkeit des Widerstands? Oder ist sie vielmehr Ausdruck von Macht, die mit sprachlichen Mitteln der Bürokratie und durch Zuschreibungen, Anordnungen und Kategorisierungen Andersdenkende zum Verstummen bringt? Sprache vermag beides: Emanzipation und Handlungsfreiheit einerseits und subtile Machtausübung und Gewaltherrschaft andererseits.

Im Wörterbuch der Gegenwart #8 sprechen die Literaturnobelpreisträgerin Herta Müller und der Georg-Büchner-Preisträger Marcel Beyer über literarische Facetten der Sprache und analysieren ihre Bedeutung in Zeiten politisch verhärteter Fronten.

Das Gespräch wird moderiert von der Literaturkritikerin und Autorin Verena Auffermann. Die dialogische Auseinandersetzung beinhaltet Auszüge aus dem Werk von Oskar Pastior, Friederike Mayröcker, Michel Leiris, Georges-Arthur Goldschmidt (im Dialog mit Hans-Jürgen Heinrichs) sowie der beiden Beitragenden.

Der Schriftsteller und Kurator Marcel Beyer lebt in Dresden. Er schreibt Gedichte, Romane, Essays und Libretti. Zuletzt erschienen der Gedichtband Graphit (2014), die Essaysammlung Sie nannten es Sprache (2016) und Das blindgeweinte Jahrhundert. Bild und Ton (2017). Herta Müller wurde in Nitzkydorf/Rumänien geboren und lebt seit 1987 als Schriftstellerin in Berlin. Ihr Erstlingswerk Niederungen wurde 1982 in Rumänien nur in zensierter Fassung veröffentlicht, 1984 schien eine gekürzte Fassung in Deutschland. Weitere Romane von ihr sind u.a. Herztier (1994) und Atemschaukel von 2009.