2017, Tue, Dec 12

Karin Knorr-Cetina, Philip Mirowski & Nick Srnicek – MARKET

Simon Denny und Linda Kantchev, Detail aus Blockchain Future States, 2016. | Courtesy the artists

Simon Denny und Linda Kantchev, Detail aus Blockchain Future States, 2016. | Courtesy the artists

In technologically driven markets, accelerated transactions create an ever more dense succession of crises. At the same time, the universalistic credo of growth, progress and prosperity persists. In the digital economy, machines and algorithms are increasingly making decisions, taking action and working – and have long become powerful market players. What basic assumptions about the human-machine-work relationship underlie this form of market? How are decisions made in these constellations and what cultural and political implications does that have? How is the community-building function of markets changing in a world of block chains and crypto currency? And what forms of criticism and resistance are still possible?

Karin Knorr-Cetina, Philip Mirowski and Nick Srnicek discuss the limits of an idea of the market on the basis of which more and more spheres of life experience a comprehensive financialization accelerated by digitalization.

With interventions by the Chor der Kulturen der Welt under the direction of Barbara Morgenstern and Philipp Neumann

Karin Knorr Cetina is a sociologist and philosopher of science well known for her work on epistemology and social constructionism, summarized in the books The Manufacture of Knowledge: An Essay on the Constructivist and Contextual Nature of Science (1981) and Epistemic Cultures: How the Sciences Make Knowledge (1999). Currently, she focuses on the study of global microstructures and social studies of finance. Knorr Cetina received a Ph.D. in Cultural Anthropology (with a minor in sociology) from the University of Vienna in 1971. Currently, she is the Otto Borchert Distinguished Service Professor (Jointly Appointed in Anthropology) and Chair of the Department of Sociology at the University of Chicago.

Philip Mirowski is Carl Koch Professor of Economics and the History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Notre Dame. He is the author of, among others, The Knowledge we have Lost in Information (2017), Machine Dreams (2001), ScienceMart (2011), and Never Let a Serious Crisis Go to Waste (2013). He has been visiting professor at different universities worldwide. The conference Neoliberalism, Its Ontology and Genealogy: The Work and Context of Philip Mirowski devoted to his work was held by the boundary 2 collective in 2017. Outside of the economics profession, he is perhaps best known for his work on the history and political philosophy of neoliberalism, and his methodological watchword that intellectual history is the story of thought collectives, not heroic individuals.

Nick Srnicek (1982 in Canada) is a lecturer in digital economy at King's College London. He is the recent author of Platform Capitalism, as well as the co-author of Inventing the Future: Postcapitalism and a World Without Work (with Alex Williams). With Helen Hester, he has a new book coming out on the interchange between social reproduction and anti-work politics, entitled After Work: The Politics of Free Time. His next research project will be examining the political economy of AI and the ways in which machine learning and big data are generating monopolies of power and profit within contemporary capitalism, and what this may mean for the future of the economy.

Di, 12. Dezember 2017

Karin Knorr-Cetina, Philip Mirowski & Nick Srnicek – MARKT

Simon Denny und Linda Kantchev, Detail aus Blockchain Future States, 2016. | Courtesy the artists

Simon Denny und Linda Kantchev, Detail aus Blockchain Future States, 2016. | Courtesy the artists

Auf technologisch gesteuerten Märkten erzeugen beschleunigte Transaktionen eine immer dichtere Abfolge an Krisen; gleichzeitig bleibt das universalistische Credo von Wachstum, Fortschritt und Wohlstand stabil. In der digitalen Ökonomie sind es Maschinen und Algorithmen, die zunehmend entscheiden, handeln und arbeiten – und die längst mächtige Marktakteure geworden sind. Welche Grundannahmen zum Verhältnis von Mensch, Maschine und Arbeit liegen dieser Form von Markt zugrunde? Wie werden hier Entscheidungen getroffen und welche kulturellen und politischen Implikationen hat das? Wie verändert sich die gemeinschaftsstiftende Funktion von Märkten in einer Welt aus Blockchains und Kryptowährungen? Und welche Formen von Kritik und Widerstand kann es noch geben?

Karin Knorr-Cetina, Philip Mirowski und Nick Srnicek diskutieren die Grenzen einer Vorstellung von Markt, auf deren Grundlage die Finanzialisierung aller Lebensbereiche durch die Mittel der Digitalisierung radikal vorangetrieben wird.

Mit Interventionen des Chors der Kulturen der Welt unter der Leitung von Barbara Morgenstern und Philipp Neumann

Bekannt wurde die Soziologin und Wissenschaftsphilosophin Karin Knorr Cetina mit ihren Werken zur Epistemologie und zum Sozialkonstruktivismus, Themen, die sie in The Manufacture of Knowledge: An Essay on the Constructivist and Contextual Nature of Science (1981) und Epistemic Cultures: How the Sciences Make Knowledge (1999) ausführlich behandelte. Aktuell forscht sie zu globalen Mikrostrukturen und befasst sich mit Sozialstudien im Kontext der Finanzen. Knorr Cetina promovierte 1971 in Kulturanthropologie (mit dem Nebenfach Soziologie) an der Universität Wien. Zur Zeit ist sie Otto Borchert Distinguished Service Professor (auch für Anthropologie) und Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls an der Soziologischen Fakultät der Universität Chicago.

Philip Mirowski ist Carl Koch Professor für Ökonomie, Wissenschaftsgeschichte und Wissenschaftsphilosophie der Universität Notre Dame. Er publizierte umfänglich, darunter The Knowledge we have Lost in Information (2017), Machine Dreams (2001), ScienceMart (2011) und Never Let a Serious Crisis Go to Waste (2013). Mirowski wirkt als Gastdozent an Hochschulen in aller Welt. 2017 widmete das boundary 2-Kollektiv seinem Werk die Konferenz Neoliberalism, Its Ontology and Genealogy: The Work and Context of Philip Mirowski. Der ausgezeichnete Theoretiker machte sich nicht nur auf dem Feld der Wirtschaftswissenschaften einen Namen, sondern vor allem auch durch seine Arbeiten zur Historie und politischen Philosophie des Neoliberalismus und den methodischen Hinweis auf die wichtige Tatsache, dass die intellektuelle Geschichte eine Geschichte der Denkkollektive, nicht der heroischen Individuen ist.

Nick Srnicek, 1982 in Kanada geboren, ist Dozent für Digitale Ökonomie am King's College London. Zuletzt erschien von ihm Platform Capitalism. Zusammen mit Alex Williams publizierte er Inventing the Future: Postcapitalism und World Without Work. Demnächst wird sein mit Helen Hester als Koautorin geschriebenes neues Buch vorliegen: In After Work: The Politics of Free Time geht es um die Wechselwirkung von sozialer Reproduktion und Antibeschäftigungspolitik. Im aktuellen Forschungsprojekt widmet sich Srnicek der politischen Ökonomie der Künstlichen Intelligenz, der Frage, wie Maschinenlernen und Big Data im heutigen Kapitalismus Machtmonopole und Profit generieren und was das für die Zukunft der Wirtschaft bedeutet.