Carillon

Carillon concerts at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt

The carillon was presented to the City of Berlin by Daimler-Benz AG to mark the 750th anniversary of its founding. The initiative was based on an idea by the musician and composer Jeffrey Bossin, who has since been giving regular concerts on the carillon. The tower was intended as a memorial to the carillons in the Parochialkriche and the Garnisonkirche in Potsdam, which were both destroyed in the Second World War.

The bell tower is 42 meters high and clad in black granite. Several architects contributed to the design, among them Axel Schultes. Boasting 68 bells, it is the fourth largest carillon in the world and has a pitch range of five and a half octaves. The largest bell weighs 7.8 tons.

The carillonneur, Jeffrey Bossin, performs concerts every Sunday from May to September, and on selected holidays throughout the year, usually at 3 p.m.(2 p.m. in December). The carillon also plays computer-controlled pieces at 12 noon and 6 p.m. daily.

Pentecost 2012, the carillon in Berlin-Tiergarten is celebrating its 25th anniversary – with an international festival and a symposium of bell tower music.The world’s leading composers and virtuosos of bell tower music are gathering in Berlin for the international festival.

Artistic Director: Jeffrey Bossin

Further information:
Tel + 49 – (0)30 - 851 28 28

www.carillon-berlin.de

Carillon

Carillonkonzerte am Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Das Carillon wurde 1987 zum 750. Geburtstag der Stadt Berlin von der Daimler-Benz AG gestiftet. Die Initiative geht auf den Musiker und Komponisten Jeffrey Bossin zurück, der seitdem auf dem Carillon konzertiert. Mit dem Turmglockenspiel sollte der historischen Carillons in der Parochialkirche und der Potsdamer Garnisonkirche gedacht werden, die beide im Zweiten Weltkrieg zerstört worden sind.

Der Turm des Carillon ist 42 Meter hoch und mit schwarzem Granit verkleidet. Die Pläne des Turmes stammen von mehreren Architekten, darunter auch Axel Schultes. Mit 68 Glocken ist es das viertgrößte Carillon der Welt und verfügt über einen Tonumfang von fünfeinhalb Oktaven. Die größte Glocke wiegt 7,8 Tonnen.

Jeden Sonntag und an einigen Feiertagen von Mai bis September, spielt der Carillonneur Jeffrey Bossin um 15 Uhr (14 Uhr in Dezember) Konzerte. Zudem spielt das Carillon zweimal täglich computergesteuert um 12 und 18 Uhr.

Pfingsten 2012 feiert das Carillon seinen 25. Geburtstag – mit einem internationalen Festival und einem Symposium der Turmglockenspielmusik, zu dem die führenden internationalen Komponisten und Virtuosen des Turmglockenspiels zusammen kommen

Künstlerische Leitung: Jeffrey Bossin

Weitere Informationen:
Tel + 49 – (0)30 - 851 28 28

www.carillon-berlin.de