Sun, May 27: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information

Poster campaign spring 2018

 

HKW is again presenting an extensive program in 2018. The poster campaign by NODE Berlin Oslo takes up topics from upcoming months. It can be seen in Berlin starting February 5.

Photo: Monty Kaplan, The man who wasn’t there | © Monty Kaplan

Photo: Monty Kaplan, The man who wasn’t there | © Monty Kaplan

As a photographer, former filmmaker, what interests Monty Kaplan most is the use of light, the changing seasons and times of day. His picture The man who wasn’t there documents a fleeting moment: the watchman, seen in the photo as a shadow, pauses on his rounds for one brief instant in front of the skyline of Manhattan’s Upper East Side as the sun begins to set. Monty Kaplan lives in Buenos Aires and Miami.

Photo: Tom Callemin: Man with child, 2013 | © Tom Callemin

Photo: Tom Callemin: Man with child, 2013 | © Tom Callemin

The work by Tom Callemin is characterized by hyperrealist scenarios in black and white. He stages his meticulously prepared studio photographs in a theatrical setting against an entirely black background—everything is shrouded in darkness, the camera’s flash is almost an assault on the models. Instead of events that the pictures are based on, he is more interested in the iconic nature of images, which manifests itself in the observers’ memories. Tom Callemin lives in Ghent.

Photo: Chris Maggio, from the series Midtown Lunch | © Chris Maggio

Photo: Chris Maggio, from the series Midtown Lunch | © Chris Maggio

In his photographs, Chris Maggio unites aesthetics of the Internet mainstream—memes, advertisements, and social media snapshots—with observational street photography for a heightened, humorous take on reality. For his series Midtown Lunch, the New York-based photographer captured images of people on their lunch breaks in Midtown Manhattan, resulting in photographs of fast food, smoke breaks, and being lost in the shuffle—that hover somewhere between observation and production.

Plakatkampagne Frühjahr 2018

 

2018 präsentiert das HKW wieder ein umfangreiches Programm. Die Plakatkampagne von NODE Berlin Oslo greift Themen der kommenden Monate auf. Ab dem 5. Februar ist sie in Berlin zu sehen.

Foto: Monty Kaplan, The man who wasn’t there | © Monty Kaplan

Foto: Monty Kaplan, The man who wasn’t there | © Monty Kaplan

Den Fotografen und ehemaligen Filmemacher Monty Kaplan interessiert besonders der Umgang mit Licht im Wechsel von Jahres- und Tageszeiten. Sein Bild The man who wasn’t there dokumentiert einen flüchtigen Moment: Der im Foto als Schatten zu sehende Wachmann hält auf seinem Rundgang für einen kurzen Augenblick inne, als die Sonne vor der Skyline der Upper East Side in Manhattan zu sinken beginnt. Monty Kaplan lebt in Buenos Aires und Miami.

Foto: Tom Callemin: Man with child, 2013 | © Tom Callemin

Foto: Tom Callemin: Man with child, 2013 | © Tom Callemin

Die Arbeit von Tom Callemin zeichnet sich aus durch hyperreale Szenarios, die er in Schwarz-Weiß in Szene setzt. Seine im Studio minutiös vorbereiteten Fotografien inszeniert er in einem theatralen Setting vor komplett schwarzem Hintergrund – alles ist in Dunkelheit gehüllt, der Blitz der Kamera wird beinahe zum Angriff auf die Modelle. Statt Ereignissen, die Bildern zugrunde liegen, interessiert ihn vielmehr das Ikonische der Bilder, das sich in den Erinnerungen der Betrachter*innen manifestiert. Tom Callemin lebt in Gent.

Foto: Chris Maggio, aus der Serie Midtown Lunch | © Chris Maggio

Foto: Chris Maggio, aus der Serie Midtown Lunch | © Chris Maggio

Chris Maggio vereint Ästhetiken des Mainstream-Internets – Memes, Werbung und Social Media-Schnappschüsse – mit beobachtender Straßenfotografie zu einem übersteigerten, humorvollen Blick auf die Realität. Für seine Serie Midtown Lunch fing der in New York lebende Fotograf Momentaufnahmen von Menschen in ihrer Mittagspause in Midtown Manhattan ein: Bilder von Fast Food, Raucherpausen und dem Untergehen in der Masse, die sich zwischen Beobachtung und Inszenierung bewegen.