intercalations: paginated exhibition

Intercalations | Publication series

Intercalations | Publication series

This exhibition series in paperback format was developed in collaboration with Anna-Sophie Springer and Etienne Turpin for the SYNAPSE curators' network and is published as both paperbacks and web-based open access publications. The series provokes questions about the validity of seeming categorical binaries such as culture and nature, human and non-human, subject and object, book and exhibition.

Edited by Anna-Sophie Springer and Etienne Turpin
intercalations: a paginated exhibition series is published in cooperation with K. Verlag, made possible by Schering Stiftung

These Birds of Temptation

Volume 6, 2021

... a queer refrain, populated with both acoustical lines of flight and the sorrows of captivity, wherein the reader-as-exhibition-viewer learns that the adventure of ornithology is as preoccupied with the evolutionary meaning of allopreening among avifauna as it is with their taxonomical domination.
More about the book

Decapitated Economies

Volume 5, 2021

... a book of provocations wherein the reader-as-exhibition-viewer learns that the “head,” despite its interminable rule over the body, necessarily underestimates the sophistication of corporeal desire when such desire is unleashed in accord with the principles of a general economy.
More about the book

The Word for World is Still Forest

Volume 4, 2017

... creates a space for the reader-as-exhibition-viewer to consider how forests may be seen not only for their trees, but also how they can enable experiences of elegance, affirmation and creation for a multitude of creatures; in response to their violent destruction, which characterizes the Anthropocene, these pages traverse various woodlands by way of their semiotic, socio-political, historical and epistemic incitements in order to reveal how practices of care, concern and attention also enable humans to inhabit and flourish in this world as forest.
More about the book

Reverse Hallucinations in the Archipelago

Volume 3, 2017

… unfolds an itinerant encounter with nineteenth-century European naturalists in the Malay Archipelago, where the theory of evolution by natural selection emerged alongside less celebrated concerns about mass extinction and climate change; by re-considering the reverse hallucinatory condition of colonial science in the tropics—how scientists learned to not see what was manifestly present—the reader-as-exhibition-viewer may exhume from the remains of this will to knowledge an ethical conviction of particular relevance for confronting forms of neocolonization in the Anthropocene.
More about the book

Land & Animal & Nonanimal

Volume 2, 2015

… a lively ensemble arguing that the meaning of the Anthropocene is less a geological re-formation than it is trans-formation of modern-colonial categories of live and non-life; once exposed to some of the parameters defining this transition, the reader-as-exhibition-viewer may begin to discern erratic rhythms generated by the creatures of nonconformity that inhabit, with their violence, struggles and love, the vast, biochemic wanderer called Earth.
More about the book

Fantasies of the Library

Volume 1, 2015

... an unruly sequence of pages wherein the reader-as-exhibition-viewer learns, rather surprisingly – but with growing conviction – that the library is not only a bibliological imaginary, but that its curatorial potential is also a fertile territory for the exploration of paginated affairs in the Anthropocene.
More about the book

intercalations: paginated exhibition

Intercalations | Publikationsreihe

Intercalations | Publikationsreihe

Diese Ausstellungsreihe im Taschenbuchformat wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Anna-Sophie Springer und Etienne Turpin für das Kuratoren-Netzwerk SYNAPSE entwickelt und erscheint als Taschenbuch sowie als webbasierte Open-Access-Publikation. Scheinbar binäre Kategorien wie Kultur/Natur, menschlich/nichtmenschlich, Subjekt/Objekt, Buch/Ausstellung werden in dieser Reihe untersucht und in Frage gestellt.

Herausgegeben von Anna-Sophie Springer und Etienne Turpin
intercalations: a paginated exhibition erscheint in Kooperation mit K. Verlag, gefördert von Schering Stiftung

These Birds of Temptation

Band 6, 2021

... ein queerer Refrain, beflügelt von akustischen Flugbahnen und dem Kummer der Gefangenschaft, zwitschert zur lesenden Ausstellungsbetrachtung, dass es beim Abenteuer der Ornithologie vor allem um das Balzen und die Gefiederpflege der Avifauna geht – oder um ihr Schicksal als ausgestopfte Objekte taxonomischer Hierarchien.
Mehr zum Buch

Decapitated Economies

Band 5, 2021

... einige Provokationen, die bei lesender Ausstellungsbetrachtung zeigen, dass der Kopf, trotz seiner unbestreitbaren Macht über die Physis, notwendigerweise die Kompliziertheit körperlicher Gelüste immer dann unterschätzt, sobald diese im Einklang mit Prinzipien einer allgemeinen Ökonomie freigesetzt werden.
Mehr zum Buch

The Word for World is Still Forest

Band 4, 2017

... schafft einen Raum, der bei lesender Ausstellungsbetrachtung zum Nachdenken darüber anregt, wie Wälder nicht nur wegen ihrer Bäume betrachtet werden können, sondern auch, wie sie Erfahrungen von Eleganz, Affirmation und Schöpfung für eine Vielzahl von Lebewesen ermöglichen; als Antwort auf ihre gewaltsame Zerstörung im Anthropozän, durchqueren die Buchseiten verschiedene Wälder anhand ihrer semiotischen, soziopolitischen, historischen und epistemischen Anreize, um aufzuzeigen, wie Praktiken der Fürsorge, Sorge und Aufmerksamkeit es auch den Menschen ermöglichen, in dieser Welt als Wald zu leben und zu gedeihen.
Mehr zum Buch

Reverse Hallucinations in the Archipelago

Band 3, 2017

… vollzieht eine wandernde Begegnung mit europäischen Naturforscher*innen des 19. Jahrhunderts im malaiischen Archipel, wo sich die Evolutionstheorie durch natürliche Selektion parallel zu dem weniger umjubelten Artensterben und Klimawandel entwickelte. Durch eine erneute Betrachtung des umgekehrten halluzinatorischen Zustands der Kolonialwissenschaft in den Tropen – wie Wissenschaftler*innen lernten, nicht zu sehen, was offensichtlich war – lässt sich bei lesender Ausstellungsbetrachtung aus den Überresten dieses Willens eine ethische Überzeugung von besonderer Relevanz für die Konfrontation mit Formen der Neokolonisierung im Anthropozän erkennen.
Mehr zum Buch

Land & Animal & Nonanimal

Band 2, 2015

... eine lebhafte Sammlung von Beiträgen, für die das Anthropozäns weniger eine geologische Neuformierung als vielmehr eine Transformation der modern-kolonialen Kategorien von Leben und Nicht-Leben bedeutet. Sobald man bei lesender Ausstellungsbetrachtung einigen der Parameter ausgesetzt ist, die diesen Übergang definieren, lassen sich erratische Rhythmen erkennen, die von den Kreaturen der Nonkonformität erzeugt werden, die mit ihrer Gewalt, ihren Kämpfen und ihrer Liebe den riesigen, biochemischen Wanderer namens Erde bewohnen.
Mehr zum Buch

Fantasies of the Library

Band 1, 2015

... eine widerspenstige Abfolge von Buchseiten, in der sich bei lesender Ausstellungsbetrachtung eher überraschend – aber mit wachsender Überzeugung – erschließt, dass die Bibliothek nicht nur ein bibliologischer Imaginationsraum, sondern dass ihr kuratorisches Potential auch ein fruchtbares Territorium für die Erforschung paginierter Angelegenheiten im Anthropozän ist.
Mehr zum Buch