Spot on: Fashion

A new format for young fashion design

Exhibition, Discussion, Video

With the new series of events SPOT ON: FASHION, the Haus der Kulturen der Welt focuses for the first time in 2010 on the creative potential of up and coming international fashion designers living in Berlin.

Berlin is regarded as the European fashion city of the new millennium: radical streetwear, young, ateliers operating transnationally, high-quality hybrid design inspired by the transformative power of the metropolis. With the new series of events SPOT ON: FASHION, the Haus der Kulturen der Welt focuses for the first time in 2010 on the creative potential of up and coming international fashion designers living in Berlin. Aside from showing new fashion, we will look at such issues as concept development, innovations in materials and current changes in the market that commercial formats rarely take into account.


Beyond the presentations, creative processes ranging from choice of subject to the finished design will be made transparent and comprehensible: as innovative exhibition, performance and video works. Participants include Berlin-based schools and universities with professional fashion design programs and international experts in the fields of design, philosophy, sociology and material development. The architecture of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt creates as a new space for innovative, non-commercial fashion presentations, where Berliners can network with the international scene.


The following schools in Berlin are participating:

MDH – Mediadesign Hochschule: 28.-30. May 2010

ESMOD: 6.-7. July 2010

Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee: 9.-11. July 2010

HTW – Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin: 5.-7. November 2010

Lette-Verein Berlin: 26.-28. November 2010


In cooperation with the Berlin fashion schools ESMOD, HTW – Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, Kunsthochschule Berlin- Weißensee, Lette-Verein Berlin, MDH – Mediadesign Hochschule.

Mode macht Schule

Ein neues Format für junges Modedesign

Ausstellung, Diskussion, Video

Mit der neuen Veranstaltungsreihe MODE MACHT SCHULE wird das Haus der Kulturen der Welt 2010 erstmals konzentriert das kreative Potenzial angehender Berliner Modemacher internationaler Herkunft sichtbar machen.


Berlin gilt als die europäische Modestadt der 00er-Jahre des neuen Jahrtausends: radikale Streetwear, junge, transnational agierende Ateliers, hochwertiges hybrides Design, inspiriert von der Transformationskraft der Metropole. Mit der neuen Veranstaltungsreihe MODE MACHT SCHULE wird das Haus der Kulturen der Welt 2010 erstmals konzentriert das kreative Potenzial angehender Berliner Modemacher internationaler Herkunft sichtbar machen. Neben der Präsentation neuer Mode werden Themen und Aspekte wie Konzeptentwicklung, Materialinnovationen und gegenwärtige Veränderungen des Markts verhandelt, die in kommerziellen Darstellungsformen kaum Berücksichtigung finden.


Über die Präsentationen hinaus werden Entwicklungsprozesse von der Themenstellung bis zum fertigen Entwurf transparent und nachvollziehbar: Als innovative Ausstellung, Performance- oder Videoarbeiten. Dazu eingeladen sind Berliner Schulen und Hochschulen, die in Modeberufen ausbilden, sowie internationale Experten aus den Bereichen Design, Philosophie, Soziologie und Materialentwicklung. Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt schafft damit in seiner für die Diskussion von Designprojekten prädestinierten Architektur einen neuen Raum für innovative, nicht-kommerzielle Modepräsentationen, in dem sich die Berliner mit der internationalen Szene vernetzt.


2010 präsentieren sich die folgenden Schulen aus Berlin:

MDH – Mediadesign Hochschule: 28.-30. Mai 2010

ESMOD: 6.-7. Juli 2010

Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee: 9.-11. Juli 2010

HTW – Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin: 5.-7. November 2010

Lette-Verein Berlin: 26.-28. November 2010


In Kooperation mit den Berliner Modeschulen ESMOD, HTW – Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee, Lette-Verein Berlin, MDH – Mediadesign Hochschule.