Participants „Ten years of 9/11“

DAY 1 | DAY 2

Leila Ahmed, Victor S. Thomas Professor of Divinity at Harvard Divinity School, was appointed as the first professor of Women’s Studies in Religion at Harvard Divinity School in 1999. Prior to this appointment she was professor of Women’s Studies and Near Eastern Studies at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst. Her seminal book Women and Gender in Islam: Historical Roots of a Modern Debate appeared in 1992; the work explores both historical and contemporary debates about gender in the Arab world. Her current research concentrates on Islam in America in conjunction with issues of gender and the perception of Muslim women. In 1999 her highly regarded book A Border Passage was published, in which Ahmed recounts her childhood and youth in Egypt and her life as an immigrant in the USA. Her most recent book is A Quiet Revolution. The Veil’s Resurgence, from the Middle East to America (2011, Yale Press University).

Manan Ahmed is Junior Professor of Islam in South and Southeast Asia at the Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies (Free University Berlin). His research interests lie in contestations in memory and history of Islam's arrival in South Asia. His areas of specialization include early Islamic conquests, medieval South Asia, Islam in South Asia, Pakistan and digital Humanities. He received his PhD from the University of Chicago in 2008. He also is a member of the steering committee of "Zukunftsphilologie: Revisiting the Canons of Textual Scholarship", a project at the Forum Transregionale Studien. He currently is revising his manuscript, The Many Histories of Muhammad b. Qasim: Narrating the Muslim Conquest of Sindh, for publication. He has authored numerous review essays as well as much political and historical commentary on the state of Pakistan in mass media. Manan Ahmed blogs under the sobriquet “sepoy”. A collection of his essays and comments from his blog ”Chapati Mystery" has just been published under the title Where the Wild Frontiers Are: Pakistan and the American Imagination.

Sinan Antoon is a poet, novelist, translator and assistant professor at New York University. He earned his doctorate in Arabic and Islamic studies from Harvard in 2006. He was fellow of the Berlin research program "Europe in the Middle East – the Middle East in Europe" in 2008/09. His articles (in Arabic and English) have appeared in as-Safir, al-Akhbar, al-Adab, Masharef and Journal of Palestine Studies, The Nation, al-Ahram Weekly, and The New York Times. He is a member of the editorial committee of Middle East Report, and a co-founder and cultural editor of the online magazine Jadaliyya (Dialectic). He has published two collections of poetry in Arabic and two novels, the first of which, I'jaam (Beirut 2003) was translated into five languages, including German in 2009 (Irakische Rhapsodie). Antoon co-produced and co-directed the documentary film About Baghdad (2004). His translation of Mahmoud Darwish's In the Presence of Absence was published in 2011.

Sawsan Chebli studied political science at the Freie Universität Berlin with a focus on international relations and worked in the German Bundestag for six years as a foreign policy advisor. Since 2007, she has been a member of the Körber Network Foreign Policy of the Körber Foundation. Since 2009 she is Associate Fellow of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik (German Council on Foreign Affairs). She co-founded the Deutsch-Arabische Freundschaftsgesellschaft (Society for German-Arab Friendship) and currently serves as advisor on intercultural affairs at the Ministry of the Interior and Sports of the State of Berlin.

James Der Derian is professor for International Relations at Brown University’s Watson Institute and has focused on the impact of technology, media, and terrorism on global security. He leads the research initiative “Global Engagement through Innovative Media”, which is funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. His most recently published books are Virtuous War: Mapping the Military-Industrial-Media-Entertainment Network (2nd ed. 2009) and Critical Practices in International Theory (2009). Der Derian has produced a number of documentaries, among them After 9/11 (2003) and Human Terrain (2010). As this year’s fellow of the American Academy in Berlin he is researching US military’s campaign to involve America’s leading academics in US military counterinsurgency efforts, particularly in Iraq and Afghanistan. He was recently awarded the Bosch Berlin Prize in Public Policy by the American Academy in Berlin.

Detlev Ganten is chairman of the board of trustees of the Charité Foundation Berlin. He studied medicine in Würzburg, Montpellier and Tübingen and conducted research in Montreal, Canada, for several years. He was subsequently appointed professor at Heidelberg. Between 1991 and 2004 he built up the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) in Berlin-Buch as its founding director. From 2004 to 2008 he was chairman of the board of directors of the Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, the joint public medical institution of the Humboldt University and the Free University of Berlin. He has received many awards in recognition of his work both at home and abroad. He is a member of various German and international learned societies and academies.

Luca Giuliani has been rector of the Institute for Advanced Study in Berlin (Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin) and professor of Classical Archaeology at the Humboldt University of Berlin since 2007. Prior to taking up the reins at the Institute, he had already twice been a fellow there and a member of its Academic Advisory Board. He joined the university after many years at the National Museums in Berlin, also teaching in Freiburg, Heidelberg, Munich and Paris. In 2010 Giuliani was awarded the Sigmund Freud Prize for Science Writing. He published Bild und Mythos: Zur Bilderzählung in der griechischen Kunst in 2003 and, most recently, Ein Geschenk für den Kaiser: Das Geheimnis des Großen Kameo (2009).

Ibrahim Helal ran the newsroom of the news channel Al Jazeera Arabic from July 2001 to April 2004, and was responsible for its coverage of 9/11 and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. In the following two years Helal directed a BBC training program for journalists and media organizations from the Middle East. He was deputy managing director at Al Jazeera English from 2006 to 2010 and, since then, has led the editorial development of the Al Jazeera Network in Doha, Qatar.

Tom Holert is professor at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna, where he teaches and researches on the subject of art as knowledge production. An art historian and critic, he has lived in Vienna and Berlin since completing his studies in art history, modern German literary criticism and philosophy. He was previously editor of Texte zur Kunst (Cologne), co-publisher of the magazine Spex and, in 2000, co-founded the Institute for Studies in Visual Culture (isvc) alongside Mark Terkessidis. His most recent publications include Regieren im Bildraum (2008) and, co-edited with Marion von Osten, Das Erziehungsbild: Zur visuellen Kultur des Pädagogischen (2010).

Hans-Ulrich Klose is vice chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the German Bundestag (the federal Parliament) since 2002 and chairman of the German-American Parliamentary Group. He studied law and worked as public prosecutor in Hamburg, where his political career also started; he became mayor of the city in 1974. Having stepped down as mayor in 1981, he was elected to the Bundestag in 1983 and still represents his constituency for the Social Democratic Party (SPD). He has held several offices during his work in the Bundestag, such as SPD treasurer, chairman of the SPD Parliamentary Group and vice president of the Bundestag. Klose has published three volumes of poetry.

Andrian Kreye is one of the two editors of the Feuilleton at the Süddeutsche Zeitung and the author of several books. He lived in New York from 1988 until 2006, where he worked for six years as correspondent for the Süddeutsche Zeitung. From there, his international assignments also led him to South America, Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

Cristina Nord is film critic for the art section of the Berlin daily newspaper die tageszeitung. She also writes for Der Standard, Cargo, Kolik Film and other publications. Nord teaches film criticism at the Free University of Berlin. She has produced several episodes of Filmtips for the WDR, including one on Brokeback Mountain (2006) and Yella (2007). In 2005 she received the award for Visual Film Criticism from the German Society of Cinematographers and the professional journal Film & TV Kameramann.

Thomas Risse is professor of International Politics and director of the Center for Transnational Relations, Foreign and Security Policy at the Otto Suhr Institute for Political Science of the Free University of Berlin, as well as co-ordinator of the Research Center “Governance in Areas of Limited Statehood”, funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG). His research interests include the theory of International Relations as well as problems of transnational governance and of governance in areas of limited statehood.

Bernd M. Scherer is the director of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt. A philosopher and author of numerous publications on aesthetics and international cultural exchange, he came to the Haus der Kulturen der Welt from the Goethe Institute, where he was director of the Goethe Institute Mexico from 1999 to 2004 and subsequently director of the Arts Department at the Institute’s head office in Munich. In taking up the directorship of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, he returns to an institution whose development he had already helped shape decisively between 1994 and 1999 as head of the Department of Humanities and Culture and as deputy director. Since the start of 2011 he has been honorary professor of European Ethnology at the Humboldt University Berlin.

Jürgen Zöllner has been the state of Berlin’s senator for Education, Science and Research since November 2006. He had previously been professor at the University of Mainz from 1977. He became the university’s vice president in 1983 and its president in 1990. His appointment as minister for Science and Further Education of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate followed in May 1991. He served as minister for Education, Science and Further Education from 1994 until 2001 and subsequently as minister for Science, Further Education, Research and Culture until November 2006.

DAY 1 | DAY 2

Teilnehmer „Zehn Jahre 9/11“

TAG 1 | TAG 2

Leila Ahmed, Victor S. Thomas Professor of Divinity at Harvard Divinity School, wurde 1999 als erste Professorin für den Fachbereich „Women's Studies in Religion“ an die Harvard Divinity School berufen. Zuvor leitete sie als Professorin die Programme „Women's Studies“ und „Near Eastern Studies“ an der University of Massachusetts-Amherst. 1992 erschien Ahmeds wegweisendes Werk Women and Gender in Islam: Historical Roots of a Modern Debate, das historische und aktuelle Geschlechterdebatten in der arabischen Welt aufgreift. Gegenwärtig konzentriert sie sich in ihrer Forschung auf die Thematik des Islam in Amerika, verbunden mit der Geschlechterthematik und der Wahrnehmung muslimischer Frauen. In ihrem 1999 erschienenen und viel beachteten Buch A Border Passage, berichtet Ahmed von ihrer Kindheit und Jugend in Ägypten und ihrem Leben als Immigrantin in den USA. Ihr neuestes Buch, A Quiet Revolution. The Veil’s Resurgence, from the Middle East to America ist 2011 in der Yale University Press erschienen.

Manan Ahmed ist Juniorprofessor für die Geschichte des islamischen Südasiens an der Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures (Freie Universität Berlin). Sein Forschungsinteresse konzentriert sich auf Fragen der Historiographie und der Erinnerungspolitik hinsichtlich der Ankunft und Verortung des Islams in Südasien. Seine Spezialisierung umfasst die frühen islamischen Eroberungen, das mittelalterliche Südasien, den Islam in Südasien, Pakistan sowie die „Digital Humanities". Ahmed promovierte 2008 an der University of Chicago. Er ist zudem Mitglied der wissenschaftlichen Projektleitung von „Zukunftsphilologie: Revisiting the Canons of Textual Scholarship", einem Projekt am Forum Transregionale Studien. Derzeit bereitet Manan Ahmed sein Buchmanuskript The Many Histories of Muhammad b. Qasim: Narrating the Muslim Conquest of Sindh für die Veröffentlichung vor. Er hat zahlreiche Essays. Kommentare und Rezensionen zu politischen und wissenschaftlichen Fragen in amerikanischen und südasiatischen Zeitungen und Zeitschriften veröffentlicht. Manan Ahmed bloggt unter dem Namen „Sepoy“. Eine Sammlung mit Essays und Kommentaren von seinem Blog „Chapati Mystery“ wurde soeben unter dem Titel Where the Wild Frontiers Are: Pakistan and the American Imagination veröffentlicht.

Sinan Antoon ist Dichter, Romanautor, Übersetzer und Assistenzprofessor an der New York University. Er promovierte 2006 in Arabistik und Islamwissenschaften an der Harvard University. 2008/09 war er Fellow des Berliner Forschungsprogramms „Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa“. Seine Texte (auf Arabisch und Englisch) sind in as-Safir, al-Akhbar, al-Adab, Masharef, im Journal of Palestine Studies, in The Nation, al-Ahram Weekly, and The New York Times erschienen. Er ist Mitglied des Redaktionsausschusses des Middle East Report sowie Mitbegründer und Kulturredakteur des Internet-Magazins Jadaliyya (Dialektik). Er hat zwei Gedichtbände auf Arabisch und zwei Romane veröffentlicht – ersterer l’jaam (Beirut 2003) wurde in fünf Sprachen übersetzt, u.a. im Jahr 2009 auf Deutsch (Irakische Rhapsodie). Antoon ist Ko-Produzent und Ko-Regisseur des Dokumentarfilms About Baghdad (2004). Seine Übersetzung von Mahmoud Darwishs In the Presence of Absence wurde 2011 veröffentlicht.

Fadi A. Bardawil studierte Soziologie an der American University in Beirut und promovierte in Anthropologie an der Columbia University. Er ist derzeit Fellow von „Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa“, einem gemeinsamen Forschungsprogramm der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung und dem Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. Er arbeitet an einer Monographie, die auf seiner Dissertation When All that is Revolution Melts into Air: The Disenchantment of Leftist Levantine Intellectuals aufbaut. In dieser Studie untersucht Fadi Bardawil den Zusammenbruch marxistischen Denkens und marxistischer Praxis in der Levante anhand des intellektuellen und politischen Werdegangs einer (um 1940 geborenen) Generation prominenter Intellektueller. Die Arbeit erforscht die ideologischen Veränderungen in der Region, das vieldiskutierte Verhältnis von Intellektuellen gegenüber politischer Militanz und die wechselnden Verschränkungen großstädtischer westlicher Gebiete kultureller Produktion mit dezentral gelegenen arabischen Gebieten. Seine jüngste Publikation ist der Essay Sunken Mythologies (Jadaliyya, 2011), in dem er sich gegen kulturalistische Begründungen wendet, die die inhärenten „Probleme“ der arabischen Welt auf „Kultur“ und „Religion“ zurückführen.

Sawsan Chebli hat an der Freien Universität in Berlin Politikwissenschaft mit dem Schwerpunkt „Internationale Beziehungen“ studiert und arbeitete sechs Jahre im Deutschen Bundestag als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin. Seit 2007 ist Sawsan Chebli Mitglied im Körber Netzwerk Außenpolitik der Körber Stiftung. Im Jahr 2009 wurde sie als Associate Fellow in die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik aufgenommen. Sawsan Chebli ist Mitbegründerin der Deutsch-Arabischen Freundschaftsgesellschaft und zurzeit als Grundsatzreferentin für interkulturelle Angelegenheiten in der Senatsverwaltung für Inneres und Sport in Berlin tätig.

James Der Derian ist Professor für Internationale Beziehungen am Watson Institute der Brown University Providence und forscht insbesondere zur Wirkung von Technologie, Medien und Terrorismus auf die globale Sicherheit. Er leitet die von der Carnegie Stiftung in New York finanzierte Forschungsinitiative „Global Engagement through Innovative Media“. Sein Buch Virtuous War: Mapping the Military-Industrial-Media-Entertainment Network erschien 2009 in einer aktualisierten zweiten Auflage. Im selben Jahr publizierte er das Buch Critical Practices in International Theory. Der Derian hat verschiedene Dokumentarfilme gedreht, darunter After 9/11 (2003) und Human Terrain (2010). Als diesjähriger Fellow der American Academy in Berlin erforscht Der Derian u. a. die Anstrengungen des amerikanischen Militärs, Akademiker in die strategische Kriegsführung insbesondere im Irak und in Afghanistan einzubeziehen. Erst kürzlich wurde er von der American Academy mit dem Bosch Berlin Preis für Public Policy ausgezeichnet.

Detlev Ganten ist Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Stiftung Charité Berlin. Er studierte Medizin in Würzburg, Montpellier und Tübingen Medizin und forschte mehrere Jahre in Montreal (Kanada). Es folgten Habilitation und Professur in Heidelberg. 1991 bis 2004 baute er als Gründungsdirektor das Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin (MDC) in Berlin-Buch auf. Von 2004 bis 2008 war er Vorstandsvorsitzender der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, ein aus der Fusion von Kliniken der Humboldt-Universität und der Freien Universität entstandenes staatliches medizinisches Großunternehmen. Für seine Arbeit erhielt er zahlreiche Ehrungen im In- und Ausland. Er ist Mitglied in verschiedenen deutschen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaften und Akademien.

Luca Giuliani ist seit 2007 Rektor des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin und Professor für Klassische Archäologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Bevor er die Leitung des Wissenschaftskollegs übernahm, war er dort zweimal Fellow und Mitglied im wissenschaftlichen Beirat. Nach langjähriger Tätigkeit an den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin wechselte er an die Universität und unterrichtete in Freiburg, Heidelberg, München und Paris. 2010 wurde Giuliani mit dem Sigmund Freud Preis für wissenschaftliche Prosa ausgezeichnet. Er publizierte das Buch Bild und Mythos: Zur Bilderzählung in der griechischen Kunst (2003). Zuletzt erschien von ihm Ein Geschenk für den Kaiser. Das Geheimnis des Großen Kameo (2009).

Ibrahim Helal leitete von Juli 2001 bis April 2004 die Nachrichtenredaktion des arabischen Nachrichtensenders Al Jazeera und zeichnete verantwortlich für die Berichterstattung über 9/11 und die Kriegseinsätze in Afghanistan und Irak. Im Anschluss verantwortete Helal für zwei Jahre bei der BBC ein Trainingsprogramm für Journalisten und Medienorganisationen aus dem Nahen Osten. Von 2006 bis 2010 war er stellvertretender Direktor der englischsprachigen Sektion von Al Jazeera und leitet seit 2010 die redaktionelle Entwicklung von Al Jazeera Network in Doha, Katar.

Tom Holert lehrt und forscht zum Thema Kunst als Wissensproduktion als Professor an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. Der Kunsthistoriker und Publizist lebt nach seinem Studium der Kunstgeschichte, Neueren deutschen Literaturwissenschaften und Philosophie in Wien und Berlin. Er war Redakteur von Texte zur Kunst (Köln), Mitherausgeber des Magazins Spex und gründete 2000 mit Mark Terkessidis das Institute for Studies in Visual Culture (isvc). Zu seinen letzten Buchveröffentlichungen zählen Regieren im Bildraum (2008) und Das Erziehungsbild. Zur visuellen Kultur des Pädagogischen (Hg. mit Marion von Osten, 2010).

Andrian Kreye ist einer der beiden Leiter des Feuilletons der Süddeutschen Zeitung und Autor mehrerer Bücher. Von 1988 bis 2006 lebte er in New York und berichtete von dort sechs Jahre lang als Korrespondent der Süddeutschen Zeitung. Seine Auslandseinsätze führten ihn auch nach Lateinamerika, Asien, Afrika und in den Nahen Osten.

Cristina Nord ist Filmredakteurin im Kulturressort der tageszeitung, Berlin, und schreibt außerdem für Der Standard, Cargo, Kolik Film und andere Medien. Nord lehrt Filmkritik an der Freien Universität Berlin. Für den WDR realisierte sie mehrere Sendungen des Filmtips, so u.a. zu Brokeback Mountain (2006) und Yella (2007). 2005 erhielt sie den Preis für Visuelle Filmkritik des Bundesverbandes Kamera und der Fachzeitschrift Film & TV Kameramann.

Thomas Risse ist Professor für internationale Politik und Direktor der Arbeitsstelle Transnationale Beziehungen, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik am Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin und Sprecher des Sonderforschungsbereichs der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) „Governance in Räumen begrenzter Staatlichkeit“. Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen u. a. Theorien der Internationalen Beziehungen und Probleme transnationalen Regierens und des Regierens in Räumen begrenzter Staatlichkeit.

Bernd M. Scherer, Intendant des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt, Philosoph und Autor zahlreicher Veröffentlichungen zu den Themen Ästhetik und internationaler Kulturaustausch, war vor seiner Zeit am Haus der Kulturen der Welt im Goethe-Institut tätig, wo er von 1999 bis 2004 das Landesinstitut Mexikos und anschließend die Zentralabteilung Künste in München leitete. Mit seinem Amtsantritt kehrt er an ein Haus zurück, dessen Entwicklung er schon von 1994 bis 1999 als Leiter des Bereichs Wissenschaft und Kultur und stellvertretender Intendant maßgeblich mitgeprägt hat. Seit Beginn 2011 ist er Honorarprofessor für Europäische Ethnologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

TAG 1 | TAG 2