Biographies of the participants and curators

Gautam Bhan holds a PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, and teaches at the Indian Institute for Human Settlements (IIHS) topics such as urban poverty, development, housing, planning theory and contemporary Indian politics. He is co-Principal Investigator of Re-framing Urban Inclusion, a three-year research project that explores new frameworks in thinking about practices and conceptions of more egalitarian cities in India. He is the co-author of Swept off the Map: Surviving Eviction and Resettlement in Delhi (Yoda Press 2008).

Ilana Feldman is an Associate Professor of Anthropology, History, and International Affairs at George Washington University. She is the author of Governing Gaza: Bureaucracy, Authority, and the Work of Rule, 1917-67 (Duke University Press, 2008) and In the Name of Humanity: The Government of Threat and Care (Duke University, 2010; co-edited with Miriam Ticktin). Her current research traces the Palestinian experience with humanitarianism in the years since 1948, exploring both how this aid apparatus has shaped Palestinian social and political life and how the Palestinian experience has influenced the broader post-war humanitarian regime.

Sandi Hilal and Alessandro Petti are both architects and researchers in urbanism, members of DAAR, an architectural office and an artistic residency program that combines conceptual speculations and architectural interventions. DAAR was awarded the Prince Claus Award for architecture and the Foundation for Arts Initiative Grant in 2010, was shortlisted for the Iakov Chernikhov Prize in the same year, and showed in various biennales and museums around the world ( decolonizing.ps ). Alongside research and practice, Hilal and Petti are engaged in critical pedagogy. They are founding members of “Campus in Camps” an experimental educational program by Al Quds University hosted by the Phoenix Center in Dheisheh refugee camp Bethlehem
( campusincamps.ps ).

Elena Isayev is a Senior Lecturer of Classics and Ancient History at the University of Exeter. She is a historian and archaeologist who uses the ancient Mediterranean as a way to explore questions about society, belonging and migration. She has worked with artists, architects, and refugees in Palestine in interdisciplinary projects. She is also the Principal Investigator on the project De-Placing Future Memory, with the AHRC Beyond Text scheme. Her current research is towards the publication of a monograph, Migration, Mobility, and Place, Relational Paradigms from Ancient Italy (forthcoming 2015).

Omar Nagati is a practicing architect and urban planner who currently lives in Cairo. Having studied at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, and the University of California Berkeley, Nagati adopts an interdisciplinary approach to urban history and design, and engages in a comparative analysis of the question of urban informality in developing countries. He teaches part-time Urban Design Studio at the MSA University in Giza and has recently cofounded CLUSTER, a new platform for critical urban research and design initiatives in downtown Cairo.

Pelin Tan is a sociologist and art historian. She received a PhD in art history from the Istanbul Technical University with a thesis on “Locality as a Discursive Concept in Recent Socially Engaged Practice.” She is currently associate professor and vice-dean of the Architecture Faculty at Mardin Artuklu University. She has contributed to numerous publications, amongst others The Ethics of Locality: Urban Commons and The Unconditional Hospitality and Threshold Architecture (dpr barcelona -2014) and Arazi (Critical Spatial Practice Serie- Sternberg Press 2015).

Biographien der Teilnehmer und Kuratoren

Gautam Bhan hat seinen Doktor an der University of California, Berkeley, abgelegt und lehrt am Indian Institute for Human Settlements (IIHS), wo er sich mit den Themen urbaner Armut, Entwicklung, Wohnungswesen, Planungstheorie und zeitgenössicher Politik in Indien beschäftigt. Als verantwortlicher Wissenschaftler ist er an dem auf drei Jahre angelegten Forschungsprojekt Re-framing Urban Inclusion beteiligt, das neue Rahmenbedingungen zu Konzeptionen und Praktiken für egalitärere Städte in Indien auslotet. Bhan ist Mitverfasser von Swept off the Map: Surviving Eviction and Resettlement in Delhi (Yoda Press 2008).

Ilana Feldman ist Professorin für Anthropologie, Geschichte und Internationale Studien an der George Washington University. Sie hat unter anderem Governing Gaza: Bureaucracy, Authority, and the Work of Rule, 1917-67 (Duke University Press, 2008) und In the Name of Humanity: The Government of Threat and Care (Duke University, 2010; hg. mit Miriam Ticktin) veröffentlicht. In ihren aktuellen Forschungen widmet sie sich der Erfahrung der Palästinenser mit humanitärer Hilfe seit 1948 und untersucht auf der einen Seite, wie diese Hilfsmaschinerie das palästinensische soziale und politische Leben geprägt hat, und auf der anderen, wie die palästinensische Erfahrung den weiteren Bereich der humanitären Hilfe beeinflusst hat.

Sandi Hilal und Alessandro Petti sind Architekten und forschen gemeinsam im Bereich des Städtebaus und der Stadtentwicklung. Sie sind Mitbegründer von DAAR – Architekturbüro und Künstler-Residency-Programm – das konzeptionelle Spekulationen und architektonische Interventionen kombiniert. DAAR hat 2010 den Prince Claus Award für Architektur und den Foundation for Arts Initiative Grant gewonnen, war im selben Jahr auf der Shortlist für den Iakov Chernikhov Prize und ist weiterhin mit unterschiedlichen Projekten auf Biennalen und in Museen überall auf der Welt vertreten ( decolonizing.ps ). Hilal und Petti engagieren sich auch in kritischer Pädagogik; sie sind Gründungsmitglieder von „Campus in Camps“, einem experimentellen Bildungsprogramm der Al Quds University, präsentiert vom Phoenix Center im Dheisheh Flüchtlingscamp, Bethlehem ( campusincamps.ps ).

Elena Isayev ist Dozentin für Klassische und Antike Geschichte an der University of Exeter. Als Historikerin und Archäologin dient ihr der Mittelmeerraum der Antike als Ausgangspunkt, um Fragen zur Gesellschaft, Zugehörigkeit und Migration zu erforschen. Sie hat in interdisziplinären Projekten mit Künstlern, Architekten und Flüchtlingen in Palästina gearbeitet. Al Hauptverantwortliche forscht sie in dem Projekt De-Placing Future Memory, mit dem AHRC-Programm Beyond Text. Aktuell arbeitet sie an der Monografie Migration, Mobility, and Place, Relational Paradigms from Ancient Italy (wird 2015 erscheinen).

Omar Nagati arbeitet als Architekt und Stadtplaner in Kairo. Er hat an der University of British Columbia, Vancouver, und an der University of California, Berkeley, studiert und verfolgt in seiner Arbeit einen interdisziplinären Ansatz in Stadtgeschichte und -gestaltung; er zieht für seine Forschung zudem Theorien der vergleichenden Analyse heran und beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der Informalität von Städten in Entwicklungsländern. Nagati lehrt am Urban Design Studio der MSA University in Giza und hat erst kürzlich CLUSTER, eine Plattform für kritische Stadtforschung und Gestaltungsinitiativen in Kairo, mitbegründet.

Pelin Tan ist Soziologin und Kunsthistorikerin. Sie hat ihren Doktor in Kunstgeschichte an der Istanbul Technical University zu dem Thema “Locality as a Discursive Concept in Recent Socially Engaged Practice” abgelegt. Zurzeit arbeitet sie als Dozentin und Vize-Dekanin an der Fakultät für Architektur der Mardin Artuklu University. Ihre Texte wurden in zahlreichen Publikation veröffentlicht, unter anderem in The Ethics of Locality: Urban Commons and The Unconditional Hospitality and Threshold Architecture (dpr barcelona -2014) und Arazi (Critical Spatial Practice Serie- Sternberg Press 2015).