Thematic Currents

Former West. Documents, Constellations, Prospects

Former West: Documents, Constellations, Prospects is organized into five currents. Each day, students are involved in Learning Place realized in collaboration with international cultural institutes, universities, and art academies - folded into contemporary negotiations on Art Production, Infrastructure, and Insurgent Cosmopolitanism. In addition, Dissident Knowledges contributions propose dynamic interventions into the ongoing program with artworks, performances, and statements.

Art Production
The gap that has traditionally existed between artistic and non-artistic labor is increasingly narrowing, with artistic labor becoming more representative of society’s functioning as a whole. As the Internet has become the main worksite for art production and thus has become controllable in ways it never was before, this current raises new questions concerning the political dimensions of art and the role of the artist in contemporary society.
Conceptualized by Boris Groys

When we in the West, or in the industrialized, technologized societies, congratulate ourselves on having a well-functioning infrastructure, we forget the degree to which these have become protocols that bind and confine us in their demand to be conserved and resisted. In recognition of the need to think far beyond the models of organizational structures needed for the operation of a society or institution, this current offers a starting point from which to develop new pathways to understand infrastructure.
Conceptualized by Irit Rogoff

Insurgent Cosmopolitanism
Our comprehension of the polity has long been centered on the assumption of a consensual political contract between citizen and state. Recent insurgent upheavals, however, have unmasked this consensus as fiction, retrieving the ideal of cosmopolitanism as an active and critical strategy that sets itself against the grain of national(ist) restrictions. This current explores the continuing presence of a revolutionary hope of achieving solidarity through identifying points of affinity, shared criticality, and common affirmation.
Conceptualized by Ranjit Hoskote

Dissident Knowledges
Defying conventional fictions and their established doctrines and institutions requires tapping into knowledges that offer new archives from which to read our contemporary moment. Often kept hidden in the cracks of our attention economy, this current uncovers and formulates knowledges that, by being at once embedded and excluded, have the power to both resist the known and propose new imaginaries of how things could be otherwise.
Conceptualized by Maria Hlavajova und Kathrin Rhomberg

Learning Place
During a week-long educational performance around 150 students from institutes around the world engage on topics such as the commodification of knowledge, critique of creativity, and functioning of edu-industries in today’s cognitive capitalism. Learning Place sets out to strip the dominant educational practice of its self-evident normality and so foster its critique and necessary transformation. more...
Conceptualized by Boris Buden

Fr 24.–So 26.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr...

Thematische Strömungen

Former West. Dokumente, Konstellationen, Ausblicke

Das Berliner Kapitel des Projekts – FORMER WEST: Dokumente, Konstellationen, Ausblicke – ist um fünf thematische Strömungen herum angeordnet. Jeden Tag können Studierende den Learning Place besuchen, realisiert in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Kulturorganisationen, Universitäten und Kunstakademien. Art Production, Infrastructure und Insurgent Cosmopolitanism stehen im Mittelpunkt aktueller Diskussionen und Verhandlungen. Dissident Knowledges schließlich versprechen dynamische Interventionen ins laufende Programm: mit Kunstwerken, Performances und kurzen Statements.

Art Production
Die traditionelle Kluft zwischen künstlerischer und nicht-künstlerischer Arbeit schließt sich in dem Maße, als künstlerische Arbeit gesellschaftliche Funktionsweisen insgesamt repräsentiert. Das Internet ist zum Hauptarbeitsplatz der Kunstproduktion und dadurch in bisher nie dagewesener Art und Weise kontrollierbar geworden. Vor diesem Hintergrund wirft Art ProductionFragen nach den politischen Dimensionen von Kunst und der Rolle des Künstlers in der heutigen Gesellschaft auf.
Konzipiert von Boris Groys

Infrastructure
Wenn wir im Westen – bzw. in den industrialisierten, technologisierten Ländern – uns zu unserer gut funktionierenden Infrastruktur beglückwünschen, so vergessen wir oft, wie sehr sie uns einengt durch die Zwänge, sie aufrecht zu erhalten und sich ihr zu widersetzen. Infrastructure entwickelt neue Auffassungen von Infrastruktur ausgehend von der Einsicht, dass wir weit über bisherige Organisationsmodelle für das Funktionieren einer Gesellschaft oder Institution hinaus denken müssen.
Konzipiert von Irit Rogoff

Insurgent Cosmopolitanism
Unsere Vorstellung von Gemeinwesen beruhte lange auf der Annahme eines politischen Einigungsvertrages zwischen Bürgern und Staat. Jüngste Aufstandsbewegungen haben diesen Konsens jedoch als Fiktion entlarvt. Das dadurch wieder erstarkte Ideal eines Weltbürgertums tritt nationalistischen Beschränkungen kritisch-aktiv entgegen. Insurgent Cosmopolitanism widmet sich der anhaltenden revolutionären Hoffnung, Solidarität ließe sich durch verwandte Interessen und Kritikpunkte sowie gegenseitige Bekräftigung herstellen.
Konzipiert von Ranjit Hoskote

Dissident Knowledges
Um sich überkommenen Fiktionen und ihren starren Doktrinen und Institutionen zu widersetzen, braucht es Wissensarchive, aus denen sich der zeitgenössische Moment herauslesen lässt. Oft gelangt dieses Wissen im täglichen Wetteifern um Aufmerksamkeit nicht bis in unser Bewusstsein. Dissident Knowledges spürt solche Wissensformen auf, denn sie bergen die Möglichkeit, sich dem Vertrauten zu widersetzen und neue Vorstellungswelten zu eröffnen.
Konzipiert von Maria Hlavajova und Kathrin Rhomberg

Learning Place
In einer einwöchigen Bildungsperformance arbeiten etwa 150 Studierende aus aller Welt an Themen wie Wissensvermarktung, Kreativitätskritik und Funktionsweisen der Bildungswirtschaft im heutigen kognitiven Kapitalismus. Learning Place stellt die Selbstverständlichkeit der vorherrschenden Bildungspraxis in Frage und gibt Denkanstöße für notwendige Veränderungen. mehr...
Konzipiert von Boris Buden