Things that Matter: The Future Wunderkammer

Valentina Ciarapica, Alessia Rotondo

Things that Matter | © Valentina Ciarapica, Alessia Rotondo

Things that Matter | © Valentina Ciarapica, Alessia Rotondo

What would we like to share with the people of the future about our personal lives? This question lies at the heart of a mysterious video which appears online out of nowhere. Yuri speaks from the future, seeking traces of our contemporary civilization and organizing these items in his Wunderkammer, an astonishing cabinet of curiosities. Since all knowledge about our present era has vanished, the audience is asked to share a significant object of personal value and an accompanying story. An interactive installation will follow the first web version of this collective, intimate story about our times.

Hyperlink to the web-project

Valentina Ciarapica is a Berlin-based Video Editor and Vfx Artist. Her latest works include the arts and media platform ikonoTV, as well as the Centro Sperimentale Mediars and the German transmedia interactive school game Professor S. She has been selected as visual artist for new media and curatorial projects in Italy (Angolazioniurbane), Turkey (Istanbul, European Capital of Culture 2010) and Greece (Biennale Jeunes Créateurs Europe Méditerranée 2011 and Santorini Biennale 2012).

Alessia Rotondo is a writer, mainly a screenwriter, based in Milan. She wrote two radioplays broadcasted by Radio Rai and an animated short movie that will premiere at EXPO Milano 2015. She worked on a non­linear storytelling project at UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television. She is currently working on her first feature film, along with many other different stories.

Things that Matter: The Future Wunderkammer

Valentina Ciarapica, Alessia Rotondo

Things that Matter | © Valentina Ciarapica, Alessia Rotondo

Things that Matter | © Valentina Ciarapica, Alessia Rotondo

Was würden wir mit den Menschen der Zukunft über unser persönliches Leben teilen? Diese Frage liegt einem mysteriösen Video zugrunde, das online aus dem Nichts auftaucht. Yuri spricht aus der Zukunft auf der Suche nach Spuren unserer gegenwärtigen Zivilisation und sammelt diese Gegenstände in seiner Wunderkammer, einem verblüffenden Kuriositätenkabinett. Da jegliches Wissen über unsere gegenwärtige Zeit verschwunden ist, werden die User aufgefordert, ein wichtiges Objekt mit einem persönlichen Wert und einer dazugehörigen Geschichte zu teilen. Eine interaktive Installation wird der ersten Webversion dieser kollektiven, intimen Ge-schichte über unsere Zeit folgen.

Link zum Projekt

Valentina Ciarapica, wohnhaft in Berlin, ist Videoeditorin und Vfx Artist. Ihre letzten Arbeiten umfassen die Kunst und Medien Plattform ikonoTV, sowie das Centro Sperimentale Mediars und das deutsche interaktiv-transmediale Schulspiel Professor S. Als visuelle Künstlerin wurde sie für neue Medien- und Kuratorenprojekte in Italien (Angolazioniurbane), der Türkei (Istanbul, Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2010) und Griechenland (Biennale Jeunes Créateurs Europe Méditerranée 2011 und Santorini Biennale 2012) engagiert.

Alessia Rotondo ist Autorin mit Schwerpunkt Drehbuch und lebt in Milan. Sie schrieb zwei Radiostücke, die von Radio Rai gesendet wurden und einen animierten Kurzfilm, der auf der EXPO Milan 2015 Premiere feiern wird. Sie war an einem nicht-linearen Storytelling Projekt an der UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television beteiligt. Momentan arbeitet sie, neben zahlreichen anderen Projekten, an ihrem ersten Spielfilm.