2015, Thu, Jan 29 — 2015, Sun, Feb 01

Capture All

Curated by Daphne Dragona and Robert Sakrowski

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

Mercenary Cubiclists by Tobias Revell | © Tobias Revell

Mercenary Cubiclists by Tobias Revell | © Tobias Revell

Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc by Jennifer Lyn Morone | © Ilona Gaynor

Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc by Jennifer Lyn Morone | © Ilona Gaynor

We live in an accelerated condition, hurtling towards the datafication of everything. Data collection and processing is now at the core of all elements shaping our society and we as users act as sensors within it.

Capturing data, locating patterns, predicting and optimising behaviours is the new endless loop. The 'capture all' logic leaves little to chance; yet, much is still unknown about how data is used, processed and ultimately valued.

The current ideology of the emerging algorithmic society suggests that data is constantly correlated and controlled in order to ensure security and prosperity, and the dual processes in action make this easy; the optimisation of the self directly connects to the optimisation of networked systems, while the constant datafication of physical and online interactions enables new modes of identification and normalisation. There is something deeply cynical and paradoxical in the dominance of today's algorithmic culture. Isn't the Flash Crash symptomatic of a more general loss of control found in life and work as well?

The 2015 transmediale exhibition, CAPTURE ALL, presents artistic positions that respond to the asymmetries and the misconceptions of a datafying world. The selection, which came together after curatorial research and an open call for works, particularly focuses on the ambiguous relationship and uncanny tension between the user and the algorithm, the self and the constantly evolving apparatus. Can the system still be gamed or has an impasse been reached? Art under algorithmic pressure seems to be pushing back; it appropriates the 'capture all' logic and tests the limits. Accelerating processes of self-commodification, engaging in acts of over-identification, re-channelling and re-purposing the networks' processes and exposing the hidden monstrosity of technical infrastructures, the works on show reflect a spectrum of such artistic practices. Using image recognition apps, lifelogging cameras, biometric diagrams, as well as scores, numbers and correlations, the artists critically discuss, playfully provoke and speculate about the future of algorithmic work and life. The exhibition reflects on the potentiality of excess which, driven from art, allows room for what is still unexpected and beyond capture and measurement.

Artists
Timo Arnall, Art is Open Source [AOS]: Salvatore Iaconesi + Oriana Persico, Zach Blas, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Eastwood – Real Time Strategy Group, LaTurbo Avedon, Jonas Lund, Jennifer Lyn Morone, Tobias Revell, Sebastian Schmieg, Silvio Lorusso, Erica Scourti

Do, 29. Januar 2015 — So, 01. Februar 2015

Capture All

Kuratiert von Daphne Dragona und Robert Sakrowski

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

Invisible by Heather Dewey-Hagborg | © Thomas Dexter

Mercenary Cubiclists by Tobias Revell | © Tobias Revell

Mercenary Cubiclists by Tobias Revell | © Tobias Revell

Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc by Jennifer Lyn Morone | © Ilona Gaynor

Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc by Jennifer Lyn Morone | © Ilona Gaynor

Wir leben in einem Beschleunigungszustand, der mit allumfassender Datafizierung zusammenprallt. Datensammlung und -verarbeitung ist in den Kern aller Bereiche gerückt, die unsere Gesellschaft formen.

Wir Nutzer fungieren hierbei als Sensoren. Eine neue Endlosschleife entsteht: Daten sammeln, Muster erkennen, Verhalten voraussagen und verbessern. Die „Capture All“-Logik überlässt wenig dem Zufall; und doch herrscht oft noch Unklarheit darüber, wie Daten genutzt, verarbeitet und bewertet werden.

In der gegenwärtig entwickelnden algorithmischen Gesellschaft werden Daten vor allem deshalb ständig miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt und kontrolliert, um Sicherheit und Wohlstand zu sichern. Zwei parallel laufende Prozesse vereinfachen dies: Die Selbstoptimierung ist direkt mit der Optimierung von Netzwerksystemen verbunden, während die konstante Datafizierung von physischen und virtuellen Interaktionen neue Formen von Identifikation und Normierung schafft. Der dominierenden algorithmischen Kultur von Heute liegt etwas zutiefst Zynisches und Widersprüchliches zugrunde. War der Flash Crash an der Börse nicht auch ein Zeichen für einen viel allgemeineren Kontrollverlust in Arbeit und Leben?

Die transmediale Ausstellung 2015, CAPTURE ALL, zeigt künstlerische Positionen, die auf die Asymmetrien und Fehlannahmen in einer datafizierten Welt reagieren. Die Auswahl der Arbeiten etablierter wie auch aufstrebender Künstler_innen aus dem Call for Works konzentriert sich vor allem auf die mehrdeutige Beziehung und unheimliche Spannung zwischen Nutzer und Algorithmus, dem Selbst und dem sich ständig entwickelnden Gerät. Lässt dieses System noch Raum für Spiel und alternative Handlungsweisen? Oder sind wir in eine ausweglose Situation geraten? Die von Algorithmen unter Druck gesetzte Kunst scheint zurückzuschlagen; sie eignet sich die „Capture All“-Logik an und testet ihre Grenzen aus. Indem sie Prozesse der Selbstkommerzialisierung beschleunigen, sich mit Überidentifizierung beschäftigen, die Abläufe in Netzwerken umwälzen oder neu nutzen sowie die versteckte Monströsität von technischen Infrastrukturen ans Licht bringen, spiegeln die Werke in der Ausstellung ein breites Spektrum an künstlerischer Praxis wider. In den Arbeiten werden Gesichtserkennungs-Apps, Life-Blogging-Kameras, biometrische Diagramme, sowie Werte, Zahlen und Korrelationen aufgegriffen. Die Künstler diskutieren, provozieren spielerisch und spekulieren über die Zukunft der algorithmischen Arbeit und des algorithmischen Lebens. Die Ausstellung zeigt Möglichkeiten des Überschusses und des Widerstandes auf, die – wenn sie von der Kunst angetrieben werden – Raum für Unerwartetes jenseits von Datensammlung und Messungen schafft.

Künstler:
Timo Arnall, Art is Open Source [AOS]: Salvatore Iaconesi + Oriana Persico, Zach Blas, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Eastwood – Real Time Strategy Group, LaTurbo Avedon, Jonas Lund, Jennifer Lyn Morone, Tobias Revell, Sebastian Schmieg, Silvio Lorusso, Erica Scourti