Fri, Sep 25: Traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

In Situ Anthropocene

Curatorial statement

Mississippi. An Anthropocene River makes the iconic landscape of the Mississippi River Valley legible as a critical zone of habitation and long-term interaction between humans and the environment. The project is a collaborative learning experiment to understand the river as a composite and storied space—emblematic in the way it grounds the global transition into the Anthropocene, the geological epoch of humankind. Through transdisciplinary field explorations and the production of locally situated conversations, the project contours the complex way in which histories, ecologies, technologies and worldviews collate and collide to shape an entire river system.

Learning from the Landscape

The Anthropocene is an incitement to rethink contemporary conditions of dwelling and living on this planet now that humans have become a decisive force in shaping it. Using the term Anthropocene as a space of contention, this stages critical questions concerning the interdependencies and co-dynamics between earthly processes, human politics, technological systems and the socio-ecological reality produced by these. Transformations abound in these recombinant and sometimes-asymmetrical tensions; often irreversible, these are potentially catastrophic for the multitudinous forms of human and non-human life on Earth.

Within this currently evolving relationship between humans and Earth, trying to determine where “we” as humans are situated within the planetary cycles and systems, who this “we” even is—how this relationship holds together and contains multiple forms of culpability, responsibility, agency and association—can be jarring. At the same time, classical preconceptions of Western thought—the divisions of nature/culture, cause/effect, inside/outside—falter. As the world is shifting, so its knowledge base is becoming entangled in issues of pluralistic meaning, of values, facts and counter-facts, awareness and access. In order to hold ground in such transitory times, novel forms of collaboration and bottom-up research approaches are required if we are to navigate successfully the critical spaces of knowledge formation. In order for understanding to adapt to the conditions of the Anthropocene, genuinely new models and practices of research and education need to be developed, replacing the circulation of outdated categories with the lived experience of connecting the many dots and scales of an Anthropocene world.

Mississippi. An Anthropocene River is a bold, experimental undertaking that tries to negotiate these epistemic demands by learning how to read planetary changes in the local landscape of a vast river system. It seeks to create a new set of knowledge practices through exploration of the Anthropocene in a site-specific manner—identifying a huge industrial and agricultural corridor that cuts through the middle of the United States, which not only represents a highly contested lived reality but also symbolizes the pervasiveness of the human impact. Jointly developed with participants (individuals, groups, institutions) and collaborators from a diversity of backgrounds, disciplines and practices, the project engages with various communities along the Mississippi and their shared concerns, focusing on the Anthropocene shifts as they alter the vast floodplain that this river naturally is. These practices and forms of research result in experimental situations and public conversations; these guide the common, field-oriented framework of analysis, awareness and engagement, which is the overall aim of this project.

A Collective Endeavor

The project is composed of several intermingling components, all of which engage groups of local and international researchers, artists and activists from many disciplines and backgrounds. Since the fall of 2018, five teams have formed around regional Anthropocene River Field Stations while an Anthropocene River School program conducts open seminars and field campus events both on-site and online. Starting in the fall of 2019, an alternating group of students, artists and scholars take an Anthropocene River Journey downriver—from the mythical source of the river near Lake Itasca to the Gulf of Mexico—making intermittent stops at the varied public events organized by the different Field Station teams. Journey participants will also join the weeklong Anthropocene River Campus in New Orleans, which collates the many situated approaches of the project, and focuses on the Mississippi River Delta as a unique site where local and global issues interconnect. All materials and contents of the project are processed and shared through this website; its function is to provide an open research platform to use as both a working tool and a portal to the Anthropocene Curriculum network of which Mississippi. An Anthropocene River is an integral part.

Mississippi. An Anthropocene River is an ambitious task only made possible by the admirable commitment and generosity of numerous individual researchers, artists, activists, institutions and initiatives in the United States, Germany and elsewhere. In particular we would like to thank the funders of this project—the German Federal Foreign Office and their initiative Wunderbar Together, as well as the Max Planck Society—for their trust and support to create something that is bold, new and enduring.

The Berlin Project Team

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

In Situ Anthropozän

Kuratorisches Statement

Mississippi. An Anthropocene River macht die ikonische Landschaft des Mississippi als kritische Zone lesbar, die von Menschen nicht nur bewohnt, sondern weitreichend gestaltet wird. Das gemeinschaftliche Lern- und Forschungsexperiment versteht den Fluss als ebenso vielschichtigen wie geschichtsträchtigen Raum, in dem der planetarische Übergang ins Anthropozän, das geologische Zeitalter der Menschheit, greifbar wird. In transdisziplinären Feldforschungen und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Menschen und Wissensbeständen vor Ort, versucht das Projekt das komplexe Zusammenspiel aus Geschichten, Ökologien, Technologien und Weltanschauungen zu verstehen, die das Flusssystem geformt haben und weiterhin formen.

Von der Landschaft lernen

Der Begriff Anthropozän birgt die Möglichkeit, gegenwärtige Lebens- und Überlebensbedingungen in einem Erdsystem, das entscheidend von den Menschen beeinflusst wird, neu zu denken. Er bietet Raum für die Auseinandersetzung mit den Wirkungszusammenhängen von geologischen und politischen Prozessen, von technologischen Systemen und den daraus resultierenden sozioökologischen Realitäten. Diese veränderlichen und oft asymmetrischen Wechselwirkungen bringen teils unumkehrbare Transformationen mit sich, die möglicherweise verhängnisvoll für die zahlreichen menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Lebensformen auf der Erde sind.

Es ist nicht leicht vor diesem Hintergrund zu bestimmen, wo „wir“ als Menschen in den planetarischen Zyklen und Systemen zu verorten sind, wer dieses „Wir“ überhaupt ist, und welche Formen von Schuld, Verantwortung, Handlungsmacht und Solidarität daran gebunden sind. Gleichzeitig werden überkommene Grundannahmen des westlichen Denkens, wie die Unterscheidungen Natur/Kultur, Ursache/Wirkung oder innen/außen hinfällig. In dem Maße, in dem sich die Welt verändert, verstricken sich auch die Grundlagen des Wissens mit vielfältigen Deutungsweisen, mit Werten, Fakten, Gegen-Fakten, Kenntnis und Verfügbarkeit. Um sich in dieser Übergangszeit zurechtzufinden, bedarf es neuer Formen der Zusammenarbeit und der „bottom-up“-Forschung. Um angemessene Antworten auf die Herausforderungen des Anthropozäns zu finden, müssen grundsätzlich neue Forschungs- und Bildungsmodelle und -praktiken entwickelt werden, die veraltete Kategorien mit gelebter Erfahrung ersetzen können, um die vielen Bestandteile und Verhältnisse der anthropozänen Welt miteinander zu verknüpfen.

Als wagemutiges und ergebnisoffenes Experiment begegnet Mississippi. An Anthropocene River diesen erkenntnistheoretischen Fragen, indem es planetarische Veränderungen in den lokalen Landschaften eines gewaltigen Flusssystems lesbar macht. Der Mississippi ist nicht nur ein Raum umstrittener Lebensrealitäten, sondern auch Symbollandschaft für das menschliche Eingreifen in die Natur. Die Erforschung dieses riesigen Korridors für Industrie und Landwirtschaft, der die USA in ihrer Mitte teilt, soll helfen neue, anthropozäne Wissenspraktiken zu entwickeln. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Teilnehmer*innen (Einzelpersonen, Forschungsgruppen, Institutionen) und Partner*innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen, Disziplinen und Praktiken sucht das Projekt den Dialog mit den verschiedenen Gemeinschaften und Interessenlagen entlang des Mississippi. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf den anthropozänen Veränderungen dieser Landschaft, die einst viel weniger ein Fluss als ein riesiges Flutungsgebiet war. Die konkreten Arbeitspraktiken und -formen werden in experimentellen Konstellationen und öffentlichen Gesprächen weitergeführt und bilden den Rahmen für die gemeinschaftliche und angewandte Forschung, die dem gesamten Projekt zugrunde liegt.

Ein gemeinschaftliches Experiment

Mehrere miteinander korrespondierende Projektelemente bringen internationale und lokale Forschungsgruppen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen und Disziplinen zusammen. Seit Herbst 2018 arbeiten fünf Teams an Anthropocene River Field Stations in verschiedenen Landschaftsformationen entlang des Flusses, während die Anthropocene River School sowohl vor Ort als auch online öffentliche Seminare und Veranstaltungen durchführt. Im Herbst 2019 reist eine Gruppe Studierender, Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen im Rahmen der Anthropocene River Journey flussabwärts von der mythischen Quelle des Flusses nahe des Lake Itasca bis zum Golf von Mexiko und verknüpft auf dem Weg die Arbeit und Veranstaltungen der einzelnen Field Stations. Die Reiseteilnehmer*innen werden außerdem während des einwöchigen Anthropocene River Campus in New Orleans zusammenkommen, wo sie die verschiedenen lokalen Forschungsansätze des Projekts diskutieren; dies alles vor dem Hintergrund des Mississippi River Delta, in dem sich lokale und globale Problemlagen auf einzigartige Weise verknüpfen. Alle Forschungsmaterialien und Ergebnisse werden auf anthropocene-curriculum.org zugänglich gemacht. Die Website ist somit gleichzeitig Forschungsplattform, Arbeitswerkzeug und Zugang zum Anthropocene Curriculum. Das Projekt Mississippi. An Anthropocene River ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil dieses Netzwerks.

Mississippi. An Anthropocene River ist ein ehrgeiziges Experiment, das nur dank des Einsatzes und der Großzügigkeit zahlreicher Forscher*innen, Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen, Institutionen und Initiativen in den USA, in Deutschland und andernorts möglich wird. Unser besonderer Dank gilt den Förderern dieses Projektes – dem Auswärtigen Amt und seiner Initiative Wunderbar Together sowie der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft – für das Vertrauen und die Unterstützung, die es uns ermöglichen, dieses experimentelle, neuartige und fortdauernde Projekt zu entwickeln.

Das Berliner Projektteam