Neolithic Childhood. Art in a False Present, c. 1930


2018, Apr 13, Fri — 2018, Jul 09, Mon

Brassaï (Gyula Halász), from Graffiti de la Série VIII: La Magie, 1955, gelatin silver print, 141 x 106.3 cm | Centre Pompidou. bpk | CNAC-MNAM | Estate Brassaï

Brassaï (Gyula Halász), from Graffiti de la Série VIII: La Magie, 1955, gelatin silver print, 141 x 106.3 cm | Centre Pompidou. bpk | CNAC-MNAM | Estate Brassaï

Max Ernst, Histoire naturelle, no. 26: l'Origine de Ia pendule, 1926, Collotype on vellum after frottage, 49.8 x 32.3 cm, Kunstmuseum Bonn, Photo: Reni Hansen | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Max Ernst, Histoire naturelle, no. 26: l'Origine de Ia pendule, 1926, Collotype on vellum after frottage, 49.8 x 32.3 cm, Kunstmuseum Bonn, Photo: Reni Hansen | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Victor Brauner, “Cette guerre morphologique de l’homme”, 1938 | Ink on paper, 46 x 58.5 cm, Centre Pompidou, Paris. Musée national d'art moderne/Centre de création industrielle. | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. bpk | Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais | Georges Meguerditchian

Victor Brauner, “Cette guerre morphologique de l’homme”, 1938 | Ink on paper, 46 x 58.5 cm, Centre Pompidou, Paris. Musée national d'art moderne/Centre de création industrielle. | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. bpk | Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais | Georges Meguerditchian

Catherine Yarrow, Crouching Female, 1935, Watercolor, 35.2 x 32.5 cm | Estate of Catherine Yarrow/Austin Desmond Fine Art, London

Catherine Yarrow, Crouching Female, 1935, Watercolor, 35.2 x 32.5 cm | Estate of Catherine Yarrow/Austin Desmond Fine Art, London

Paul Klee, (Metamorphosen:) der Zusammenbruch der biblischen Schlange, 1940 | Zentrum Paul Klee

Paul Klee, (Metamorphosen:) der Zusammenbruch der biblischen Schlange, 1940 | Zentrum Paul Klee

The stock market crash and mass unemployment, political polarization, the industrialization of perception, the violence of colonialism: “c. 1930” was a time of crisis in modernity. For the artistic avantgardes in Europe, the contemporary condition also became problematic; the impositions of the present led artists to break out into an imaginary realm of the archaic and the exotic— seeking out alternative origins and points of departure for humanity. New sciences and the fields already undergoing profound changes— such as ethnology, archae ology, psychology, and mathematics—served as resources. “World art” became a key concept for revising history and modernity.
Taking its cue from texts by the extraacademic art historian Carl Einstein, an exhibition and conference will thematize the upheavals, openings, and contradictions that became manifest in art and the humanities from the 1920s into the 1940s. The “Neolithic Childhood”—a concept used by Carl Einstein to characterize his understanding of Hans Arp—seemed to be a helpful fiction through which to critique the present.

From Max Ernst’s series of works on non-human natural history and Brassaï’s photographs of prehistoric-looking graffiti to the sexual iconographies of Toyen and Catherine Yarrow’s mask-like watercolors: the aesthetic politics of Surrealism play a central role in the exhibition. A panorama of 180 artworks and 600 archival sources propose an insight into the interaction between the visual arts, politics, philosophy, ethnology, psychology, and the natural sciences in the period between the world wars. The exhibition offers the first public view of the original manuscripts of Carl Einstein, who—with the intention of being anti-canonical—contributed substantially to the canonization of modern art. Magazines such as Documents, which was significantly influenced by Georges Bataille and Carl Einstein, works by well-known artists—such as Hans Arp, Georges Braque, and Paul Klee—and works by less familiar figures demonstrate the role played by art and visual culture in grappling with the crises around 1930.
With works by Hans Arp, Willi Baumeister, Georges Braque, Claude Cahun, Germaine Dulac, Sergei Eisenstein, Max Ernst, T. Lux Feininger, Florence Henri, Hannah Höch, Heinrich Hoerle, Valentine Hugo, Paul Klee, Germaine Krull, Len Lye, André Masson, Richard Oelze, Wolfgang Paalen, Jean Painlevé, Alexandra Povòrina, Gaston-Louis Roux, Kurt Seligmann, Kalifala Sidibé, Jindřich Štyrský, Toyen, Frits Van den Berghe, Paule Vézelay, Catherine Yarrow and others.

In cooperation with the Akademie der Künste the Carl-Einstein-Archiv, which is held there, has been digitized: adk.de/einstein

A publication to accompany the exhibition was issued by diaphanes (in a German and an English edition).

Curated by Anselm Franke and Tom Holert. Advisory board: Irene Albers, Susanne Leeb, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier

Part of Kanon-Fragen

Exhibition and conference

Neolithische Kindheit. Kunst in einer falschen Gegenwart, ca. 1930


Fr, 13. April 2018 — Mo, 09. Juli 2018

Brassaï (Gyula Halász), aus Graffiti de la Série VIII: La Magie, 1955, Silbergelatineabzug, 141 × 106,3 cm | Centre Pompidou. bpk | CNAC-MNAM | Estate Brassaï

Brassaï (Gyula Halász), aus Graffiti de la Série VIII: La Magie, 1955, Silbergelatineabzug, 141 × 106,3 cm | Centre Pompidou. bpk | CNAC-MNAM | Estate Brassaï

Max Ernst, Histoire naturelle, no. 26: l'Origine de Ia pendule, 1926, Lichtdruck auf Velin nach Frottage, 49,8 x 32,3 cm, Kunstmuseum Bonn, Foto: Reni Hansen | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Max Ernst, Histoire naturelle, no. 26: l'Origine de Ia pendule, 1926, Lichtdruck auf Velin nach Frottage, 49,8 x 32,3 cm, Kunstmuseum Bonn, Foto: Reni Hansen | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2018

Victor Brauner, „Cette guerre morphologique de l’homme“, 1938 | Tinte auf Papier, 46 x 58,5 cm, Centre Pompidou, Paris. Musée national d'art moderne/Centre de création industrielle. | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. bpk | Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais | Georges Meguerditchian

Victor Brauner, „Cette guerre morphologique de l’homme“, 1938 | Tinte auf Papier, 46 x 58,5 cm, Centre Pompidou, Paris. Musée national d'art moderne/Centre de création industrielle. | © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. bpk | Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais | Georges Meguerditchian

Catherine Yarrow, Crouching Female, 1935, Aquarell, 35,2 × 32,5 cm | Estate of Catherine Yarrow/Austin Desmond Fine Art, London

Catherine Yarrow, Crouching Female, 1935, Aquarell, 35,2 × 32,5 cm | Estate of Catherine Yarrow/Austin Desmond Fine Art, London

Paul Klee, (Metamorphosen:) der Zusammenbruch der biblischen Schlange, 1940 | Zentrum Paul Klee

Paul Klee, (Metamorphosen:) der Zusammenbruch der biblischen Schlange, 1940 | Zentrum Paul Klee

Börsencrash und Massenarbeitslosigkeit, politische Polarisierungen, die Industrialisierung der Wahrnehmung, die Gewalt des Kolonialismus: „Ca. 1930“ war eine Zeit der Krise der Moderne. Auch den künstlerischen Avantgarden in Europa wurde ihre Zeitgenossenschaft zum Problem. Die Zumutungen der Gegenwart verleiteten Künstler*innen dazu, in einen Imaginationsraum der Archaik und Exotik auszubrechen – auf der Suche nach alternativen Ursprüngen und Nullpunkten der Menschheit. Neue und in Veränderungen begriffene Wissenschaften wie Ethnologie, Archäologie, Psychologie und Mathematik dienten als Ressourcen. „Weltkunst“ avancierte zu einem Schlüssel für die Revision von Geschichte und Moderne.
Ausgehend von den Schriften des außerakademischen Kunsthistorikers Carl Einstein thematisieren eine Ausstellung und eine Konferenz die Umbrüche, Öffnungen und Widersprüche, die sich von den 1920er bis in die 1940er Jahre in der Kunst und in den Humanwissenschaften manifestierten. Die „neolithische Kindheit“ – eine Begriffsschöpfung, mit der Carl Einstein das Bildverständnis von Hans Arp charakterisiert – schien eine hilfreiche Fiktion zur Kritik der Gegenwart.

Von Max Ernsts Werkserie zur außermenschlichen Naturgeschichte über Brassaïs Fotografien prähistorisch anmutender Graffitis bis zu Sexualikonografien von Toyen oder Catherine Yarrows maskenhaften Aquarellen: Für die Ausstellung spielen die ästhetischen Politiken des Surrealismus eine zentrale Rolle. 180 Kunstwerke und 600 Archivalien entwerfen ein Panorama des Zusammenwirkens von bildender Kunst, Politik, Philosophie, Ethnologie, Psychologie und den Naturwissenschaften in der Zeit zwischen den Weltkriegen. Erstmals zu sehen sind Originalhandschriften von Carl Einstein, der – in antikanonischer Absicht – wesentlich zur Kanonisierung moderner Kunst beigetragen hat. Magazine, wie das von Georges Bataille und Carl Einstein maßgeblich geprägte Documents, Werke namhafter Künstler*innen – wie Hans Arp, Georges Braque oder Paul Klee – und von weniger bekannten Akteur*innen demonstrieren die Rolle der Kunst und der visuellen Kulturen bei der Bearbeitung der Krisen um 1930.
Mit Werken von Hans Arp, Willi Baumeister, Georges Braque, Claude Cahun, Germaine Dulac, Sergei Eisenstein, Max Ernst, T. Lux Feininger, Florence Henri, Hannah Höch, Heinrich Hoerle, Valentine Hugo, Paul Klee, Germaine Krull, Len Lye, André Masson, Richard Oelze, Wolfgang Paalen, Jean Painlevé, Alexandra Povòrina, Gaston-Louis Roux, Kurt Seligmann, Kalifala Sidibé, Jindřich Štyrský, Toyen, Frits Van den Berghe, Paule Vézelay, Catherine Yarrow u. a.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Akademie der Künste wurde das dortige Carl-Einstein-Archiv digitalisiert: adk.de/einstein

Eine Publikation zur Ausstellung erscheint im Juni 2018 bei diaphanes (in deutscher und englischer Ausgabe). Vorbestellung:

Kuratiert von Anselm Franke und Tom Holert; mit wissenschaftlicher Beratung durch Irene Albers, Susanne Leeb, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier

Im Rahmen von Kanon-Fragen

Ausstellung und Konferenz

Ausstellung:
13.04.–09.07.2018
Täglich (außer Di) und feiertags 11–19h

Ausstellungshalle 1 + 2

Eintritt: 9€/6€ inkl. Ausstellungsmanual
Das Ticket berechtigt zu zwei Besuchen.
Mo & U16 Eintritt frei
Mehr zu Tickets, Gruppen und Ermäßigungen

Die Vorlage eines Konzerttickets für 100 Jahre Beat berechtigt zum Kauf eines reduzierten Tickets für die Ausstellung (inkl. Ausstellungsmanual): 4€/2€

Konferenz 26. & 27.05.
Tagesticket 11€/8€, inkl. Ausstellung
Führungen 3€ zzgl. Ausstellungsticket
Talks und Students’ Day Eintritt frei
Kids&Teens-Workshops 5€