Jury of 2019

The jury was nominated by an independent selection committee consisting of: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (president of the Goethe-Institut), Joachim Sartorius (poet, translator and former director of the Berliner Festspiele), Rainer Traube (director of the arts desk, Deutsche Welle), Christina Weiss (publicist, professor, chair of the Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (chair of the executive board of Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Robin Detje | Photo: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje | Photo: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje is a trained actor and has worked as a theater, film, and literary critic and as an arts editor for Die Zeit and Berliner Zeitung and as author for the Süddeutsche Zeitung. Today he writes mainly for Zeit Online. He is the author of the Frank Castorf biography Castorf – Provokation aus Prinzip (2002). As a visual artist, he founded the group bösediva with Elisa Duca in 2009, which was invited to Bangalore, Taipei, and other places with their works. As a literary translator (e.g. works by Kiran Desai, Denis Johnson, William T. Vollmann, Joshua Cohen and Brit Bennett) he was awarded the 2014 Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse and the 2017 Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt Translator's Prize. He lives in Berlin and does not believe the Internet is going to go away.

Jens Hillje | © David Gauffin

Jens Hillje | © David Gauffin

Jens Hillje has worked as an actor, author, and director in the independent theatre scene since 1990. In 1996, he and director Thomas Ostermeier founded the Baracke at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin. From 1999 until 2009, Jens Hillje was one of the artistic directors and chief dramaturge of the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, where he founded the Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik (F.I.N.D). The directors he has collaborated with as dramaturge include Falk Richter, Barbara Frey, Luk Perceval, Rafael Sanchez, Yael Ronen and Sebastian Nübling. In 2011, Jens Hillje curated the Intransit Performing Arts Festival at HKW as artistic director. Since the 2013-2014 season, he has been co-director of the Maxim Gorki Theater and shares the artistic direction of the Gorki with Shermin Langhoff.

Tobias Lehmkuhl | © Bernhard Ludewig

Tobias Lehmkuhl | © Bernhard Ludewig

Tobias Lehmkuhl studied Comparative Literature and Hispanic Studies in Bonn, Barcelona, and Berlin. Since 2002 he has been working as a literary critic for newspapers and radio stations. In 2017 he received the Berliner Preis für Literaturkritik. He is the author of several books: Coolness. Über Miles Davis (2009), Land ohne Eile. Ein Sommer in Masuren (2012), and Die Odyssee. Ein Abenteuer (2013) among others.

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken is a writer, journalist, and editor for the arts section of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. Her work focuses on literature, cinema and the USA. She worked for many years as the F.A.Z. arts correspondent in New York and returns there often to report about the city and the nation. She also teaches regularly at Goethe University in Frankfurt and at Leuphana University in Lüneburg. She has published two books about New York (New York. Reportage aus einer alten Stadt, 2002, and Gebrauchsanweisung für New York, 2005, 2010, 2018) as well as the novels Alles zählt (2015) and Anderswo (2018). She was awarded the Internationale Publizistikpreis in Klagenfurt.

Daniel Medin | © privat

Daniel Medin | © privat

Daniel Medin is an editor and a professor of comparative literature at the American University of Paris, where he teaches classes on contemporary world literature; writing from Central Europe; the history and culture of Berlin and Vienna; and editorial practice. His research is principally concerned with twentieth- and twenty-first century fiction, with an emphasis on the work and global reception of Franz Kafka. He is associate director of AUP’s Center for Writers and Translators, and one of the editors of its Cahiers Series (published jointly with Sylph Editions in London). He is also co-editor of Music & Literature magazine and, edits The White Review’s annual translation issue, and advises several journals and presses on contemporary international fiction. A judge for the Best Translated Book Award in 2014 and 2015, he served on the jury of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize.

Elisabeth Ruge | Photo: Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge | Photo: Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge is a longtime publisher, editor and literary agent. She studied English and American and Slavic Studies in Frankfurt am Main, Moscow, and the USA. In 1994, she co-founded the Berlin Verlag, from 2011 to 2013 she established Hanser Berlin, the Berlin branch of the Carl Hanser Verlag. Since 2014, she has been managing director of the Elisabeth Ruge Agentur (ERA).

Daniela Seel | © privat

Daniela Seel | © privat

Daniela Seel is a poet and publisher of kookbooks living in Berlin and Frankfurt am Main. She also works as a freelance editor, organizes, teaches, sits on juries and translates, most recently works by Lisa Robertson and Rozalie Hirs, and is active in the KOOK association and the Netzwerk freie Literaturszene Berlin. She has appeared and collaborated internationally many times, for example with the illustrator Andreas Töpfer and the dancer David Bloom. Daniela Seel published the poetry books ich kann diese stelle nicht wiederfinden (2011) and was weißt du schon von prärie (2015) as well as the radio feature was weißt du schon von prärie (2015) together with Frank Kaspar. She has been the recipient of various awards.

Die Jury 2019

Die Jury wurde von einem unabhängigen Auswahlgremium nominiert. Diesem gehörten an: Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Präsident des Goethe-Instituts), Rainer Traube (Leiter Kulturredaktion, Deutsche Welle), Joachim Sartorius (Lyriker, Übersetzer und ehemaliger Intendant der Berliner Festspiele), Christina Weiss (Publizistin, Professorin, Vorsitzende des Vereins der Freunde der Nationalgalerie), Jan Szlovak (Vorstandsvorsitzender Stiftung Elementarteilchen).

Robin Detje | Foto: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje | Foto: André Wunstorf

Robin Detje ist ausgebildeter Schauspieler und war Theater-, Film- und Literaturkritiker und Feuilletonredakteur der Zeit und der Berliner Zeitung und Autor der Süddeutschen Zeitung. Heute schreibt er vor allem für Zeit Online. Er ist Autor der Frank-Castorf-Biografie Castorf – Provokation aus Prinzip (2002). Als bildender Künstler gründete er 2009 mit Elisa Duca die Gruppe bösediva, die mit ihren Arbeiten u.a. nach Bangalore und Taipeh eingeladen wurde. Als Literaturübersetzer (unter anderem von Kiran Desai, Denis Johnson, William T. Vollmann, Joshua Cohen, Brit Bennett) wurde er 2014 mit dem Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse und 2017 mit dem Preis der Heinrich Maria Ledig-Rowohlt-Stiftung ausgezeichnet. Er lebt in Berlin und glaubt nicht, dass das Internet wieder weggeht.

Jens Hillje | © David Gauffin

Jens Hillje | © David Gauffin

Jens Hillje arbeitet seit 1990 in der freien Theaterszene als Schauspieler, Autor und Regisseur. 1996 gründete er mit dem Regisseur Thomas Ostermeier die Baracke am Deutschen Theater in Berlin. Von 1999 bis 2009 war Jens Hillje Mitglied der Künstlerischen Leitung und Chefdramaturg der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, wo er das Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik (FIND) gründete. Als Dramaturg arbeitete er unter anderem mit den Regisseur*innen Falk Richter, Barbara Frey, Luk Perceval, Rafael Sanchez, Yael Ronen und Sebastian Nübling zusammen. Seit der Spielzeit 2013/14 hat er als Co-Intendant mit Shermin Langhoff die künstlerische Leitung des Maxim Gorki Theaters inne. Hillje erhält 2019 den Goldenen Löwen der Biennale in Venedig für sein Lebenswerk.

Tobias Lehmkuhl | © Bernhard Ludewig

Tobias Lehmkuhl | © Bernhard Ludewig

Tobias Lehmkuhl studierte in Bonn, Barcelona und Berlin Komparatistik und Hispanistik. Seit 2002 ist er freier Kritiker für Zeitungen und zahlreiche Radiosender. 2017 erhielt er den Berliner Preis für Literaturkritik. Als Autor veröffentlichte er u.a. Coolness. Über Miles Davis (2009), Land ohne Eile. Ein Sommer in Masuren (2012), Die Odyssee. Ein Abenteuer (2013), Nico: Biographie eines Rätsels (2018)

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken | © Helmut Fricke

Verena Lueken ist Schriftstellerin, Journalistin und Redakteurin im Feuilleton der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung. Die Literatur, das Kino und Amerika sind die Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit. Viele Jahre lang arbeitete sie als Kulturkorrespondentin der F.A.Z. in New York und kehrt immer wieder dorthin zurück, um über die Stadt und das Land zu berichten. Darüber hinaus unterrichtet sie regelmäßig an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main und der Leuphana Universität in Lüneburg. Ihre Buchveröffentlichungen umfassen zwei New-York-Bücher: New York. Reportage aus einer alten Stadt (2002) und Gebrauchsanweisung für New York (2005, 2010, 2018) sowie die Romane Alles zählt (2015) und Anderswo (2018). Ausgezeichnet wurde sie in Klagenfurt mit dem Internationalen Publizistikpreis.

Daniel Medin | © privat

Daniel Medin | © privat

Daniel Medin ist Herausgeber und Professor für Komparatistik an der American University of Paris, wo er Seminare zur Weltliteratur der Gegenwart, zu mitteleuropäischer Literatur, zur Geschichte und Kultur Berlins und Wiens sowie zur Praxis des Edierens und Herausgebens gibt. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt vor allem der fiktionalen Literatur des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf den Arbeiten und der weltweiten Rezeption Franz Kafkas. Er ist stellvertretender Direktor des Center for Writers and Translators der American University of Paris, Co-Herausgeber der Cahier Series und Redakteur des Magazins Music & Literature und der jährlichen Übersetzungsausgabe von The White Review. 2016 war er Mitglied der Jury des Man Booker International Prize.

Elisabeth Ruge | Foto: Stefan Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge | Foto: Stefan Nimmesgern

Elisabeth Ruge ist langjährige Verlegerin, Lektorin und Literaturagentin. Sie studierte Anglistik, Amerikanistik und Slawistik in Frankfurt am Main, Moskau und den USA. 1994 war sie Mitbegründerin des Berlin Verlags, von 2011 bis 2013 baute sie Hanser Berlin, die Berliner Dependance des Carl Hanser Verlags auf. Seit 2014 ist sie Geschäftsführerin der Elisabeth Ruge Agentur (ERA).

Daniela Seel | © privat

Daniela Seel | © privat

Daniela Seel lebt als Dichterin und Verlegerin von kookbooks in Berlin. Daneben arbeitet sie u.a. als freie Lektorin, unterrichtet Sprachkunst in Wien und übersetzt, zuletzt Robert Macfarlane, Lisa Robertson und Rozalie Hirs, und ist aktiv beim gemeinnützigen KOOK e.V., für den sie zuletzt 2018 das Literatur-Performance-Festival KOOK.MONO kuratierte. Zahlreiche internationale Auftritte und Kollaborationen, u.a. mit dem Illustrator Andreas Töpfer, dem Tänzer David Bloom und den Musiker*innen Roland Dahinden und Hildegard Keeb. Daniela Seel veröffentlichte die Gedichtbände ich kann diese stelle nicht wiederfinden (2011), was weißt du schon von prärie (2015) und Auszug aus Eden (2019), sowie gemeinsam mit Frank Kaspar das Radiofeature was weißt du schon von prärie (SWR/DLF 2015). Für ihre Arbeiten erhielt sie u.a. den Friedrich-Hölderlin-Förderpreis, den Kunstpreis Literatur von Lotto Brandenburg und den Mondseer Lyrikpreis.