Spectral-White

The Appearance of Colonial-Era Europeans
Nov 1, 2019–Jan 6, 2020

Unknown artist | Colonial soldier with binoculars, Congo, ca. 1980 | Collection Heike Behrend. © Photo: Anita Back/HKW

Unknown artist | Colonial soldier with binoculars, Congo, ca. 1980 | Collection Heike Behrend. © Photo: Anita Back/HKW

Unknown artist, “hentakoi”, Fright Figure, Nicobar Islands, India, around 1900, Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, RJM 23331 | © Photo: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln, Wolfgang Meier, rba_d029031

Unknown artist, “hentakoi”, Fright Figure, Nicobar Islands, India, around 1900, Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, RJM 23331 | © Photo: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln, Wolfgang Meier, rba_d029031

“All that is needed to caricature an oppressor is to portray him exactly as he is.”
Julius Lips

In 1937, while in exile in the United States, the Cologne ethnologist Julius Lips published portrayals of colonial-era Europeans in his book The Savage Hits Back. With these pictures of soldiers, merchants, missionaries, kings and queens, he addressed the external perceptions of European culture with explicitly anti-racist intentions. The collection raises questions about violence and appropriation, cultural symbolization and mimesis, contact and resistance, and thus exposes the problems of the globally entangled history of modernity.

In the objects and photographs, Lips saw a form of realism superior to European art, but also anti-colonial satire and caricature. Some of the representations were specifically produced for white buyers. This makes Lips’ assertion of a resistive reversal of the hierarchies of the colonial gaze and its culturally critical implications appear questionable.

Spectral-White explores the historical philosophy-based theories of the boomerang-like return of colonial violence as an essential driving force for twentieth century European fascism. The exhibition questions racist projections, the desire and the blind spots that continue to make it difficult to escape the matrix of the white gaze.
More...

Curated by Anna Brus in collaboration with Anselm Franke.
Part of Kanon-Fragen

Exhibition

Opening Thu, Oct 31, 2019

Nov 1, 2019–Jan 6, 2020
Daily except Tue
12 noon–7 pm, Thu 12 noon–10 pm

Closed Dec 24–31
Jan 1 (New Year’s Day) 12–7 pm

Exhibition Hall 2

Admission:
5€/3€, second visit included

Free admission:
Mondays and for visitors under age 16

Combined ticket with “Love and Ethnology – The Colonial Dialectic of Sensitivity (after Hubert Fichte)”:
9€/6€, second visit included

Publication

A companion volume in English will be published by Reimer Verlag in November 2019.
Ed. Anna Brus
With contributions by Heike Behrend, Cora Bender, Anna Brus, Anselm Franke, Michael Harbsmeier, Ingrid Kreide-Damani, Gerald McMaster, Christopher Pinney, Nora Probst, Nii O. Quarcoopome, Erhard Schüttpelz, Nanette Snoep, Ann Stephen, Zoë S. Strother, Martin Zillinger

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Spektral-Weiß

Die Erscheinung kolonialzeitlicher Europäer*innen
01.11.2019–06.01.2020

Unbekannte*r Künstler*in | Kolonialer Soldat mit Fernglas, Kongo, ca. 1980 | Sammlung Heike Behrend. © Foto: Anita Back/HKW

Unbekannte*r Künstler*in | Kolonialer Soldat mit Fernglas, Kongo, ca. 1980 | Sammlung Heike Behrend. © Foto: Anita Back/HKW

Unbekannte*r Künstler*in, „hentakoi“, Schreckfigur, Nikobarische Inseln, Indien, um 1900, Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, RJM 23331 | © Foto: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln, Wolfgang Meier, rba_d029031

Unbekannte*r Künstler*in, „hentakoi“, Schreckfigur, Nikobarische Inseln, Indien, um 1900, Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, RJM 23331 | © Foto: Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln, Wolfgang Meier, rba_d029031

„Alles, was es braucht, um einen Unterdrücker zu karikieren, ist, ihn exakt so zu porträtieren, wie er ist.“
Julius Lips

1937 veröffentlichte der Kölner Ethnologe Julius Lips im US-amerikanischen Exil in seinem Buch The Savage Hits Back Darstellungen kolonialzeitlicher Europäer*innen. Mit diesen Bildern von Soldaten, Händlern, Missionaren und König*innen thematisierte er die Außenwahrnehmung europäischer Kultur in explizit antirassistischer Absicht. Die Sammlung wirft Fragen zu Gewalt und Aneignung, kultureller Symbolisierung und Mimesis, Kontakt und Widerstand auf und problematisiert so die globale Verflechtungsgeschichte der Moderne.

Lips sah in den Objekten und Fotos eine der europäischen Kunst überlegene Form des Realismus, aber auch antikoloniale Satire und Karikatur. Teile der Darstellungen wurden dezidiert für eine weiße Käuferschaft produziert. Lips’ Behauptung einer widerständigen Umkehrung der kolonialen Blickhierarchie und ihren kulturkritischen Implikationen erscheint daher fragwürdig.

Spektral-Weiß beschäftigt sich mit geschichtsphilosophischen Thesen, die in der Bumerang-artigen Rückkehr kolonialer Gewalt eine wesentliche Triebkraft für den europäischen Faschismus des 20. Jahrhunderts sehen. Dabei hinterfragt die Ausstellung rassistische Projektionen, das Begehren und die blinden Flecken, die es bis heute erschweren, der Matrix des weißen Blicks zu entkommen.
Mehr...

Kuratiert von Anna Brus in Zusammenarbeit mit Anselm Franke
Im Rahmen von Kanon-Fragen

Ausstellung

Eröffnung Do 31.10.2019

Öffnungszeiten:
01.11.2019–06.01.2020
täglich außer Di
12–19h, Do 12–22h

24.–31.12. geschlossen
01.01. Neujahr 12–19h

Ausstellungshalle 2

Eintritt:
5€/3€, inkl. Zweitbesuch

Eintritt frei:
Montags und unter 16 Jahren

Kombiticket mit „Liebe und Ethnologie – Die koloniale Dialektik der Empfindlichkeit (nach Hubert Fichte)“:
9€/6€, inkl. Zweitbesuch

Publikation

Ein Begleitband auf Englisch erscheint im November 2019 im Reimer Verlag.
Hrsg. Anna Brus
Mit Beiträgen von Heike Behrend, Cora Bender, Anna Brus, Anselm Franke, Michael Harbsmeier, Ingrid Kreide-Damani, Gerald McMaster, Christopher Pinney, Nora Probst, Nii O. Quarcoopome, Erhard Schüttpelz, Nanette Snoep, Ann Stephen, Zoë S. Strother, Martin Zillinger