Fri, Sep 24–Sun, Sep 26: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More...

Congress

Against the background of the transformation of a private collection into a public institution, the international Congress focuses on practices, visibilities, and politics in and around the archive. The Congress takes place within the dynamic setting: The structures of the Archive Viewing shift to host the Congress program. The archival documents and artworks remain in the space and create a constellation of tactile material that frames the various formats. Scientists, archivists, curators, and artists discuss archival methods, propose new possibilities for activating archive material, and analyze the politics and paradigms of archives presenting case studies that examine archival materials through their role as tactile, visual, or oral historical and contemporary testimonies. Starting from the basic idea of collecting, the Congress reflects the vulnerability and visibilities, the terminologies and the transformation of current and future archives. The Congress contributors also consider the limits and responsibilities of existing archival institutions and speculate about alternatives to such structures. Which experiential and memory spaces can archives and collections reflect, and which do they generate themselves? What is the relationship between archives and canonization processes and what technologies, labor structures, and social processes are part of archival practices? How can we imagine the concepts, narratives, and aesthetics of future archives?

Program

Thu, 23 May, 2019

2 pm—2.15 pm
Congress Opening

Marion Ackermann (General Director of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) and Bernd Scherer (Director of Haus der Kulturen der Welt)

2.15 pm—3.15 pm
Collecting the Archive of the Avant-Gardes
Conversation

The archive starts with the act of collecting. These processes are framed by individual actors, figures, and positions that circulate around and within the archival body. These subjective perspectives shape the characteristics of an archival corpus, its biography, readability, and framing narratives. Art historian and curator Beatrice von Bismarck speaks with the collector Egidio Marzona about strategies, concepts, and systematics of collecting and assembling, discussing the roles these specific modes of production are playing in the transformation of a collection into an archival institution.

With Egidio Marzona (Collector) and Beatrice von Bismarck (Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig), moderated by Bernd Scherer (Director of Haus der Kulturen der Welt)

3.15 pm—4.30 pm
The Art of the Archive
Lecture and Presentation

How does the archive influence artistic practices and what is the role of the artist in the archive? Archival strategies and methods were part of contemporary artistic practice throughout the 20th century. This also shaped the idea of what an archive can be in relation to specific times, social contexts, and political conditions. Starting from the ideas of Moscow Conceptualism, artist, curator, and archivist Vadim Zakharov and art historian Sven Spieker discuss the possibilities of relating to a history that officially never existed and the artistic practices that make such histories accessible in the present.

With Sven Spieker (University of California, Santa Barbara/ ARTmargins) and Vadim Zakharov (Archive of the Moscow Conceptualist Group)

5 pm—7 pm
The Vulnerable Archive
Panel

The panel engages with issues of vulnerability, sustainability, and strategies of archiving for independent and small to mid-scale initiatives, discussing practices that will allow more fragile institutions to write their own practice into history, and on their own terms. Common features that recur between the variety of projects presented by the speakers of the panels, are an engagement with sound archives (from oral history to music) and ephemerality and an engagement with the tasks of (re) writing a history (that is both local and global) that has been denied. The projects presented have started from a position of vulnerability and urgency; they are archives working against malevolent and rigorous acts of erasure.

With Graciela Carnevale (Artist) and Sneha Ragavan (Asia Art Archive), moderated by Antonia Alampi (Curator and Author) and Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung (SAVVY Contemporary)

Concept: Antonia Alampi and Bonaventure S. B. Ndikung, SAVVY Contemporary

8 pm—10 pm
Archiving the Avant-Garde: Elsewhere and Otherwise
Keynote and Discussion

In this lecture, Ann Laura Stoler addresses the principles and politics of authorizations that name things or people ‘avant-garde’. In so doing, she asks what issues might be raised, what problematics might be underscored, and what politics might be mandated by a naming and locating of an ‘avant-garde’ askew to but decidedly in relationship with its Euro-American center. In culling and curating ‘an-other’ archive, might we also find the tools and political grammar to identify an avant-garde poised on the fractious faultlines of colonialism and imperial violences, animating new ways of fracturing that force now?

Ann Laura Stoler (The New School for Social Research, New York), discussion with Marcelo Rezende (Director of Archiv der Avantgarden)

Fri, May 24, 2019

2 pm—3 pm
Narrations and Displays of the Archive
Panel

Archival objects are much more than a record or representation of a past condition; they provoke a certain relationship between past, present, and future while mobilizing temporal and topographic categories. Therefore it seems necessary to take a look at approaches of narrating and displaying archival objects and the archive itself, in order to develop strategies that integrate marginalized or invisible realities of the past for a better understanding of contemporary complexities. Doreen Mende, Gloria Meynen, and reflect on the role digitization plays in our understanding of displaying the archive and the processes that make the archive’s materialized descriptions of complex narrations, relations, and resistances of the materials visible.

Doreen Mende (HEADGeneva, Geneva University of Art and Design), Gloria Meynen (Culture and Media Scholar), and Daniel Rosenberg (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science), moderated by Sarah E. James (Historian and Writer)

Concept: Haus der Kulturen der Welt

3.30 pm—4.30 pm
The Alternative Archive
Lecture and Conversation

To question existing power relations, it has been and remains necessary to engage with existing archives while also establishing alternative archives. However, it is not sufficient to just address the gaps. It is also vital to identify the responsibilities associated with the history of epistemic violence, with its exclusions and injurious systems, and to deduce the consequences from this. Against this background, the task is to subject the public, likewise as commons, to a critical revaluation. If institutions wish to do justice to this imperative, then they must develop in directions that brake from those currently being pursued. This is necessary as, in addition to mere lip service, we are confronted with many economization and privatization tendencies hidden to greater or lesser degrees; and, especially in the field of digitalization, with a secret selling-off of the public. How can this be counteracted? The artist Daniel G. Andujar speaks of ‘democratizing democracy by tracking the code’.

Nora Sternfeld(Documenta Professor at Kunsthochschule Kassel), in conversation with Marcelo Rezende (Director of Archiv der Avantgarden)

5 pm—7 pm
Migrating the Archive
Panel

Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre, located in Downtown Cairo, organizes film screenings and workshops and runs a library, a moving image archive, and a lab. The archive houses diverse materials including manuscripts, documents, photographs, rare film magazines, official reports, diaries, and film storyboards. It holds 35mm copies and ephemera from reputable cinematic works from the region and beyond, alongside found footage, amateur films, commercials, newsreels and experimental documen-taries. Cimatheque’s archive was built around a sense of urgency in a context where the state doesn’t allow people access to their moving-image history. It is opening its growing collection to the public, questioning official narratives and giving space to marginalized ones to exist. The archive is currently being digitized with the aim of establishing a duplicate in Berlin: the shelter is itself in the need of a shelter. Based on this Tamer El Said, co-founder of Cimatheque, discusses together with the other panelists the following questions: apart from being the digital version of an analog archive, in what other ways does the archive differ from its original once the duplicate has migrated to a new location? How does the surrounding of an archive define its holdings?

With Filipa César (Filmmaker, Artist, and Curator), Mohamad Shawky Hassan (Filmmaker) and Tamer El Said (Filmmaker and Co-Founder of Cimatheque, Cairo), moderated by Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Director of Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art)

Concept: Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art

8 pm—9.15 pm
Sampling the Archive
Lecture Performance

In this performative lecture, Lynnée Denise discusses an approach to the sonic archives she calls DJ Scholarship, to talk about the life of singer and musician Willie Mae Thornton. Digging through the crates of Thornton’s life, DJ Lynnée Denise tells the story of music migration, exploring the Thornton’s gendered and racialized experiences and launching an inquiry into the politics of adlibs, a feature of black music often ignored in traditional archival practices. Denise talks about her desire to ‘queer the Chitlin’ Circuit’ and demonstrates how this interdisciplinary work gathers scattered and fragmented histories of black women artists who are dangerously missing from discourse about the roots of American rock’n’roll.

With Lynnée Denise (DJ)

9.15 pm
From Dawn to Dusk: The Bird of Paradise
Performance

‘Leave your home with a cool head and carrying a briefcase full of birdcalls of the kind used by hunters, as well as a portable tape recorder slung across your back on a carrying strap. You will use it at the proper time to play a tape, which has also been placed in the briefcase. Once outside you begin your performance of The Hunt by crossing over to the sidewalk on a far side of the street with respect to the building you have just left. After observing this building for several minutes you will then begin to walk.’

With Miles Sjögren (Performance) Enactment of Walter Marchetti, The Bird of Paradise. Hunting in the City (1977), initiated by Olaf Nicolai (artist)

10.30 pm
Party
With Lynnée Denise (DJ)

Sat, May 25, 2019

11.30 am—12.45 pm
The Material and Immaterial of the Archive
Performance, Talk and Video

The immateriality of the art of dance poses a challenge to archives: as a movement itself cannot be archived, notes and physical carriers become the main source for its documentation. A sequence of movements can be learned using video, a choreography can be described by its author, but how detailed can this be? What about the intentions, the thoughts, and the stories that led to the creation of these movements? Where is the depository of this information? The closer to the source we are able to document, the richer in subtleties, background, and details is the documentation that flows back into the archive. Those added details and subtleties can help a new dancer to build a framework of understanding and contexts, giving them the freedom to make the dance their own. In an attempt to present various formats that document and transmit ephemeral art, this panel presents a live dance rehearsal, an oral history talk, and video material.

With Barbara Kaufmann (Dancer), Azusa Seyama (Dancer), Ricardo Viviani (Pina Bausch Foundation), and Marc Wagenbach (Universität Hamburg), moderated by Ismaël Dia (Pina Bausch Foundation)

Concept: Pina Bausch Foundation

1 pm—3 pm
Imagining the Archival Institution
Lecture and Roundtable

The zero point of an archive is difficult to locate. The archive is in constant metamorphosis; a place of decay and becoming. In this intermediate and transitional state, it always contains a multiplicity of categorization and time systems. This field of tension unfolds a place of knowledge production and a space of imagination at the same time. This panel examines this state of the archive more closely with experts from the museum sector, art, and theory. How do archival institutions deal with change? How can a pluralized concept of the archive arise from the field of tension between the conserved materiality of archival objects on one hand and the constant transformation in the meaning of such materials on another? How can the Archiv der Avantgarden be an example of this?

With Beatrice von Bismarck (Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig) with Marion Ackermann (Director of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) Anton Belov (Garage Museum), and Olaf Nicolai (Artist), moderated by Bernd Scherer (HKW)

Concept: Haus der Kulturen der Welt and Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Kongress

Vor dem Hintergrund der Transformation einer privaten Sammlung in eine öffentliche Institution stehen Praktiken, Sichtbarkeiten und Politiken in und um Archive im Zentrum des internationalen Kongresses.

Der Kongress findet in einem dynamischen Umfeld statt: Die Strukturen der Archivsichtung werden in eine neue Konstellation gebracht, in der das Kongressprogramm stattfindet. Die Archivmaterialien und Kunstwerke verbleiben im Raum und bilden Bezugspunkte, die die verschiedenen Formate umrahmen. Wissenschaftler*innen, Archivar*innen, Kurator*innen und Künstler*innen diskutieren Archivierungsmethoden, schlagen neue Möglichkeiten zur Aktivierung von Archivmaterial vor, analysieren die Politiken und die Paradigmen von Archiven und präsentieren Fallstudien, die Archivmaterial anhand seiner Rolle als taktiles, visuelles oder mündliches historisches und zeitgenössisches Material untersuchen. Ausgehend von der Grundidee des Sammelns reflektiert der Kongress die Verwundbarkeit und Zugangsmöglichkeiten, die Terminologien und die Transformationen aktueller und zukünftiger Archive. Kongressteilnehmer*innen reflektieren auch die Grenzen und Verantwortlichkeiten bestehender Archivinstitutionen und spekulieren über Alternativen zu solchen Strukturen.

Welche Erfahrungs- und Erinnerungsräume können Archive und Sammlungen spiegeln und welche bringen sie selbst hervor? Wie ist das Verhältnis zwischen Archiven und Kanonisierungsprozessen und welche Technologien, Arbeitsstrukturen und sozialen Prozesse sind Teil von Archivpraktiken? Wie lassen sich Konzepte, Erzählungen und Ästhetiken zukünftiger Archive denken?

Programm

Do, 23.05.2019

14–14.15h
Begrüßung

Mit Marion Ackermann (Generaldirektorin Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden) und Bernd Scherer (Indendant Haus der Kulturen der Welt)

14.15–15.15h
Das Archiv der Avantgarden Sammeln
Gespräch

Das Archiv beginnt mit dem Akt des Sammelns. Diese Prozesse setzen sich aus individuellen Akteuren*innen, Figuren und Positionen zusammen, die außerhalb und innerhalb des Archivkörpers zirkulieren. Diese subjektiven Perspektiven formen die Besonderheiten eines Archivkorpus, seine Biografie, seine Lesbarkeit und seine rahmensetzenden Narrrative. Die Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin Beatrice von Bismarck spricht mit dem Sammler Egidio Marzona über Strategien, Konzepte und Systematiken des Sammelns und Montierens: Sie diskutieren, welche Rolle diese spezifischen Produktionsweisen bei der Transformation einer Sammlung in eine Archivinstitution spielen.

Mit Egidio Marzona (Sammler) und Beatrice von Bismarck (Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig), moderiert von Bernd Scherer (Intendant Haus der Kulturen der Welt)

15.15–16.30h
Die Kunst des Archivs
Vortrag und Präsentation

Wie beeinflusst das Archiv künstlerische Praktiken und was ist die Rolle von Künstler*innen im Archiv? Im Verlauf des gesamten 20. Jahrhunderts bilden Strategien und Methoden des Archivierens einen wichtigen Bestandteil zeitgenössischer künstlerischer Praktiken. Das prägt auch die Vorstellung davon, was ein Archiv im Verhältnis zu bestimmten Zeiten, sozialen Kontexten und politischen Bedingungen sein kann. Ausgehend von den Ideen des Moskauer Konzeptualismus diskutieren der Künstler, Kurator und Archivar Vadim Zakharov und der Kunsthistoriker Sven Spieker die Möglichkeiten, sich auf eine Geschichte zu beziehen, die offiziell nie existierte. Dazu erörtern sie die künstlerischen Praktiken, mit denen solche Geschichten der Gegenwart zugänglich gemacht werden können.

Mit Sven Spieker (University of California, Santa Barbara/ ARTmargins) und Vadim Zakharov (Archiv der Gruppe Moskauer Konzeptionalismus)

17–19h
Das verletzliche Archiv
Panel

Das Panel beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der Verwundbarkeit, Nachhaltigkeit und Strategien der Archivarbeit von unabhängigen, vergleichsweise kleinen Archivinitiativen. Es werden Praktiken diskutiert, die es prekären Institutionen ermöglichen, mit ihren Methoden zur Geschichtsschreibung beizutragen – und zwar nach ihren eigenen Vorstellungen. Überschneidungspunkte, die zwischen den verschiedenen Projekten, die von den Referent*innen der Panels vorgestellt werden, immer wieder auftreten, sind die Auseinandersetzung mit Tonarchiven (von Oral History bis zur Musik) und deren Vergänglichkeit. Gleichzeitig geht es um die Aufgaben, eine (lokale und globale) Geschichte (neu) zu schreiben, die bisher nicht berücksichtigt wurde. Die vorgestellten Projekte wurden vor dem Hintergrund der eigenen Verletzlichkeit gegründet; es handelt sich um Archive, die gegen mutwillige und rigorose Aktionen der Auslöschung anarbeiten.

Mit Graciela Carnevale (Künstlerin) und Sneha Ragavan (Asia Art Archive), moderiert von Antonia Alampi (Kuratorin und Autorin) und Bonaventure S. B. Ndikung (SAVVY Contemporary)

Konzept: Antonia Alampi und Bonaventure S. B. Ndikung, SAVVY Contemporary

20–22h
Archiving the Avant-Garde: Elsewhere and otherwise
Keynote und Diskussion

In diesem Vortrag thematisiert Ann Laura Stoler die Prinzipien und Politiken der Autorisierungsgeste, etwas oder jemanden als „Avantgarde“ zu bezeichnen. Damit stellt sie die spekulative Frage, welche Themen formuliert, welche Problematiken herausgestellt und welcher Politik ein Mandat erteilt werden kann, wenn man eine „Avantgarde“ quer zu, aber in deutlicher Beziehung zu ihrem europäisch amerikanischen Zentrum benennt und lokalisiert. Könnten wir durch die Auswahl und Kuratierung eines ‚anderen‘ Archivs auch die Werkzeuge und die politische Grammatik ausfindig machen, um eine entlang der widerspenstigen Bruchlinien von Kolonialismus und imperialer Gewalt verlaufende Avantgarde zu identifizieren und so neue Möglichkeiten anregen, diese Macht heute zu brechen?

Mit Ann Laura Stoler (The New School for Social Research, New York) Diskussion mit Marcelo Rezende (Leitung Archiv der Avantgarden)

Fr, 24.05.2019

14–15h
Narrative und (Re-)präsentationen des Archivs
Panel

Archivobjekte sind viel mehr als nur eine Aufzeichnung oder Repräsentation eines vergangenen Zustands; sie provozieren spezifische Beziehungen zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und mobilisieren zeitliche und topografische Kategorien. Deshalb erscheint es notwendig, einen Blick auf die Verfahren des Erzählens und Ausstellens von Archivobjekten und Archiven selbst zu werfen, um Strategien entwickeln zu können, die marginalisierte oder unsichtbare Realitäten der Vergangenheit integrieren und so zu einem besseren Verständnis zeitgenössischer Komplexitäten führen. Doreen Mende, Gloria Meynen und Daniel Rosenberg reflektieren die Rolle der Digitalisierung in unseren Auffassungen von der Präsentation des Archivs, und sie diskutieren die Prozesse, durch die die materialisierten Beschreibungen der komplexen Erzählungen, Relationen und Widerständigkeiten der Materialien sichtbar werden.

Mit Doreen Mende (HEAD-Geneva, Geneva University of Art and Design), Gloria Meynen (Kultur- und Medienwissenschaftlerin) und Daniel Rosenberg (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte), moderiert von Sarah E. James (Historikerin und Autorin)

Konzept: Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin

15.30–16.30h
Alternatives Archiv
Vortrag und Gespräch

Um die bestehenden Machtverhältnisse in Frage zu stellen, galt und gilt es sich mit bestehenden Archiven ebenso anzulegen wie zugleich alternative Archive anzulegen. Dabei reicht es allerdings nicht, Lücken zu adressieren. Es geht auch darum, welche Verantwortung mit der Geschichte der epistemischen Gewalt, mit ihren Ausschlüssen und zurichtenden Ordnungen verbunden ist und Konsequenzen daraus zu ziehen. Vor diesem Hintergrund gälte es, das Öffentliche auch als gemeinsames Eigentum kritisch und neu zu diskutieren. Wollen Institutionen dieser Tatsache gerecht werden, müssten sie sich eigentlich in andere Richtungen entwickeln als sie es derzeit tun – denn wir haben es neben Lippenbekenntnissen mit vielen mehr oder weniger versteckten Ökonomisierungs- und Privatisierungstendenzen und gerade im Bereich der Digitalisierung mit einem heimlichen Ausverkauf des Öffentlichen zu tun. Wie kann dem entgegengearbeitet werden? Der Künstler Daniel G. Andujar spricht von "Democratizing democracy by tracking the code".

Mit Nora Sternfeld (Documenta-Professorin Kunsthochschule Kassel) im Gespräch mit Marcelo Rezende (Leitung Archiv der Avantgarden)

17–19h
Das Archiv migrieren
Panel

Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre mit Sitz in der Innenstadt von Kairo organisiert Filmvorführungen und Workshops und betreibt eine Bibliothek, ein Bewegtbildarchiv und ein Labor. Das Archiv enthält verschiedene Materialien wie Manuskripte, Dokumente, Fotos, seltene Filmzeitschriften, offizielle Berichte, Tagebücher und Filmstoryboards. Sie umfasst 35mm Kopien und Ephemera von berühmten Kinowerken aus der Region und darüber hinaus Found Footage- Material, Amateurfilme, Werbespots, Wochenschauen und experimentelle Dokumentationen. Das Archiv der Cimatheque wurde in einem Kontext aufgebaut, in dem der Staat den Menschen keinen Zugang zu ihrer Bewegtbildgeschichte gewährt. Sie öffnet ihre wachsende Sammlung für die Öffentlichkeit, stellt offizielle Erzählungen in Frage und gibt marginalisierten Menschen Raum für ihre Existenz. Das Archiv wird derzeit mit dem Ziel digitalisiert, ein Duplikat in Berlin zu erstellen: Der Schutzraum dort benötigt nun selbst einen Schutzraum. Darauf aufbauend diskutieren Tamer El Said, Mitbegründer der Cimatheque, zusammen mit den anderen Diskussionsteilnehmer*innen folgende Fragen: Inwiefern unterscheidet sich das Archiv sonst von seinem Original, nachdem das Duplikat an einen neuen Ort migriert wurde? Wie definiert das Umfeld eines Archivs seinen Bestand?

Mit Filipa César (Filmemacherin, Künstlerin und Kuratorin), Mohammad Shawky Hassan (Filmemacher) und Tamer El Said (Filmemacher und Co-Founder der Cimatheque, Kairo), moderiert von Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Direktorin Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst)

Konzept: Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst

20–21.15h
Das Archiv samplen
Lecture Performance

In ihrer Lecture Perfomance stellt Lynnée Denise einen Umgang mit Klangarchiven vor, den sie „DJ-Scholarship“ nennt, um über das Leben der Sängerin und Musikerin Willie Mae Thornton zu sprechen. Während sie sich durch die Kisten von Thorntons Leben wühlt, erzählt DJ Lynnée Denise die Geschichte musikalischer Migration, erforscht Thorntons genderspezifische und rassifizierte Erfahrungen und untersucht die Politik von Improvisation und Stegreifgesängen, eine Eigenschaft Schwarzer Musik, die von traditionellen Archivpraktiken häufig übersehen wird. Lynnée Denise wird über ihr Begehren sprechen, „den Chitlin’ Circuit zu queeren“ und aufzeigen, wie diese interdisziplinäre Arbeit die zerstreuten und fragmentieren Geschichten schwarzer weiblicher Künstlerinnen versammelt, die im Diskurs über die Wurzeln des amerikanischen Rock’n’Roll auf alarmierende Weise abwesend sind.

Mit Lynnée Denise

21.15h
From Dawn to Dusk: The Bird of Paradise
Performance

„Verlassen Sie Ihr Zuhause mit einem kühlen Kopf und tragen Sie eine Aktentasche voller Vogelstimmen, wie sie von Jägern verwendet werden, sowie ein tragbares Tonbandgerät, das auf dem Rücken an einem Trageriemen befestigt ist. Sie werden es zur rechten Zeit benutzen, um ein Band abzuspielen, das sich ebenfalls in der Aktentasche befindet. Sobald Sie draußen sind, beginnen Sie Ihre Aufführung von The Hunt, indem Sie auf der anderen Straßenseite auf den Bürgersteig gehen, der zum Gebäude gehört, das Sie gerade verlassen haben. Nachdem Sie dieses Gebäude einige Minuten lang beobachtet haben, beginnen Sie zu laufen.“

Mit Miles Sjögren (Performer)

Reinszenierung von Walter Marchetti, The Bird of Paradise. Hunting in the City (1977), initiiert von Olaf Nicolai (Künstler)

22.30h
Party
Mit Lynnée Denise (DJ)

Sa, 25.05.2019

11.30–12.45h
(Im)Materialität des Archivs
Performance, Gespräch und Video

Die Immaterialität der Tanzkunst stellt für Archive eine Herausforderung dar: Da Bewegung selbst nicht archiviert werden kann, werden Aufzeichnungen und physische Träger zur Hauptquelle ihrer Dokumentation. Eine Bewegungssequenz kann mithilfe eines Videos gelernt werden, eine Choreografie kann von ihrer Autorin beschrieben werden, aber wie detailliert kann sie sein? Was ist mit den Absichten, den Gedanken und den Geschichten, die zur Entstehung dieser Bewegungen geführt haben? Wo werden diese Informationen aufbewahrt? Je näher wir der Quelle sind, die wir dokumentieren, desto reichhaltiger die Nuancen, der Hintergrund und die Details der Dokumentation, die zurück ins Archiv fließt. Es sind diese zusätzlichen Details, die einem/einer neuen Tänzer*in dabei helfen, sich einen Verständnisrahmen zu einer Bewegung zu erarbeiten, der ihm/ihr die Freiheit eröffnet, sich den Tanz zu eigen zu machen. Im Versuch, unterschiedliche Formate zur Dokumentation und Übertragung ephemerer Kunstformen vorzustellen, wird dieses Panel eine live durchgeführte Tanzprobe, Interviews und Videomaterialien präsentieren.

Mit Barbara Kaufmann (Tänzerin), Azusa Seyama (Tänzerin), Ricardo Viviani (Pina Bausch Foundation) und Marc Wagenbach (Universität Hamburg), moderiert von Ismaël Dia (Pina Bausch Foundation)

Konzept: Pina Bausch Foundation

13–15h
Die archivalische Institution imaginieren
Vortrag und Roundtable Diskussion

Der Nullpunkt eines Archivs ist schwer auszumachen. Das Archiv ist in ständiger Metamorphose, ein Ort im Verfall und im Werden. In diesem Zwischen und Übergangszustand enthält es immer eine Vielheit der Ordnungs- und Zeitsysteme. In diesem Spannungsfeld entsteht ein Ort der Wissensproduktion und ein Imaginationsraum gleichermaßen.

Das Panel möchte diesen Zustand des Archivs mit Expert*innen aus dem Museumbereich, Kunst und Theorie genauer untersuchen. Wie gehen Archivinstitutionen mit Entwicklung um? Wie lässt sich im Spannungsfeld von konservierter Materialität und Bedeutungsveränderung der Materialien ein pluralisierter Archivbegriff entwickeln? Wie kann das Archiv der Avantgarden hierfür ein Beispiel sein?

Mit Beatrice von Bismarck (Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig), Marion Ackermann (Generaldirektorin Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Anton Belov (Garage Museum) und Olaf Nicolai (Künstler), moderiert von Bernd Scherer (HKW)

Konzept: Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin und Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden