Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne

The Original
Postponed to fall 2020

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, panel 39 (recovered, detail) | Photo: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, panel 39 (recovered, detail) | Photo: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, panel C (recovered, detail) | Photo: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, panel C (recovered, detail) | Photo: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, panels 6 & 77 (recovered) | Photo: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, panels 6 & 77 (recovered) | Photo: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg with Gertrud Bing and Franz Alber in front of Warburg’s panel design, Rome, Palace Hotel, May 1929

Aby Warburg with Gertrud Bing and Franz Alber in front of Warburg’s panel design, Rome, Palace Hotel, May 1929

In the 1920s, the historian of art and culture Aby Warburg (1866-1929) created his so-called Bilderatlas Mnemosyne tracing recurring visual themes and patterns across time, from antiquity to the Renaissance and beyond to contemporary culture. His approach provides inspiration for today’s visually and digitally dominated world. At HKW all 63 panels of the Atlas will be recovered for the first time from Warburg’s original images.

Aby Warburg studied the interplay of images from different periods and cultural contexts. He designed the Mnemosyne Atlas to provide a pictorial representation of the influences of the ancient world in the Renaissance and beyond. The Atlas consisted of large black panels on which he placed photographic reproductions of artworks from the Middle East, European antiquity and the Renaissance, alongside contemporary newspaper clippings and advertisements. In the years leading to his death in 1929, Warburg and his closest colleagues Gertrud Bing and Fritz Saxl experimented with the form and function of the Bilderatlas. Their goal was to present a publication designed for discussion among experts as well as the broader public. During the course of its creation, the Atlas developed into an instrument of cognition.

Warburg’s methodology set new standards: it consisted in rearranging canonized images and looking at them across epochs. His project traversed the boundaries between art history, philosophy and anthropology and was fundamental for the modern disciplines of visual and media studies. Today, his use of visual memory provides inspiration and alternative routes through a reality dominated by visual media.

The exhibition at HKW restores the last documented version of the 1929 Atlas almost completely with the original illustrations. In collaboration with the Warburg Institute in London, the curators Roberto Ohrt and Axel Heil have located most of the 971 illustrations from the 450,000 individual images in the Institute’s Photo Collection and Library to show Warburg’s unfinished magnum opus in its entirety for the first time since his death.

On the occasion of the exhibition two pubications will be pubished by Hatje Cantz: A folio volume gathers the 63 plates of Warburg’s Atlas – newly photographed from the original, multi-colored images, along with essays by Axel Heil, Roberto Ohrt, Bernd Scherer, Bill Sherman and Claudia Wedepohl. Another volume with extensive commentaries by the curators will be published in Fall 2020.

The exhibition is curated by Roberto Ohrt and Axel Heil in cooperation with the Warburg Institute, London.

Part of The New Alphabet

Running concurrently to the exhibition at HKW, the Gemäldegalerie presents the exhibition Between Cosmos and Pathos that shows artworks ranging from prehistory and early history through to the modern age that Warburg used as the basis for his encyclopaedic image collection.

Postponed to fall 2020

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne

Das Original
Verschoben auf Herbst 2020

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, Tafel 39 (wiederhergestellt, Detail) | Foto: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, Tafel 39 (wiederhergestellt, Detail) | Foto: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, Tafel C (wiederhergestellt, Detail) | Foto: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, Tafel C (wiederhergestellt, Detail) | Foto: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, Tafeln 6 & 77 (wiederhergestellt) | Foto: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg, Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, Tafeln 6 & 77 (wiederhergestellt) | Foto: Wootton / fluid; Courtesy The Warburg Institute, London

Aby Warburg mit Gertrud Bing und Franz Alber vor Warburgs Tafelentwürfen, Rome, Palace Hotel, Mai 1929

Aby Warburg mit Gertrud Bing und Franz Alber vor Warburgs Tafelentwürfen, Rome, Palace Hotel, Mai 1929

In den 1920er Jahren entwickelte der Kunst- und Kulturhistoriker Aby Warburg (1866–1929) seinen sogenannten Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, der wiederkehrende visuelle Themen und Muster von der Antike über die Renaissance bis zur Gegenwartskultur nachzeichnet. Sein Ansatz ist Inspiration für die visuell und digital dominierte Welt von heute. Das HKW präsentiert die 63 Tafeln des Atlas – erstmals wiederhergestellt mit Warburgs originalem Bildmaterial.

Aby Warburg studierte die Wechselwirkungen von Bildern aus verschiedenen Epochen und kulturellen Kontexten. Er entwickelte den Bilderatlas Mnemosyne, um die Einflüsse der Antike auf die Renaissance und weit darüber hinaus bildlich darstellbar zu machen. Der Atlas bestand aus 63 großen schwarzen Tafeln, auf denen Warburg fotografische Reproduktionen von Kunstwerken aus dem Nahen Osten, der europäischen Antike und der Renaissance neben zeitgenössischen Zeitungsausschnitten und Werbeanzeigen anordnete. In den Jahren vor seinem Tod 1929 experimentierten Warburg und seine engsten Mitarbeiter*innen Gertrud Bing und Fritz Saxl mit Form und Funktion des Bilderatlas. Ihr Ziel war eine Publikation, die für die Diskussion zwischen Expert*innen ebenso wie für das breitere Publikum gedacht war. Im Entstehungsprozess entwickelte sich der Atlas zu einem Erkenntnisinstrument.

Warburgs Methodik setzte neue Maßstäbe: Sie bestand darin, kanonisierte Bilder neu anzuordnen und sie epochenübergreifend zu betrachteten; sein Projekt überschritt die Fachgrenzen zwischen Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie und Anthropologie und war grundlegend für die heutigen Disziplinen der Bild- und Medienwissenschaften. Heute bietet sein Umgang mit dem Bildgedächtnis Inspiration und alternative Routen durch eine von visuellen Medien bestimmte Realität.

Die Ausstellung im HKW stellt die letzte dokumentierte Version des Atlas von 1929 nahezu vollständig mit den Originalabbildungen wieder her: Die Kuratoren Roberto Ohrt und Axel Heil haben dafür in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Londoner Warburg Institute den größten Teil der 971 Abbildungen in der 450.000 Einzelabbildungen zählenden Fotografiensammlung und Bibliothek des Instituts aufgespürt – und zeigen zum ersten Mal nach Warburgs Tod sein gesamtes unvollendetes Hauptwerk.

Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheinen zwei Publikationen im Hatje Cantz Verlag: Eine Publikation im Folio-Format versammelt die 63 Bildtafeln von Warburgs Atlas – neu fotografiert mit dem originalen, vielfarbigen Bildmaterial, mit Texten von Axel Heil, Roberto Ohrt, Bernd Scherer, Bill Sherman, Claudia Wedepohl. Daneben erscheint ein Textband mit ausführlichen Kommentaren der Kuratoren im Herbst 2020.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Roberto Ohrt und Axel Heil in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Warburg Institute, London.

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Parallel zur HKW-Ausstellung zeigt die Gemäldegalerie in der Ausstellung Zwischen Kosmos und Pathos Kunstwerke von der Vor- und Frühgeschichte bis zur Neuzeit, die Warburg als Vorlagen seiner enzyklopädischen Bildersammlung dienten.

Verschoben auf Herbst 2020

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung