Looking at Music: After the Laptop Performance

Rebecca Fiebrink, Lars TCF Holdhus, Isabel Lewis, Olivia Jack, moderated by Peter Kirn

What is the future of music performance? What role does visibility play in experiencing music? The role played by “liveness,” the physical presence and appeal of watching music being created, has been questioned not only since the pandemic and the increased relocation of events to the digital space.

Music produced on the computer has broken the centuries-old codes of the concert. With laptop performance, it established a format in which the audience stares at people staring at screens. But the joke has been going around for more than 20 years that you can’t tell whether electronic musicians aren’t just checking their emails. Computer software as a musical instrument lacks materiality; for the concert experience there is no visible connection between cause (gesture) and effect (sound). These difficult prerequisites for the performance of computer music have led to a number of new approaches: From screen views of algoraves to sensor-based musical instruments and virtual reality shows, visual stimuli are being reintroduced into electronic music performance on different levels; others have abandoned the format of the stage-based spectacle completely.

Isabel Lewis

Isabel Lewis (artist, DJ, dancer, philosopher) experiments with event formats in which sound and smell replace the primacy of the visual and the premises of the music performance are completely eliminated.

Olivia Jack

Olivia Jack (artist, coder) is active as a programmer and artist in the algorave scene and deals with the possibilities of live collaboration over the Internet.

Rebecca Fiebrink

Rebecca Fiebrink (Creative Computing Institute, University of the Arts London / Computing, Goldsmiths University of London) researches and develops machine learning technology for the invention of digital, gesture-controlled musical instruments.

Lars TCF Holdhus

Lars TCF Holdhus (musician, artist) has used AI to develop performance software that will replace him on tour in the future.

Conversation

Moderated by Peter Kirn (musician, producer, DJ, journalist)

Looking at Music: After the Laptop Performance

Rebecca Fiebrink, Lars TCF Holdhus, Isabel Lewis, Olivia Jack, moderiert von Peter Kirn

Was ist die Zukunft der Musikaufführung? Welche Rolle spielt die Sichtbarkeit für das Erleben von Musik? Nicht erst seit der Pandemie und der vermehrten Verlagerung von Veranstaltungen in den digitalen Raum steht infrage, welche Rolle „Liveness“, physische Präsenz und der Reiz, Musik bei ihrer Entstehung zuzusehen, heute noch spielen.

Musik, die am Rechner produziert wird, hat die jahrhundertealten Codes des Konzerts gebrochen. Mit der Laptop-Performance hat sie ein Format etabliert, bei dem das Publikum auf Menschen starrt, die auf Bildschirme starren. Dabei hält bereits seit mehr als 20 Jahren der Kalauer stand, man könne ja nicht wissen, ob Elektronik-Musiker*innen nicht bloß ihre E-Mails checken. Der Computersoftware als Musikinstrument fehlt die Materialität, für das Konzerterlebnis fehlt der sichtbare Zusammenhang zwischen Ursache (Geste) und Wirkung (Klang). Diese schwierigen Voraussetzungen für die Performance von Computermusik haben zu einer Reihe neuer Ansätze geführt: Von den Bildschirmansichten auf Algoraves über sensorbasierte Musikinstrumente bis hin zu Virtual Reality-Shows werden auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen visuelle Reize in der elektronischen Musikperformance wiedereingeführt; andere geben das Format des Bühnenzentrierten Spektakels komplett auf.

Isabel Lewis

Isabel Lewis (Künstlerin, DJ, Tänzerin, Philosophin) wiederum experimentiert mit Veranstaltungsformaten, in denen Klang und Geruch das Primat des Visuellen ersetzen und die Prämissen der Musikvorführung gänzlich aufgehoben sind.

Olivia Jack

Olivia Jack (Künstlerin, Coderin) ist als Programmiererin und Künstlerin in der Algorave-Szene aktiv und setzt sich mit den Möglichkeiten von Live-Kollaboration übers Internet auseinander.

Rebecca Fiebrink

Rebecca Fiebrink (Creative Computing Institute, University of the Arts London / Computing, Goldsmiths University of London) erforscht und entwickelt Machine Learning-Technik zur Erfindung digitaler, gestisch kontrollierbarer Musikinstrumente.

Lars TCF Holdhus

Lars TCF Holdhus (Musiker, Künstler) hat mithilfe von KI eine Performance-Software entwickelt, die ihn zukünftig auf Tour ersetzen soll.

Gespräch

Moderiert von Peter Kirn (Musiker, Produzent, DJ, Journalist)