Schools of Tomorrow


2020

Photo: Laura Fiorio/HKW

Photo: Laura Fiorio/HKW

Schools are laboratories for the society of tomorrow. But how can they become places where the future is produced? What social actors are needed? And what exactly do students want? Students, artists, educators and academics work together to explore how schools can be co-created.

In the third edition of the Schools of Tomorrow project, HKW is initiating new school projects to artistically research the future of schools. How can the transition from school to “real life” succeed better? How can a curriculum be designed to help young people prepare for the complexities of the present and empower them to actively shape them? How can art contribute to handling our society, its structures, functions and interdependencies? In tandem with artists, activists and everyday experts, students explore the pathways of merchandise ordered at the click of a mouse, get to the bottom of our medical system, develop empowering strategies for dealing with bureaucracy and politics or explore the consequences of climate change and digitization. The project results will be presented at HKW on September 24 and 25, 2020. In addition, a conference on September 25 and 26, 2020 will negotiate current topics in educational policy.

From May 2017 until June 2018, a kick-off conference, an ideas competition and 21 school projects followed by a Test Run for the School of the Future negotiated ideas from everyday school life and concepts for school practice as part of Schools of Tomorrow. In 2019, teachers are reviewing the ideas developed in a practice-oriented further education course.

Part of The New Alphabet

Upcoming dates:
Until January 15, 2020:
Registration for school projects

September 24 & 25, 2020
Presentation of school projects

September 25 & 26, 2020
Conference

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Resources

Das HKW ist vom 07. bis 26. Januar geschlossen.

Schools of Tomorrow 3


2020

Stine Marie Jacobsen | Law Shifters, A World Not Ours, 2017 | © Kunsthalle Mulhouse, courtesy the artist.

Stine Marie Jacobsen | Law Shifters, A World Not Ours, 2017 | © Kunsthalle Mulhouse, courtesy the artist.

Schulen sind Labore der Gesellschaft von morgen. Doch wie müssen sie sein, damit sie demokratisches und nachhaltiges Handeln ermöglichen? Was muss auf dem Lehrplan von morgen stehen? An zehn Berliner Schulen erkunden Schüler*innen mit Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Expert*innen des Alltags die Frage, wie Schule für das „Leben danach“ handlungsfähig machen kann.

In der dritten Ausgabe des Projekts Schools of Tomorrow initiiert das HKW neue Schulprojekte zur künstlerischeren Erforschung der Schule von morgen. Wie kann der Übergang von der Schule ins „Leben danach“ besser gelingen? Wie lässt sich ein Lehrplan gestalten, der jungen Menschen dabei hilft, sich für die Komplexitäten der Gegenwart zu wappnen und dazu ermächtigt, sie aktiv mit zu gestalten? Wie kann Kunst dazu beitragen, unserer Gesellschaft, ihren Strukturen, Funktionsweisen und Verflechtungen zu begegnen? Im Tandem mit Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Expert*innen des Alltags erkunden Schüler*innen die Wege von Waren, die mit einem Mausklick bestellt wurden, ergründen unser medizinisches System, entwickeln ermächtigende Strategien für den Umgang mit Bürokratie und Politik oder erforschen die Folgen des Klimawandels und der Digitalisierung. Die Projektergebnisse werden am 24. & 25. September 2020 im HKW präsentiert. Zusätzlich verhandelt eine Fachkonferenz am 25. & 26. September 2020 aktuelle bildungspolitische Themen.

Von Mai 2017 bis Juni 2018 verhandelten im Rahmen von Schools of Tomorrow eine Auftaktkonferenz, ein Ideenwettbewerb und 21 Schulprojekte mit abschließendem Testlauf für die Schule der Zukunft Ideen aus dem Schulalltag und Konzepte für die Schulpraxis. 2019 überprüfen Lehrer*innen die entwickelten Ideen in einer praxisorientierten Fortbildung.

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Nächste Termine:

24. & 25. September 2020
Präsentation der Schulprojekte

25. & 26. September 2020
Fachkonferenz

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung

Ressourcen