Die jüngste Tochter

Fatima Daas | Sina de Malafosse

Video: BFF | best films forever, music from „Radio Pristina EP“ by Wirefoxterrier

Die jüngste Tochter | Photo: Silke Briel

Die jüngste Tochter | Photo: Silke Briel

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2019

Jury’s comment

Every word of this autobiographical debut novel testifies to the dauntlessness and vulnerable honesty of the narrator, who grows up as the daughter of Algerian immigrants in Clichy-sous-Bois and attempts to honor the passionate simultaneity of coming out twice. The novel depicts the search for an identity in which a young woman can come closer to Islam and break free from sexual role ascriptions without having to defend one against the other. It is also a coming-of-age story that negotiates the tension between the Christian white majority society in Paris and the migrant minorities in the suburbs. All of this is told in a precisely poetic and incredibly contemporary way, drawing on traditions of Arabic literatures with great naturalness and range (Qur’an, poetry, rap). It’s as if a life in which identities can equally coexist had long existed. With Die jüngste Tochter (The Last One), Fatima Daas has charged on ahead of this life.

– Annika Reich, jury

Fatima Daas | © Joel Saget / Getty Images

Fatima Daas | © Joel Saget / Getty Images

Author: Fatima Daas

Fatima Daas studied creative writing at the University of Paris VIII. Her first novel, La petite dernière (The Last One), received the 2020 Prix Les Inrockuptibles for best debut novel and has been translated into several languages.

Sina de Malafosse | © private

Sina de Malafosse | © private

Translator: Sina de Malafosse

Sina de Malafosse studied Romance languages and comparative literature in Mainz and Dijon. After various stints in publishing, she has been translating from French since 2015, including works by Adeline Dieudonné, Pauline Delabroy-Allard and Violette Leduc. She lives in Toulouse.

Die jüngste Tochter

Fatima Daas | Sina de Malafosse

Die jüngste Tochter | Foto: Silke Briel

Die jüngste Tochter | Foto: Silke Briel

Jurykommentar

Jedes Wort dieses autofiktionalen Romandebüts zeugt von der Unerschrockenheit und verletzlichen Offenheit der Erzählerin, die als Tochter algerischer Einwanderer in Clichy aufwächst und versucht, die leidenschaftliche Gleichzeitigkeit zweier Outings zu ehren. Der Roman schildert die Suche nach einer Identität, in der eine junge Frau dem Islam näherkommen und sich von sexuellen Rollenzuschreibungen lösen kann, ohne das eine gegen das andere verteidigen zu müssen. Es ist auch eine Coming-of-Age-Geschichte und ein Text, der das Spannungsfeld zwischen der christlich-weißen Mehrheitsgesellschaft in Paris und den migrantisierten Minderheiten in den Vorstädten verhandelt. All das ist präzise poetisch und unerhört zeitgemäß erzählt und dabei in aller Selbstverständlichkeit und Spannbreite (Koran, Lyrik, Rap) auf Traditionen der arabischsprachigen Literaturen bezogen. So als gäbe es das Leben, in dem ein gleichwertiges Nebeneinander von Identitäten möglich ist, längst. Mit Die jüngste Tochter ist Fatima Daas diesem Leben vorausgeeilt.

– Annika Reich, Jury

Fatima Daas | © Joel Saget / Getty Images

Fatima Daas | © Joel Saget / Getty Images

Autorin: Fatima Daas

Fatima Daas studierte Literarisches Schreiben an der Universität Paris VIII. Ihr erster Roman, La petite dernière (Die jüngste Tochter), erhielt 2020 den Prix Les Inrockuptibles für das beste Debüt und wird in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt.

Sina de Malafosse | © privat

Sina de Malafosse | © privat

Übersetzerin: Sina de Malafosse

Sina de Malafosse studierte Romanistik und Komparatistik in Mainz und Dijon. Nach verschiedenen Stationen im Verlagswesen übersetzt sie seit 2015 aus dem Französischen, u. a. Adeline Dieudonné, Pauline Delabroy-Allard und Violette Leduc. Sie lebt in Toulouse.