Wetter

Jenny Offill | Melanie Walz

Video: BFF | best films forever, Music from “Radio Pristina EP” by Wirefoxterrier

Wetter | Photo: Silke Briel

Wetter | Photo: Silke Briel

Jury’s comment

A novel of the hour that captures with almost casual precision the eternally crisis-ridden feeling of our late-capitalist present, anticipating what has been abundantly clear at least since the pandemic: This crisis is a crisis in the crisis in the crisis. Offill’s narrator, New York librarian Lizzie, gauges the diffuse doomsday mood around the time of Trump’s election through her own everyday life – in brief observations, dry and often very funny. Worries about her son’s future or about her once drug-addicted brother upset Lizzie just as much as Brooklyn’s excessively hot summers. As an assistant for a climate podcast, she answers emails from concerned to panicked environmentalists, preppers and evangelicals. But what initially reads like a broad panorama of apocalyptic paranoia gains almost imperceptible momentum in Offill’s masterfully constructed novel. The focus becomes sharper: away from the weather, toward the climate. Offill doesn’t put easy answers in her narrator’s mouth. The fact that the novel nevertheless inspires hope is due as much to its experimental, breezy form as to Melanie Walz’s unerringly translated tone, whose humorous detachment allows neither cynical fatalism nor appeasing irony. Both elements create space to deal with the already ongoing catastrophe, to emerge from rigidity, to become active.

– Dominique Haensell, jury

Jenny Offill | © Emily Tobey

Jenny Offill | © Emily Tobey

Author: Jenny Offill

Jenny Offill lives in Brooklyn, New York. Weather is her second novel translated into German after Dept. of Speculation. It was on the shortlist of the Women’s Prize for Fiction and was named one of the best novels of 2020 by the New York Times and Esquire, among others.

Melanie Walz | © Annette Pohnert / Carl Hanser Verlag

Melanie Walz | © Annette Pohnert / Carl Hanser Verlag

Translator: Melanie Walz

Melanie Walz lives in Munich and is a translator from English. She has translated numerous renowned authors into German, including Patricia Highsmith, Charles Dickens, Michael Ondaatje, Maya Angelou, Virginia Woolf and most recently George Eliot.

Wetter

Jenny Offill | Melanie Walz

Video: BFF | best films forever, Musik aus „Radio Pristina EP“ von Wirefoxterrier

Wetter | Foto: Silke Briel

Wetter | Foto: Silke Briel

Jurykommentar

Ein Roman zur Stunde, der mit fast beiläufiger Präzision das ewig krisenhafte Gefühl unserer spätkapitalistischen Gegenwart einfängt und damit vorausnimmt, was mindestens seit der Pandemie überdeutlich ist: Diese Krise ist eine Krise in der Krise in der Krise. Offills Erzählerin, die New Yorker Bibliothekarin Lizzie, misst die diffuse Endzeitstimmung um den Zeitpunkt der Wahl Trumps anhand ihres eigenen Alltags – in kurzen Beobachtungen, trocken und oftmals sehr komisch. Sorgen über die Zukunft des Sohnes oder über den einst drogenabhängigen Bruder treiben Lizzie ebenso um wie die zu heißen Sommer in Brooklyn. Als Assistentin für einen Klima-Podcast beantwortet sie Emails von besorgten bis panischen Umweltschützenden, Preppern und Evangelikalen. Doch was sich zunächst wie ein breites Panorama apokalyptischer Paranoia liest, gewinnt in Offills meisterhaft konstruiertem Roman beinahe unmerklich an Fahrt. Der Fokus wird schärfer: weg vom Wetter, hin zum Klima. Offill legt ihrer Erzählerin keine einfachen Antworten in den Mund. Dass der Roman dennoch Hoffnung schenkt, liegt ebenso an seiner experimentellen, luftigen Form wie an dem von Melanie Walz treffsicher übersetzten Ton, dessen humorvolle Distanz weder zynischen Fatalismus noch abwiegelnde Ironie zulässt. Beide Elemente schaffen Raum, um sich mit der bereits andauernden Katastrophe auseinanderzusetzen, aus der Starre zu kommen, aktiv zu werden.

– Dominique Haensell, Jury

Jenny Offill | © Emily Tobey

Jenny Offill | © Emily Tobey

Autorin: Jenny Offill

Jenny Offill lebt im New Yorker Stadtteil Brooklyn. Weather (Wetter) ist nach Dept. of Speculation (Amt für Mutmaßungen) ihr zweiter ins Deutsche übersetzte Roman. Er stand auf der Shortlist des Women's Prize for Fiction und wurde u. a. von der New York Times und Esquire zu den besten Romanen des Jahres 2020 gezählt.

Melanie Walz | © Annette Pohnert / Carl Hanser Verlag

Melanie Walz | © Annette Pohnert / Carl Hanser Verlag

Übersetzerin: Melanie Walz

Melanie Walz lebt in München und ist Übersetzerin aus dem Englischen. Sie übertrug zahlreiche namhafte Autor*innen ins Deutsche, u. a. Patricia Highsmith, Charles Dickens, Michael Ondaatje, Maya Angelou, Virginia Woolf und zuletzt George Eliot.