Rajkamal Kahlon, detail from "You've Come a Long Way, Baby!" from the Double Take Series, 2011
Rajkamal Kahlon, detail from “Die Völker der Erde/People of the Earth”, 2017-2021
Rajkamal Kahlon, “I can’t stop loving you” from the project “Double Take”. 2010

2020–2022 Conference Jul 2 & 3

The White West IV: Whose Universal?

2020–2022

Conference
July 2 & 3, 2022
Akademie der Künste (Hanseatenweg)

Podcast
Since October 2020

Is fascism a negation of modernity or one of its constitutive features? Whose Universal? is a conference devoted to theorizing the poorly understood connection between settler colonialism and fascism, taking up Aimé Césaire’s Discourse on Colonialism.

In his famous essay Discourse on Colonialism, poet Aimé Césaire argued that what Europe calls “fascism” is just colonial violence finding its way back home. Yet, his warnings went unheeded, leaving the postwar consensus to settle on the notion that fascism was a distortion or negation of modernity, not one of its constitutive features. Also obscured was the role universalism plays in the construction of the subject it claims to represent, and by extension, the construction of the subject it excludes.

Whose Universal? contends that without the will to confront the structuring role of colonial schemas in Western epistemology, appeals to universal values and principles – like “all lives matter” – contribute to the emergence of an equivocal space in which a critique or disruption of capitalism can be inflected in the direction of fascism.

Whose Universal? is the fourth iteration of a series of conferences devoted to theorizing the poorly understood connection between settler colonialism and fascism, as well as the different facets of what social theorist Nikhil Pal Singh termed “the afterlife of fascism,” and the structures of affect they engender. Past issues of the series took place under the title The White West at La Colonie, Paris (part I and part II) and at Kunsthalle Wien (part III).

Organized by Kader Attia, Anselm Franke and Ana Teixeira Pinto

Part of The New Alphabet

Rajkamal Kahlon, Detail aus "You've Come a Long Way, Baby!" aus der Double Take Series, 2011
Rajkamal Kahlon, Detail aus “Die Völker der Erde/People of the Earth”, 2017-2021
Rajkamal Kahlon, “I can’t stop loving you” from the project “Double Take”. 2010

2020–2022 Konferenz 2. & 3.7.

The White West IV: Whose Universal?

2020–2022

Konferenz
2. & 3.7.2022
Akademie der Künste (Hanseatenweg)
Mehr zum Programm auf: 12.berlinbiennale.de

Podcast
Seit Oktober 2020

Ist Faschismus eine Negation der Moderne oder eine sie konstituierende Eigenschaft? Die Konferenz Whose Universal? untersucht die unzureichend verstandene Beziehung zwischen Siedlerkolonialismus und Faschismus und knüpft damit an Aimé Césaires Gedanken Über den Kolonialismus an.

In seinem berühmten Aufsatz Über den Kolonialismus schrieb Aimé Césaire, der europäische „Faschismus“ sei nichts anderes als die Gewalt des Kolonialismus, die in der Heimat zurückschlägt. Ungeachtet der warnenden Worte des Dichters lautete der Nachkriegskonsens jedoch, Faschismus sei eine Verzerrung oder Negation der Moderne, nicht eine sie konstituierende Eigenschaft. Unbeachtet blieb dabei auch die Rolle des Universalismus in der Konstruktion des Subjekts, das er zu repräsentieren vorgibt und damit auch die Konstruktion des Subjekts, das er ausschließt.

Bei Whose Universal? geht es um die Auseinandersetzung mit der strukturbildenden Rolle kolonialer Kategorien in der westlichen Epistemologie. Denn ohne die Bereitschaft dazu können Appelle an universelle Werte und Grundsätze – wie „all lives matter / jedes Leben zählt“ – zur Entstehung eines so uneindeutigen diskursiven Raums beitragen, dass in ihm Kapitalismus-Kritik oder -Disruption in Richtung Faschismus gebeugt werden kann.

Whose Universal? ist Teil einer Reihe von Konferenzen zur theoretischen Erörterung der unzureichend verstandenen Beziehung zwischen Siedlerkolonialismus und Faschismus. Zur Diskussion stehen die verschiedenen Facetten des vom Sozialtheoretiker Nikhil Pal Singh beschriebenen „Nachlebens des Faschismus“ sowie deren Affektstrukturen. Die vorherigen Editionen der Serie fanden unter dem Titel The White West in La Colonie, Paris (Teil I und Teil II), der Kunsthalle Wien (Teil III) und im HKW (Teil IV) statt.

Organisiert von Kader Attia, Anselm Franke und Ana Teixeira Pinto

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet