Film still from We’re Alive, 1974, realized by the Video Workshop of the California Institute for Women and the Women’s Film Workshop of the University of California, Los Angeles., UCLA Film & Television Archive

2022, Jun 19, Sun — 2022, Aug 28, Sun

No Master Territories

Feminist Worldmaking and the Moving Image

Exhibition, Publication

June 19–Aug 28, 2022

What might a transnational history of nonfiction cinema by and about women look like?

At a time when feminism is enjoying a mainstream resurgence but must be reclaimed from a neoliberal emphasis on individual success, and when the hybridization of documentary and artists’ film occupies a vital place in the landscape of contemporary practices, the exhibition No Master Territories makes a strategic return to the past – both to pay homage to the important work that has come before and to respond to the urgencies of the present.

Bridging the fields of documentary and artists’ film, No Master Territories assembles a plurality of practices to offer an expansive, intersectional account of underappreciated encounters between feminism and the moving image. Across a polycentric, global geography, it delves into how artists and filmmakers have explored the nexus of gender and power, often charting sites at which feminism connects to other struggles for justice.

Part of The New Alphabet

Artists included are, among others, Claudia von Alemann, Chaski Group, Han Ok-hee, Ann Carney & Barbara Phillips, Safi Faye, Mona Hatoum, Nalini Malani, Sarah Maldoror, Annabella Miscuglio, Helke Misselwitz, Michelle Mohabeer, Tracey Moffatt, Gunvor Nelson, Paper Tiger TV, Letícia Parente, Jocelyne Saab, Claudia Schillinger, Anne Severson, Penelope Spheeris, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Agnès Varda, Joyce Wieland

Curators: Erika Balsom and Hila Peleg

The accompanying book will be published by MIT Press in 2022.

Die Ausstellung wird 2023 im Museum of Modern Art in Warschau gezeigt.

No Master Territories

Feminist Worldmaking and the Moving Image
So., 19. Juni 2022 — So., 28. August 2022

Film still from We’re Alive, 1974, realized by the Video Workshop of the California Institute for Women and the Women’s Film Workshop of the University of California, Los Angeles. | UCLA Film & Television Archive

Film still from We’re Alive, 1974, realized by the Video Workshop of the California Institute for Women and the Women’s Film Workshop of the University of California, Los Angeles. | UCLA Film & Television Archive

Wie kann eine transnationale Geschichtsschreibung des Non-Fiction-Kinos von und über Frauen aussehen? Einerseits ist der Feminismus heute längst im Mainstream angekommen. Andererseits muss er gegen ein neoliberales Idealbild des erfolgreichen Individuums verteidigt werden. Im Feld der zeitgenössischen Kunst haben sich hybride Formen zwischen Dokumentar- und Kunstfilm weitgehend etabliert. In diesen Zusammenhängen wirft die Ausstellung No Master Territories einen strategischen Blick in die Vergangenheit – um wegbereitende Arbeiten zu würdigen, aber auch um Antworten auf die Dringlichkeiten der Gegenwart zu finden.

No Master Territories versammelt die vielfältigen Praxen des Dokumentarischen und des Kunstfilms für einen intersektionalen Blick auf das oft unterschätzte Aufeinandertreffen von Feminismus und Bewegtbild. Quer durch globale und polyzentrische Geografien fragt sie, wie Künstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen die Verschränkung von Gender und Macht erkundet haben. Dabei legt sie Kontaktzonen zwischen feministischen und anderen Gerechtigkeitskämpfen frei.

Mit künstlerischen Beiträgen von Claudia von Alemann, Chaski Group, Han Ok-hee, Ann Carney & Barbara Phillips, Safi Faye, Mona Hatoum, Nalini Malani, Sarah Maldoror, Annabella Miscuglio, Helke Misselwitz, Michelle Mohabeer, Tracey Moffatt, Gunvor Nelson, Paper Tiger TV, Letícia Parente, Jocelyne Saab, Claudia Schillinger, Anne Severson, Penelope Spheeris, Trinh T. Minh-ha, Agnès Varda, Joyce Wieland u. a.

Kuratorinnen: Erika Balsom und Hila Peleg

Eine begleitende Publikation erscheint 2022 bei MIT Press.

Die Ausstellung wird 2023 im Museum of Modern Art in Warschau gezeigt.

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet

Ausstellung, Publikation

19. Juni – 28. August 2022

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung