re:place 2007

Second International Conference on the Histories of Media, Art, Science and Technology
2007, Nov 15, Thu — 2007, Nov 18, Sun

In ten dedicated forums participants will present and discuss interdisciplinary efforts from an historical perspective, highlighting the fruitful moments of collaboration between scientists, engineers and artists. Taking 'place studies' as examples, they will consider particular locations and historical constellations, such as the University of Madrid's computer science centre from 1966 to 1973, or the Polish film avant-garde of the 1960s. One forum will be devoted solely to the unique course of developments in Russia and the Soviet Union between 1900 and 1970. Talks on the history of media art in Africa and Latin America will provide occasion for debate on prevailing – frequently Western-dominated – cultural and historical paradigms.

Prominent scientists and artists will address central themes of the conference in three keynote lectures of broad interest. Internationally composed working groups will hold workshops and meetings prior to and following the conference.

re:place 2007 is an undertaking of Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in cooperation with the House of World Cultures in Berlin. Dr. Andreas Broeckmann (Berlin) and Prof. Gunalan Nadarajan (Penn State University, USA) will head the conference.

Funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Cooperation partners in the project include, among others: Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik, Humboldt University Berlin; Database of Virtual Art – Department for Image Science, Danube University Krems; Ludwig Boltzmann Institute Media.Art.Research., Linz; LEONARDO international network for art, science and technology; TESLA media art laboratory, Berlin; Goethe Institut, Munich; Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Stuttgart.

re:place 2007

Zweite internationale Konferenz über die Geschichte der Medien, Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie
Do., 15. November 2007 — So., 18. November 2007

Zehn thematische Foren beschäftigen sich mit der Präsentation und der Diskussion interdisziplinärer Ansätze in historischer Perspektive. Im Mittelpunkt stehen immer wieder die fruchtbaren Momente der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaftlern, Ingenieuren und Künstlern. Anhand exemplarischer "Place Studies" (Ortsstudien) werden bestimmte Orte und historische Konstellationen beobachtet, wie z.B. das Computerwissenschaftliche Zentrum der Universität Madrid zwischen 1966 und 1973, oder die polnische Filmavantgarde der 1960er Jahre. Der besonderen Entwicklung in Russland und der Sowjetunion zwischen 1900 und 1970 ist ein ganzes Forum gewidmet. Vorträge über die Geschichte der Medienkunst in Afrika oder Lateinamerika bieten Anlass zu Diskussionen über vorherrschende, oftmals durch "westliche" Vorstellungen geprägte kulturelle und historische Paradigmen.

In drei "Keynote"-Vorträgen, die sich an ein breiteres Publikum richten, werden zentrale Themen der Konferenz durch herausragende Wissenschaftler und Künstler behandelt. Im Vorfeld und im Anschluss an die Konferenz finden Workshops und Treffen internationaler Arbeitsgruppen statt.

re:place 2007 ist ein Projekt der Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin. Konferenzleitung: Dr. Andreas Broeckmann (Berlin/D), Prof. Gunalan Nadarajan (Penn State University/USA)

Gefördert vom Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Zu den Kooperationspartnern gehören u.a.: Helmholtz-Zentrum für Kulturtechnik, Humboldt Universität Berlin; Datenbank für Virtuellen Kunst - Donau-Universität Krems - Zentrum für Bildwissenschaft; Ludwig Boltzmann Institut Media.Art.Research, Linz; LEONARDO, internationales Netzwerk für Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie; TESLA Medien-Kunst-Labor, Berlin; Goethe Institut, München; Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Stuttgart.