African Screens - New Cinemas from Africa

Film festival
2008, Oct 09, Thu — 2008, Nov 09, Sun

One of the most fascinating things about the new African filmscape is the fact that Africans from every country on the continent now have their say and address cinema audiences across the globe. They choose global themes from the most diverse and sometimes very personal angles: such as the end of nationalist utopias in Africa and the overcoming of proverbial Afro-pessimism.

African Screens presents current developments and creative visions in contemporary African film. An entire series of competing and often contradictory film languages is waiting to be discovered. Critical positions, in particular, are hardly ever seen in Europe because they contradict the politically correct and monolithic definition of African cinema upheld by festivals and cultural institutions here. We can only access its rich cinematic vocabulary and wealth of creative and political ideas once we stop focussing entirely on the difference between African and western cinema, and look instead at the difference in the cinematic languages and political visions inside Africa itself.

A long weekend will be devoted to the final edition of FESPACO in Ouagadougou, which attracts more members of the public than any other festival in the world. It is being held in co-operation with ARIKAMERA 2008, an initiative of the association Toucouleur e.V. Under the motto ‘migrating identities’, the programme curated by Alex Moussa Sawadogo is showing eight important films on the themes of cultural identity and migration.

Manthia Diawara, born in Mali, runs the department of Africana Studies at New York University. With books such as African Cinema (1985) and Black American Cinema (1993) Manthia Diawara, who engages in film and literary criticism, has written some pioneering works in the area of black cultural studies. The films he has directed include Rouch in Reverse, a portrait of the famous ethnographical film-maker Jean Rouch and (with Ngûgî wa Thiong’o) the documentary film Sembene Ousmane: The Making of the African Cinema.

Past Events
Sunday, Nov 9 2008
Saturday, Nov 8 2008
Friday, Nov 7 2008
Thursday, Nov 6 2008
Sunday, Nov 2 2008
Saturday, Nov 1 2008
Friday, Oct 31 2008
Thursday, Oct 30 2008
Sunday, Oct 26 2008
Saturday, Oct 25 2008
Friday, Oct 24 2008
Thursday, Oct 23 2008
Sunday, Oct 19 2008
Saturday, Oct 18 2008
Friday, Oct 17 2008
Thursday, Oct 16 2008
Sunday, Oct 12 2008
Saturday, Oct 11 2008
Friday, Oct 10 2008
Thursday, Oct 9 2008

African Screens - Neues Kino aus Afrika

Filmfestival
Do., 09. Oktober 2008 — So., 09. November 2008

Faszinierend an den neuen afrikanischen Filmlandschaften ist nicht zuletzt, dass in ihnen Afrikaner aller Länder zu Wort kommen und sich an Filmöffentlichkeiten weltweit wenden. Sie erschließen globale Themen aus den verschiedensten, zum Teil sehr persönlichen Blickwinkeln – etwa das Ende der nationalistischen Utopie in Afrika, aber auch die Überwindung des sprichwörtlichen Afro-Pessimismus.

African Screens zeigt aktuelle Entwicklungen und kreative Visionen im zeitgenössischen afrikanischen Film. Eine ganze Reihe konkurrierender und oft auch gegensätzlicher Filmsprachen gibt es zu entdecken. Gerade kritische Positionen sind in Europa kaum zu sehen, weil sie im Widerspruch zu einer so politisch korrekten wie monolithischen Definition des afrikanischen Films durch hiesige Festivals und Kulturinstitutionen stehen. Der tatsächlich vorhandene Reichtum des filmischen Vokabulars, die Bandbreite schöpferischer wie politischer Vorstellungen erschließt sich aber erst, wenn wir weniger den Unterschied zwischen afrikanischen und westlichen Filmen im Blick haben, sondern die Verschiedenheit der Filmsprachen und politischen Visionen innerhalb Afrikas.

Ein langes Wochenende wird der letzten Ausgabe des publikumsstärksten Festivals der Welt, dem FESPACO in Ouagadougou, gewidmet. Diese Veranstaltung findet in Kooperation mit AFRIKAMERA 2008, einer Initivative des Vereins toucouleur e.V., statt. Das von Alex Moussa Sawadogo kuratierte Programm zeigt unter dem Motto „Migrating Identities“ acht wichtige Produktionen zu kultureller Identität und Migration.

Manthia Diawara, geboren in Mali, leitet den Fachbereich Africana Studies an der New York University. Mit Büchern wie African Cinema (1985) oder Black American Cinema (1993) hat der Film- und Literaturwissenschaftler bahnbrechende Werke der Black Cultural Studies verfasst. Als Regisseur hat er u.a. Rouch in Reverse, ein Porträt des berühmten ethnografischen Filmemachers Jean Rouch, und – gemeinsam mit Ngûgî wa Thiong’o – den Dokumentarfilm Sembene Ousmane: The Making of the African Cinema gedreht.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen
Sonntag 09.11.2008
Samstag 08.11.2008
Freitag 07.11.2008
Donnerstag 06.11.2008
Sonntag 02.11.2008
Samstag 01.11.2008
Freitag 31.10.2008
Donnerstag 30.10.2008
Sonntag 26.10.2008
Samstag 25.10.2008
Freitag 24.10.2008
Donnerstag 23.10.2008
Sonntag 19.10.2008
Samstag 18.10.2008
Freitag 17.10.2008
Donnerstag 16.10.2008
Sonntag 12.10.2008
Samstag 11.10.2008
Freitag 10.10.2008
Donnerstag 09.10.2008