2010, Sep 15, Wed — 2010, Sep 25, Sat

10th international literature festival berlin 2010

Focus on Eastern Europe

Readings, discussions, concerts

Experience literary diversity in an era of globalization: Arab poets meet American short story writers, South Korean poets their Russian colleagues, South African novelists meet Albanian young talents.

Wed 15.9. 19 h Opening with Juan Goytisolo | 21 h Concert Serhij Zhadan & Sobaky V Kosmosi (Ukraine)

Exciting new discoveries enjoy equal footing with the established greats of world literature. The foreign emerges and the familiar becomes apparent when more than 200 authors participate in 250 events over eleven days, allowing insights into new and traditional developments in contemporary world literature. Prose and poetry, conversations with the authors and political discussions, children’s and youth literature, film adaptations – the ilb is a lively polyglot forum, by and for literary enthusiasts. The focus of this 10th festival, which takes place this year at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, is the culture and politics of Eastern Europe: between cosmopolitanism and nationalism, tristesse and a new lust for life.

Tickets: www.berlinerfestspiele.de , 030 - 25 48 91 00 | info www.literaturfestival.com

The international literature festival berlin is an event of the Peter Weiss Foundation for Art and Politics (registered association) and the Berliner Festspiele in cooperation with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt. It is under the auspices of the German UNESCO Commission and is made possible by funding from the Capital Cultural Fund.

Mi., 15. September 2010 — Sa., 25. September 2010

10. internationales literaturfestival berlin 2010

Fokus Osteuropa

Lesungen, Diskussionen, Konzerte

Literarische Vielfalt in Zeiten der Globalisierung erleben: Arabische Lyriker treffen amerikanische Shortstory-Schreiber, südkoreanische Poeten ihre russischen Kollegen, südafrikanische Romanciers den albanischen Nachwuchs.

Mi 15.9. 19 h Eröffnung mit Juan Goytisolo | 21 h Konzert Serhij Zhadan & Sobaky V Kosmosi (Ukraine)

Spannende Neuentdeckungen stehen gleichberechtigt neben den anerkannten Größen der Weltliteratur. Fremdes scheint auf, Verwandtes wird sichtbar, wenn in elf Tagen und 250 Veranstaltungen über 200 Autoren einen Einblick in neue und tradierte Entwicklungen der aktuellen Weltliteratur geben. Prosa und Lyrik, Gespräche mit Autoren und politische Diskussionen, Kinder- und Jugendliteratur, Literaturverfilmungen – das ilb ist ein lebendiges, polyglottes Forum von und für Literaturenthusiasten. Der Fokus der 10. Ausgabe, die in diesem Jahr am Haus der Kulturen der Welt stattfindet, liegt auf der Kultur und Politik Osteuropas: zwischen Weltoffenheit und Nationalismus, Tristesse und neuer Lebenslust.

Tickets: www.berlinerfestspiele.de , Tel. 030 - 25 48 91 00 | Info www.literaturfestival.com

Das internationale literaturfestival berlin ist eine Veranstaltung der Peter-Weiss-Stiftung für Kunst und Politik und der Berliner Festspiele in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Es steht unter der Schirmherrschaft der Deutschen UNESCO-Kommision und wird ermöglicht aus den Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds.