IN TRANSIT 06

Dance - Performance - Music
2006, May 24, Wed — 2006, Jun 04, Sun

From 24 May to 4 June, the House of World Cultures in Berlin is holding the fifth IN TRANSIT festival, which presents twenty new contemporary dance productions and four musical ballrooms. This time the focus is on Brazil, including a number of discussion forums and lecture demonstrations in the KnowledgeLab with Sarat Maharaj.

The festival, directed by Johannes Odenthal, opens with an outstanding dance series CURSIVE: A TRILOGY by the Cloud Gate Dance Theatre of Taiwan, and a concert by Brazilian pop star and cultural minister, Gilberto Gil . This year, IN TRANSIT is part of Copa da Cultura, the cultural programme devoted to Brazil to accompany the FIFA World Cup in 2006. Other modules in this comprehensive presentation of Brazilian art and culture at the House of World Cultures include the series Musica Popular Brasileira (10 June–8 July) and the exhibition Tropicalia – A Revolution in Brazilian Culture (11 June–9 July) from London.

Brazil has one of the liveliest and diversified dance scenes in the world. An incredibly dynamic body awareness that has left its mark on many areas of social life from carnival to sport plays an important part in shaping the young nation’s identity. The works presented at IN TRANSIT 06 focus on the brilliant as well as the vulnerable, wounded body. Lia Rodrigues' dramatic conceptual work thematises the ambivalent pleasure in watching (staged) violence. The group Cena 11 , who have already been to Berlin a number of times, present a new development in their radical investigations into the body. Ismael Ivo , Germany’s most famous artist of Brazilian origin, revives one of his first choreographies (completed in 1980), which marked the beginnings of his career and a new expressive dance language.

Also appearing at IN TRANSIT 06 will be the three productions – currently considered the best – by young African choreographers, who received awards at the renowned 6. Plattform Danse en Creations / Danse l’Afrique danse! (22–30 April) in Paris on 29 April. The jury selecting the winners of the competition, which received applications from 98 groups from 30 different countries, included Aminata Traore, Robyn Orlin, Gordana Vnuk and others. After the competition was over, the prize-winneing companies Andreya Ouamba (Senegal), Orchy Nzaba (Congo Brazzaville) and Panaibra Gabriel (Mozambique) went on an extensive world tour. IN TRANSIT 06 is showing the German première of the programme.

Lin Hwai-min, from Taiwan, is one of the most important choreographers in the world of dance. IN TRANSIT 06 is very pleased that it has succeeded in getting his Cloud Gate Dance Theatre to return to the House of World Cultures (where they first appeared in 1997) to première of CURSIVE: A TRILOGY in Europe. All three parts of Cursive are based on the philosophy of calligraphy, a highly abstract form of art that combines painting and writing and developed over several millennia in China. Dancers write with their bodies, bodies are transformed into dancing letters, the stage becomes the choreographer’s canvas. Concentrated, silent images of poetic beauty and endlessly flowing movements are the striking features of this unique opus magnum, which shows Lin-Hwai-min at the height of his creative powers. All three parts of the trilogy will be shown at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele from 24 to 30 May.

In the Laboratory IN TRANSIT is bringing together the main threads of debates held in recent years on current processes of artistic transformation in Eastern Asia, the Indian subcontinent, the Middle East, Black Africa and Latin America. The focus is on questions dealing with the construction of body images, identities and their relationship to conceptions held by the Others.

The Ballroom is the late-night meeting place offers a Brazilian mixture of rap, hip hop, traditional song, dance and instruments, turntables, samba and its equally rhythmic predecessor, maracatú. With Samba de Roda de Nicinha , Daniel Haaksman , Nelson Triunfo + Mamelo Sound System und Jazzanova , Baile Funk , Maracatu + DJ Dolores .

null IN TRANSIT 06 is part of , the cultural programme devoted to Brazil to accompany the FIFA World Cup in 2006.

Past Events
Sunday, Jun 4 2006
2006, May 25, Thu – 2006, Jun 4, Sun
Saturday, Jun 3 2006
Friday, Jun 2 2006
Thursday, Jun 1 2006
Wednesday, May 31 2006
Tuesday, May 30 2006
Monday, May 29 2006
Sunday, May 28 2006
Saturday, May 27 2006
2006, May 27, Sat
Friday, May 26 2006
Thursday, May 25 2006
Wednesday, May 24 2006

IN TRANSIT 06

Tanz - Performance - Musik
Mi, 24. Mai 2006 — So, 04. Juni 2006

Vom 24. Mai bis zum 4. Juni präsentiert das fünfte Festival IN TRANSIT im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), Berlin, 20 aktuelle zeitgenössische Tanzproduktionen und vier musikalische Ballrooms, diesmal mit dem Schwerpunkt Brasilien, sowie zahlreiche Diskussionsforen und Lecture Demonstrations im WissensLab mit Sarat Maharaj.

Das Festival unter der Leitung von Johannes Odenthal eröffnet mit der herausragenden Stückfolge CURSIVE: A TRILOGY der Cloud Gate Dance Theatre aus Taiwan und einem Konzert des brasilianischen Popstars und Kulturministers Gilberto Gil . Dieses Jahr ist IN TRANSIT Teil von Copa da Cultura, dem Kulturprogramm Brasiliens zur Fußball-WM 2006. Die weiteren Bausteine dieser umfassenden Präsentation brasilianischer Kunst und Kultur im HKW sind die Reihe “Musica Popular Brasileira” (10.6.- 8.7.) und die Ausstellung “Tropicalia - A Revolution in Brazilian Culture” (11.6.-9.7.) aus London.

Brasilien verfügt über eine der vitalsten und vielfältigsten Tanzszenen der Welt. Die Identität dieser jungen Nation stützt sich u. a. auf ein enorm dynamisches Körperbewusstsein, das viele soziale Bereiche vom Karneval bis zum Sport prägt. Im Zentrum der von IN TRANSIT 06 vorgestellten Stücke steht der virtuose, aber auch der zerbrechliche, der verwundete Körper. Die konzeptionell-drastische Arbeit von Lia Rodrigues thematisiert die ambivalente Lust am Betrachten von (inszenierter) Gewalt. Die bereits mehrfach nach Berlin eingeladene Gruppe Cena 11 zeigt eine Weiterentwicklung ihrer radikalen Körperforschung. Ismael Ivo , Deutschlands bekanntester Künstler brasilianischer Herkunft, zeigt die Wiederaufnahme einer seiner ersten Choreographien, 1980 entstanden, die den Ausgangspunkt seiner Karriere und einer neuen, expressiven Tanzsprache markiert.

Ebenfalls bei IN TRANSIT 06 zu sehen sind die drei derzeit besten Produktionen junger, afrikanischer Choreographen, die am 29. April bei der renommierten 6. Plattform Danse en Creations / Danse l’Afrique danse! (22.-30.4.) in Paris ausgezeichnet wurden. Aminata Traore, Robyn Orlin, Gordana Vnuk u. a. gehörten zur Jury für die Endauswahl, für die sich 98 Gruppen aus 30 Ländern bewarben. Unmittelbar im Anschluss gingen die prämierten Compagnien von Andreya Ouamba (Senegal), Orchy Nzaba (Kongo Brazzaville) und Panaibra Gabriel (Mozambique) auf eine umfangreiche Tournee. In Transit 06 zeigt die Deutschlandpremiere des Programms.

Der Taiwaner Lin Hwai-min zählt zu den bedeutendsten Choreografen der Tanzwelt. IN TRANSIT 06 freut sich besonders, dass es gelungen ist, mit der Europapremiere von CURSIVE: A TRILOGY sein Cloud Gate Dance Theatre an das Haus der Kulturen der Welt zurückzuholen, wo es 1997 erstmalig in Berlin auftrat. Die drei Teile von „Cursive“ basieren auf der Philosophie des Kalligraphierens, einer in China über Jahrtausende hinweg entwickelten, hochabstrakten Kunst zwischen Schrift und Malerei. Tänzer schreiben mit ihren Körpern, Körper verwandeln sich in tanzende Zeichen, die Bühne wird zur Leinwand des Choreographen. Konzentrierte Stille, poetisch-schöne Bilder und immerzu fliessende Bewegungen zeichnen dieses einmalige Opus Magnum aus und zeigen Lin Hwai-min auf dem Höhepunkt seines Schaffens. Die drei Teile der Trilogie werden vom 24. bis 30. Mai im Haus der Berliner Festspiele gezeigt.

Mit dem Laboratorium führt IN TRANSIT die Debatten der letzten Jahre zu den Themen aktueller künstlerischer Transformationsprozesse in Ostasien, dem indischen Subkontinent, dem Nahen und Mittleren Osten, Schwarzafrika und Lateinamerika zusammen. Im Zentrum stehen Fragen an die Konstruktionen von Körperbildern, Identitäten und deren Bezug auf die Vorstellungen des jeweils Anderen.

Der Ballroom ist der Treffpunkt bis in die Nacht: Die brasilianische Mischung von Rap, Hip Hop, traditionellen Gesängen, Tänzen und Instrumenten, Turntables, Samba und seinem ebenso rhythmischen Vorläufer Maracatú. Mit Samba de Roda de Nicinha , Daniel Haaksman , Nelson Triunfo + Mamelo Sound System und Jazzanova , Baile Funk , Maracatu + DJ Dolores .

null IN TRANSIT 06 ist Teil von , dem Kulturprogramm Brasiliens zur Fußball-WM 2006.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen
Sonntag 04.06.2006
25.05. – 04.06.2006
Samstag 03.06.2006
Freitag 02.06.2006
Donnerstag 01.06.2006
Mittwoch 31.05.2006
Dienstag 30.05.2006
Montag 29.05.2006
Sonntag 28.05.2006
Samstag 27.05.2006
27.05.2006
Freitag 26.05.2006
Donnerstag 25.05.2006
Mittwoch 24.05.2006