Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Thu, Oct 01

Time’s Attack on the Rest of Life: Experiment

With Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Sandeep Bhagwati, Evelina Domnitch & Dmitry Gelfand. Musicians: Felix Del Tredici, Navid Navab, Julian Stein, VALEKRIY

From: Mucilaginous Omniverse, lecture performance by Evelina Domnitch and Dmitry Gelfand

From: Mucilaginous Omniverse, lecture performance by Evelina Domnitch and Dmitry Gelfand

Time as a governing system is manifest in all realms of life. In the global village of technological time everyone can receive information any time from every possible place. There are no limits to wireless communication. It forms the basis for financial markets and in turn permanently speeds up the world. The future is already being used up by the present and blocked by huge amounts of data, trash and debt. With real-time communication and global mobility two time resources were lost: our sense of the past, which lends us our identity, and the utopian potential of our future.
During the opening of “100 Years of Now,” four events examine the period of one hundred years as a space for historical imagination of varying dimensions and nexuses of time: Which forces shape the dominant concept of time in accelerated capitalism? How does it affect our perception and interpretation of the world? How is time produced in experiments and in the laboratory? How do historical events, texts and cultures become spaces we can experience? And how do other notions of time enable alternative courses of action?

How do artistic and scholarly approaches and experiments affect how we experience time? How is our conception of time shaped by representations? The talk explores how time is frozen or accelerated in experiments, fixed in musical notation, or can be made perceptible in free improvisation, while scholarly, musical and artistic approaches will be brought into dialogue. Strictly composed experiments in the realm of quantum physics and music will be experienced as “comprovised” experiments between a preconceived concept and spontaneous improvisation.


Biographies

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger is a molecular biologist and historian of science. He studied philosophy, linguistics, and biology in Tübingen and Berlin. He is an honorary professor for the history of science at Berlin’s Technische Universität, holds an honorary doctorate from ETH Zürich, he is a member of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften and the Leopoldina and former director of Berlin’s Max Planck Institute for the History of Science. His current research interests are the history and epistemology of experimentation and the relationship between the sciences and the arts.

Sandeep Bhagwati is a prize-winning composer, director, and media artist and holds the Canada Research Chair for Inter-X Art at Montreal’s Concordia University, where he directs the matrallab, which he also founded. He is a former professor for composition and multimedia at Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe as well as director of the Hexagram-Concordia Centre for Research-Creation in Media Arts and Technologies. He directed several Festivals for new music (A•Devantgarde München, Klangriffe Karlsruhe, and Rasalila at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin).

Navid Navab is a Montreal based composer, improviser and audio-visual sculptor. For several years Navid has been an experimental researcher at IRCAM, CRIMMT, CNMAT, Topological Media Lab and Matralab. His award-winning pieces, which take on the form of gestural sound compositions, responsive architecture, site specific or theatrical interventions or kinetic sound-sculptures have been presented internationally at Canadian Center for Architecture, Festival du Nouveau Cinema, Shanghai eArts, Roulette New York, Western Front Vancouver, McCord Museum, Musée d'art Contemporain de Montréal, Timisoara Romania, Contemporary Arts Museum Houston, International Digital Arts Biennial, Festival International Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques, and CURRENTS Santa Fe among others.

Julian Stein is a sound and media-artist based in Phoenix, Arizona, whose work ranges from soundscape and electroacoustic composition to collaborative performance and kinetic sound installation. His work has been presented at renowned new-media arts festivals including MUTEK (Montreal, QC), MATA (New York, NY), ELEKTRA (Montreal, QC), and Electric Eclectics (Meaford, ON). Julian is a co-creator of the Montreal Sound Map, and currently a research associate at Matralab, part of the Hexagram Institute for Research/Creation at Concordia University.

Felix del Tredici is an “extraordinarily versatile trombonist” (New York Times) who gives performances that are “disturbing yet fascinating”. He is a member of Ensemble Moto Perpetuo, the Fonema Consort, and the New York Trombone Consort, he has performed with Ensemble Transmission, Ensemble Signal, and Klangforum Wien. Felix is a research assistant at Matralab, and collaborates closely with the Topological Media Lab. He is based in New York City.

VALEKRIY (Valerie Schepper) engages with both audible and inaudible acoustic vibrations as an artistic as well as medicinal practice. In the 1980s he founded Popolznowenje, a “ritual research orchestra.” While touring through Western Europe with his orchestra in 1991, the Soviet Union dissolved, prompting Valekriy to emigrate to the Netherlands where he has since remained. Valekriy's phenomenological approach to acoustics allows listeners to surmount their perceptual boundaries and delve into the very nature of sound.

Evelina Domnitch (St. Petersburg, Russia) & Dmitry Gelfand (Minsk, Belarus) create sensory immersion environments that merge physics, chemistry and computer science with uncanny philosophical practices. Current findings, particularly regarding wave phenomena, are employed by the artists to investigate questions of time-perception. The sciences, which serve as the basis for contemporary thought, still cannot encompass the unrecordable workings of consciousness. Domnitch and Gelfand's performances generate immediate sensory experiences without recording them in order to allow observers to transcend the illusory distinction between scientific discovery and perceptual expansion.

Do, 01. Oktober 2015

Der Angriff der Zeit auf das übrige Leben: Experiment

Mit Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, Sandeep Bhagwati, Evelina Domnitch & Dmitry Gelfand. Musiker: Felix Del Tredici, Navid Navab, Julian Stein, VALEKRIY

Aus: Mucilaginous Omniverse, Lecture-Performance von Evelina Domnitch und Dmitry Gelfand

Aus: Mucilaginous Omniverse, Lecture-Performance von Evelina Domnitch und Dmitry Gelfand

Das Ordnungssystem Zeit durchdringt alle Lebensbereiche. Im „global village“ der technologischen Zeit kann jeder zu jedem Zeitpunkt von jedem erdenklichen Ort Informationen erhalten. Der drahtlosen Kommunikation sind keine Grenzen gesetzt. Als Grundlage der Finanzmärkte treibt sie die permanente Beschleunigung der Welt voran. Die Zukunft wird bereits von der Gegenwart aufgebraucht und mit riesigen Mengen von Daten, Müll und Schulden zugebaut. Unter den Bedingungen von Echtzeitkommunikation und globaler Mobilität gehen zwei Zeitressourcen verloren: Die Sinn und Identität stiftende Vergangenheit, und eine Zukunft, die utopische Gegenentwürfe zum Jetzt erlaubt.
Im Rahmen des Auftakts von „100 Jahre Gegenwart“ untersuchen vier Veranstaltungen den Zeitraum von hundert Jahren als historischen Imaginationsraum unterschiedlicher Ausdehnungen und Verknüpfungen von Zeit: Was prägt die gegenwärtig vorherrschende Auffassung von Zeit im beschleunigten Kapitalismus? Wie beeinflusst sie unsere Wahrnehmung und Deutung der Welt? Wie wird Zeit im Experiment und im Labor hergestellt? Wie werden historische Ereignisse, Texte und Kulturen zu erfahrbaren Räumen? Und wie könnten andere Zeitvorstellungen Handlungsspielräume eröffnen?

Wie beeinflussen künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Herangehensweisen und Versuchsanordnungen die Erfahrbarkeit von Zeit? Wie wird unsere Vorstellung von Zeit durch Darstellungen geprägt? Mit wissenschaftlichen, musikalischen und künstlerischen Mitteln wird in Gesprächen und Performances untersucht, wie Zeit in Experimenten eingefroren oder beschleunigt, in der Musiknotation fixiert, oder in der freien Improvisation wahrnehmbar gemacht werden kann. Streng komponierte Versuche im Bereich der Quantenphysik und der Musik werden als „komprovisierte“ Experimente zwischen vorgefasstem Konzept und spontaner Improvisation erfahrbar.


Biografien

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger ist Molekularbiologe und Wissenschaftshistoriker. Er studierte Philosophie, Linguistik und Biologie in Tübingen und Berlin. Er ist Honorarprofessor für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der TU Berlin, Dr. h.c. der ETH Zürich, Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften sowie der Leopoldina und ehemaliger Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte in Berlin. Seine heutigen Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind die Geschichte und Epistemologie des Experiments und die Beziehungen zwischen den Künsten und den Wissenschaften.

Sandeep Bhagwati ist mehrfach preisgekrönter Komponist, Theatermacher und Medienkünstler und hat den für ihn geschaffenen Canada Research Chair for Inter-X Art an der Concordia University Montréal inne, wo er als Direktor das von ihm gegründete matralab leitet. Er war u.a. Professor für Komposition und Multimedia an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe, leitete das Hexagram-Concordia Centre for Research-Creation in Media Arts and Technologies und mehrere Festivals für Neue Musik (A•Devantgarde München, Klangriffe Karlsruhe und Rasalila am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin).

Navid Navab ist ein in Montreal lebender Komponist, Improvisator und audivisuell arbeitender Bildhauer. Seit einigen Jahren betreibt er seine experimentelle Forschung an den Instituten IRCAM (Paris), CIRMMT (Montreal), CNMAT (Berkeley), Topological Media Lab und Matralab (Montreal). Seine preisgekrönten Stücke in Gestalt gestischer Klangkompositionen, adaptiver Architekturen, ortsspezifischer oder theatraler Interventionen und kinetischer Klangskulpturen wurden unter anderem an folgenden Einrichtungen und Orten gezeigt: Canadian Center for Architecture, Festival du Nouveau Cinema (Montreal), Shanghai eArts, Roulette New York, Western Front Vancouver, McCord Museum, Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, Temeswar (Rumänien), Contemporary Arts Museum Houston, International Digital Arts Biennial (Montreal), Festival International Montréal/Nouvelles Musiques und CURRENTS (Santa Fe, USA).

Julian Stein lebt und arbeitet als Klang- und Medienkünstler in Phoenix, Arizona. Das Spektrum seiner Werke reicht von Klanglandschaften und elektroakustischen Kompositionen bis zu Gruppenperformances und kinetischen Klanginstallationen, die auf bekannten Medienkunst-Festivals wie MUTIK (Montreal), MATA (New York), ELEKTRA (Montreal) und Electric Eclectics (Meaford, Ontario, Kanada) vorgestellt wurden. Stein ist einer der Schöpfer der Montreal Sound Map und arbeitet zurzeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Matralab des Hexagram Institute for Research/Creation an der Concordia University, Montreal.

Felix del Tredici ist als „außergewöhnlich vielseitiger Posaunist“ für seine „ebenso irritierenden wie faszinierenden“ Auftritte (New York Times) bekannt. Er ist Mitglied des Ensemble Moto Perpetuo, des Fonema Consort sowie des New York Trombone Consort. Del Tredici hat mit dem Ensemble Transmission, dem Ensemble Signal und dem Klangforum Wien gespielt, ist wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Matralab der Condordia University in Montreal und kooperiert eng mit dem dortigen Topological Media Lab. Er lebt und arbeitet in New York.

VALEKRIY (Valerie Schepper) befasst sich als Künstler und in seiner Heilarbeit mit hörbaren wie auch unhörbaren akustischen Schwingungen. In den 1980ern gründete er das Ritualforschungs-Orchester Popolznowenie. Während einer Tournee mit seinem Orchester durch Westeuropa löste sich die Sowjetunion auf. Daraufhin emigrierte Valekriy in die Niederlande, wo er bis heute lebt. Sein phänomenologischer Zugang zur Akustik ermöglicht es Hörern, die Beschränkungen ihrer Wahrnehmung zu überwinden und tief in die wahre Natur des Klangs einzutauchen.

Evelina Domnitch (St. Petersburg, Russland) & Dmitry Gelfand (Minsk, Weißrussland) erschaffen in einer Verflechtung von Physik, Chemie und Informatik mit unheimlichen philosophischen Praktiken eine Umgebung, in die Betrachter vollkommen eintauchen können. Aktuelle Erkenntnisse, besonders über Wellenerscheinungen, werden von den Künstlern eingesetzt, um Fragen der Zeitwahrnehmung zu erkunden. Heutige Theorien des Bewusstseins stützen sich vor allem auf naturwissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse. Viele sinnliche Prozesse spielen sich aber in Dimensionen ab, die sich durch wissenschaftliche Aufzeichnungen nicht erfassen lassen. In Domnitch und Gelfands Performances treten Zuschauer deshalb in die direkte sensorische Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer Wahrnehmung ein.