Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2016, Sat, Apr 30

Hieroglyphic Being, Ubiet & Dian HP, Reem Kelani, Kamal Kassar & Ensemble Asil

Hieroglyphic Being | © Celeste Sloman

Hieroglyphic Being | © Celeste Sloman

10.20 pm: Hieroglyphic Being

9.20 pm: Ubiet & Dian HP

8 pm: Reem Kelani

6.45 pm: Kamal Kassar and Ensemble Asil

Hieroglyphic Being presents The Sirius Mysteries Quintet

10.20 pm | Café Global

Rhythmic Cubism and secret cosmic knowledge: as DJ, producer, and radio broadcaster, Jamal Moss is a feature of Chicago’s underground. His influences include Ron Hardy’s House tradition as well as Sun Ra and John Cage. For Pop 16 he musically explores the legendary astronomy of the West African Dogon with Live-Drums and Electronics — as well as its potentially extraterrestrial origin which generated a wave of hysteria in the 1930s.

DJ Set von Hieroglyphic Being

Ubiet | © Witjak Widhi Cahya Salihara

Ubiet | © Witjak Widhi Cahya Salihara

Ubiet & Dian HP: Dedendangan

9.20 pm | Auditorium

Melayu Pop — with its characteristic Gendang frame drums, accordion, and flute sounds — has its origins in the Indonesian and Malaysian music theater of the early 20th century. The singer Ubiet and the pianist Dian HP, who have already performed their Pop version of Indonesian Kroncong music at HKW in 2011, modernize the original sound with electric bass, cello, and lyrics from Indonesian poets.

Reem Kelani | © Christopher Scholey

Reem Kelani | © Christopher Scholey

Reem Kelani: Visit me once a year - Songs from early 20th-century Egypt and Greater Syria

8 pm | Auditorium

Born in Manchester as the daughter of Palestinian parents, Reem Kelani grew up in Kuwait and now works as a singer and musicologist in London. On her CD Sprinting Gazelle — Palestinian Songs from the Motherland and the Diaspora she playfully explored the connections between Jazz and Arab music. At HKW she will be interpreting, among others, works by Sayed Darwish, a trailblazer of Egyptian popular music.

Reem Kelani auf Soundcloud

Ensemble Asil | © promo

Ensemble Asil | © promo

Kamal Kassar (talk) and The Asil Ensemble (live performance): Classical Arab Music, a lost gem

6.45 pm | Theatersaal

A musicologist in Cairo leaves behind a dusty record collection. The archive of over 3,500 early recordings of Arab music is purchased by the Lebanese entrepreneur Kamal Kassar, who since then has dedicated himself to its preservation, digitalization, and dissemination. Pop 16 brings it to life: Kassar’s lecture will be accompanied live by Mustafa Said’s Ensemble Asil.

Ensemble Asil live

Fr 20.09.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr…

Sa, 30. April 2016

Hieroglyphic Being, Ubiet & Dian HP, Reem Kelani, Kamal Kassar & Ensemble Asil

Hieroglyphic Being | © Celeste Sloman

Hieroglyphic Being | © Celeste Sloman

22.20 h: Hieroglyphic Being

21.20 h: Ubiet & Dian HP

20 h: Reem Kelani

18.45 h: Kamal Kassar und Ensemble Asil

Hieroglyphic Being presents The Sirius Mysteries Quintet

22.20 h | Café Global

Rhythmuskubismus und kosmisches Geheimwissen: Jamal Moss ist als DJ, Produzent und Radiomacher Teil von Chicagos Underground. Zu seinen Einflüssen gehört die House-Tradition Ron Hardys ebenso wie Sun Ra und John Cage. Für Pop 16 vertont er die legendäre Astronomie der westafrikanischen Dogon, die in den 1930ern für Hysterie sorgte – und ihren womöglich außerirdischen Ursprung — mit Live-Drums und -Elektronik.

DJ-Set von Hieroglyphic Being

Ubiet | © Witjak Widhi Cahya Salihara

Ubiet | © Witjak Widhi Cahya Salihara

Ubiet & Dian HP: Dedendangan

21.20 h | Auditorium

Melayu-Pop – geprägt von Gendang-Rahmentrommeln, Akkordeon- und Flötenklängen – hat seine Ursprünge im indonesischen und malaysischen Musiktheater des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Sängerin Ubiet und die Pianistin Dian HP, die 2011 bereits mit ihrer Pop-Version der indonesischen Kroncong-Musik im HKW auftraten, modernisieren die ursprüngliche Spielform mit E-Bass, Cello und Texten indonesischer Lyriker*innen.

Reem Kelani | © Christopher Scholey

Reem Kelani | © Christopher Scholey

Reem Kelani: Visit me once a year - Songs from early 20th-century Egypt and Greater Syria

20 h | Auditorium

Als Tochter palästinensischer Eltern in Manchester geboren und in Kuwait aufgewachsen, lebt die Sängerin und Musikwissenschaftlerin Reem Kelani heute in London. Auf ihrer CD Sprinting Gazelle – Palestinian Songs from the Motherland and the Diaspora erkundete sie spielerisch die Verbindungen von Jazz und arabischer Musik. Im HKW interpretiert sie u. a. Werke des Komponisten Sayed Darwish, einem Wegbereiter ägyptischer Populärmusik.

Reem Kelani auf Soundcloud

Ensemble Asil | © promo

Ensemble Asil | © promo

Kamal Kassar (Talk) und das Ensemble Asil (Live-Performance): Classical Arab Music, a lost gem

18.45 h | Theatersaal

Ein Musikwissenschaftler aus Kairo hinterlässt eine verstaubte Sammlung
früher arabischer Aufnahmen. Der libanesische Unternehmer Kamal Kassar kauft das über 3.500 Tonträger umfassende Archiv und verschreibt sich seiner Erhaltung, Digitalisierung und Verbreitung. Pop 16 macht es erlebbar: Kassars Lecture wird live begleitet von Mustafa Saids Ensemble Asil.

Ensemble Asil live