2017, Fri, Dec 01

Hydrocarbons

Film still from Le Salaire de la Peur (1953)

Film still from Le Salaire de la Peur (1953)

Hydrocarbons plunges into the complexities and contradictions of the oil era and thereby into the molecular basis of the technosphere. It is set within a multichannel installation that includes emblematic short scenes from the feature film Le salaire de la peur (The Wages of Fear, 1953). The film depicts the story of four European outcasts driving in trucks loaded with canisters full of nitroglycerin meant to extinguish a burning oil well. As a live narrator, author Priya Basil tells the background stories of the filmic interventions that are monumentalized through the use of super slow motion. Interweaving the film scenes with a variety of visual and research materials, as well as the “sounds of oil,” Hydrocarbons explores the speculative cultural genre termed “petro noir.” The section examines the geopolitical-industrial complex that drives petrochemistry and, by consequence, mobility, consumption, waste and adventure.

Program in collaboration with the group Beauty of Oil: Alexander Klose, Benjamin Steininger and Bernd Hopfengärtner

7.30 pm
Dieter Hiller
Las Piedras
Technosphere as Frontier · Industrial Knowledge · Concepts of Environment
Discussion

The first scene from Le salaire de la peur introduces the oil business as one of the most expansive technologies of modern times. The foundations of the oil industry are laid throughout the second half of the 19th and early 20th century. Around 1948, the business goes global, entering the desert, the jungle and even the seabed. Everywhere new and larger oilfields get drilled: on the Arabian Peninsula, in South America, as well as in Eastern and in Western Europe. In a discussion with oil industry expert Dieter Hiller, this section will explore the readjustment of social and political structures and ecologies caused by the introduction of drilling technologies. How have these technologies altered both nature and culture?

8.15 pm
Oxana Timofeeva
The Geo-Power of Oil
Material Power · Economies of Excess · The Capitalist Unconscious

Presentation and responses

Scene two unfolds a panorama of power relations: a monstrous figure of fire and smoke, the frantic machinery of vehicles and workers, and a group of indigenous people looking out toward the scenery. Oil work is dirty and volatile. And, more often than not, the dirtiest parts of production are located in (post)-colonial circumstances where social stratification is extreme and exploitative labor and environmental conditions organize life and land. How have these extraction processes shaped the material organization of social structures as well as the landscapes involved? Articulating these asymmetries and volatilities in terms of geopower, Oxana Timofeeva will explore the local and global, modern and premodern cults of excess, affected by the hydrocarbon industry.

8.45 pm
Jens Soentgen
Explosions
Initial Ignition · Mobilization · Cults of Combustion

Presentation and responses

The only way to extinguish a burning oil well is to explode it. From the tragic explosion of one of the trucks in Le salaire de la peur, a whole universe of sciences, industries and politics of energetic substances can be unfolded. Today, trillions of explosions happen every hour in combustion engines. Nitro- and hydrocarbon chemistry have shaped both the face of the Earth and the scope of politics on this planet by literally unbinding the molecules of the technosphere. Chemist and philosopher Jens Soentgen will demonstrate how a logic of explosion operates inside all of these mobilizations.

9.15 pm
Stephanie LeMenager, Alexander Ilitchevsky read by Marina Frenk
Oil Lake
Petro Melancholia · Easy Oil · Tough Oil · Post Oil · Petro Fear

Presentation, reading, responses

A pipeline exploded, and the leakage forms a lake. What do we see in the black mirror of an oil spill? We look back and we see lost hopes in the Western as well as in the Eastern hemisphere. Plastics are not an avant-garde matter any more, cars don't drive us into a world of the free, and fossil resources don't guarantee a society based on social equality, justice and well-being for all. Petroculture theoretician and environmental activist Stephanie LeMenager introduced the term “petro melancholia” as a description for a common state of mind in her home country, the U.S. In the fourth scene from Le salaire de la peur, she will compare this analytical concept with the implications brought forth by petro noir. Particularly for this event, author Alexander Ilitchevsky wrote Practices and Metaphysics of Oil, an essay inspired by the story Kara Bugaz (1932) of the Russian author and journalist Konstantin Paustovskij, in which he comments on the current situation of petroculture.

10 pm
Dieter Hiller, Stephanie LeMenager, Jens Soentgen, Oxana Timofeeva
Oil Man
Dark Matter · Oil-Anthropology· Petroculture Without Oil?

final discussion moderated by Alexander Klose and Benjamin Steininger

The body of a creature only vaguely human bathing in oil - has it been thrown into the unfathomable liquid or does it emerge from it? How far our modern technosphere and our modern subjectivity have been shaped by oil is often neglected. But via fertilizers and industrial agriculture, we effectively even eat oil. Industrial hydrocarbons are in our stomachs and in our veins, in our dreams and in our thoughts. They fuel mainstream and counterculture. If civilization has plunged into a global era of petroleum, has the human become an oil-based being? And are we going to get the oil out of our veins again? Do we even want this? Do we have the right concepts, yet, to understand that strange symbiosis with something that is both a fossil and modern substance?

Information on the contributors

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Fr, 01. Dezember 2017

Hydrocarbons

Filmstill aus Le Salaire de la Peur (1953)

Filmstill aus Le Salaire de la Peur (1953)

Hydrocarbons taucht ein in die Komplexität und Widersprüche des Erdöl-Zeitalters und damit in die molekulare Grundlage der Technosphäre. Im Zentrum der Mehrkanalinstallation stehen emblematische Sequenzen aus dem Film Le salaire de la peur (1953, dt. Lohn der Angst). Der Film erzählt von vier Europäern, allesamt gesellschaftliche Außenseiter. Zu Beginn sieht man sie in LKW mit Kanistern voll Nitroglyzerin, das eine brennende Ölquelle löschen soll. Als Live-Erzählerin schildert die Autorin Priya Basil die Hintergründe der Filmhandlung, die durch die Projektion in Super Slo-Mo monumentalisiert wird. Durch die Verbindung der Filmszenen mit Forschungsmaterialien und Öl-Tonspuren erkundet Hydrocarbons ein kulturelles Genre, das sich als „Petro Noir“ betiteln ließe. Es eröffnet Perspektiven auf den geopolitisch-industriellen Komplex der Petrochemie und seine molekulare Basis, auf Mobilität, Konsum, Abenteuer und kulturelle Verschwendung.

Programm in Zusammenarbeit mit der Gruppe Beauty of Oil: Alexander Klose, Benjamin Steininger und Bernd Hopfengärtner


19.45h
Dieter Hiller
Las Piedras
Technosphere as Frontier · Industrial Knowledge · Concepts of Environment

Diskussion

In der ersten Szene von Le salaire de la peur wird die Ölindustrie als eine der expansivsten Technologien der Moderne vorgestellt. Ihre Anfänge liegen in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. und im frühen 20. Jahrhundert. Um 1948 wird die Branche dann zu einer globalen: Sie dringt in die Wüste, den Dschungel und den Meeresboden vor. Überall wird nach Öl gebohrt. Auf neuen und immer größeren Feldern wird Öl gefördert – auf der arabischen Halbinsel, in Südamerika, auch in Ost- und Westeuropa. Im Gespräch mit dem Industrieexperten Dieter Hiller geht es um die Anpassung der sozialen und politischen Strukturen aber auch der Ökosysteme an Fördertechnologien, die Natur und Kultur nachhaltig verändert haben.


20.15h
Oxana Timofeeva
The Geo-Power of Oil
Material Power · Economies of Excess · The Capitalist Unconscious

Präsentation und Kommentare

Szene zwei entfaltet ein Panorama der Machtverhältnisse: eine riesige Figur aus Feuer und Rauch; die rasende Maschinerie von Fahrzeugen und Arbeitern und eine Gruppe Indigener, die auf die Flammen blicken. Öl-Arbeit ist explosiv und dreckig. Und meist finden sich die schmutzigsten Teile der Produktion in (post-)kolonialen Kontexten, wo die soziale Schichtung extrem ist und die Ausbeutung von Arbeitskraft und Umwelt das Land und Leben prägen. Was bedeuten diese Extraktionsprozesse für die materielle Organisation sozialer Strukturen und die betroffenen Landschaften? Oxana Timofeeva erörtert diese Asymmetrien und Volatilitäten anhand von Begrifflichkeiten der Geo-Macht, benennt die lokalen und globalen, materiellen und gesellschaftlichen Umstände, die durch Exzess und Wirkungsmacht der Kohlenwasserstoffe und ihrer Gewinnung geformt werden.


20.45h
Jens Soentgen
Explosions
Initial Ignition · Mobilization · Cults of Combustion

Präsentation und Kommentare

Eine brennende Ölquelle lässt sich nur löschen, indem man sie zur Explosion bringt. Anhand der Tragödie des explodierenden Lastwagens in Lohn der Angst lässt sich ein ganzes Universum der Wissenschaft, Industrie und Energiepolitik aufmachen. Heute kommt es stündlich zu Billionen von kleinen Explosionen in Verbrennungsmotoren. Stickstoff- und Kohlenwasserstoffchemie gestalten sowohl das Gesicht der Erde als auch die politischen Dimensionen auf ihr durch die buchstäbliche Freisetzung der Moleküle der Technosphäre. Der Chemiker und Philosoph Jens Soentgen demonstriert die Logik des Explosiven, die in all diesen Mobilisierungen wirkt.


21.15h
Stephanie LeMenager, Alexander Ilitschewski gelesen von Marina Frenk
Oil Lake
Petro Melancholia · Easy Oil · Tough Oil · Post Oil · Petro Fear

Präsentation, Lesung, Kommentare

Eine Pipeline explodiert, ein Leck entsteht, ein schwarzer See bildet sich. Was zeigt sich im schwarzen Spiegelbild des ausgelaufenen Öls? Es ist die verlorene Hoffnung der westlichen und östlichen Hemisphäre. Kunststoff ist schon lange kein avantgardistisches Material mehr. Autos sind nicht mehr das Transportmittel in die Welt der Freiheit. Fossile Brennstoffe garantieren keine Gesellschaft, die auf sozialer Gleichberechtigung, Gerechtigkeit und Wohlstand für alle gründet. Die Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Umweltaktivistin Stephanie LeMenager prägte den Begriff der „Petro-Melancholie“ als Beschreibung für den kollektiven Gemütszustand in ihrer US-amerikanischen Heimat. Anhand der vierten Szene aus Lohn der Angst diskutiert sie ihr analytisches Konzept im Kontext des „Petro noir“. Alexander Ilitschewski hat mit Praktiken und Metaphysik des Öls eigens für die Veranstaltung einen Essay und Kommentar zur gegenwärtigen Situation der Petrokultur verfasst, die von der Erzählung Kara Bugaz (1932) des russischen Autors und Journalisten Konstantin Paustovskij inspiriert ist.


22h
Dieter Hiller, Stephanie LeMenager, Jens Soentgen, Oxana Timofeeva
Oil Man
Dark Matter · Oil-Anthropology· Petroculture Without Oil?

Diskussion moderiert von Alexander Klose und Benjamin Steininger

Eine in Öl badende Kreatur, vage als menschliches Lebewesen erkennbar – wurde sie in den schwarzen See gestoßen oder steigt sie aus ihm hervor? Oft wird übersehen, wie sehr die Technosphäre und auch die moderne Subjektivität vom Erdöl geprägt sind. Doch durch Dünger und industrialisierte Landwirtschaft gelangt Öl sogar in unser Essen. Industrielle Kohlenwasserstoffe fließen durch unsere Adern, lagern in unseren Mägen, bevölkern unsere Träume und Gedanken. Sie treiben sowohl den Mainstreams als auch die Gegenkultur an. Nun, da die Zivilisation im globalen Zeitalter des Erdöls angekommen ist, ist der Mensch vielmehr zum ölbasierten Wesen geworden. Werden wir das Öl wieder aus unseren Adern verbannen können? Wollen wir das überhaupt? Und gibt es schon geeignete Konzepte um diese außergewöhnliche Symbiose mit einer Substanz zu verstehen, die ebenso fossil wie modern ist?

Informationen zu den Beitragenden