2017, Sat, Dec 02

Chance

© Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken | Quarterspin from The House in the Sky, 2015

© Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken | Quarterspin from The House in the Sky, 2015

Human culture has been a culture of chance all along. Practices of divination have served as buffers between human societies and their ecosystems for millennia, using predictive and even divinatory methods for food cultivation and navigation. Around 1948, a new configuration of chance practices becomes operative with the establishment of game theory, computer simulations, and scenario planning. Ever since then, high-quality (pseudo-)random numbers have become indispensable for simulating the design of nuclear weapons, calculating the future of human populations, and modeling the climate. How do we recognize the differences or similarities of these two forms of employing chance tools for making predictions? Embracing chance and its phenomena, its materials, and rituals, this session aims to explore a lesser known but crucial element of the technosphere, concluding with a speculative dream of a future in which we, in 2017, are already history.

Program in collaboration with Sascha Pohflepp. Visual design by Tea Palmelund. Programmed by Archive Studio, London.

7.45 pm
Katrina Burch aka Yoneda Lemma, Giuseppe Longo, Inigo Wilkins
Noise Floor
Performance, Conversation

For something to be perceived as a chance event, there has to be a difference between meaning and static, signal and noise. But how do we distinguish structure from that which is undifferentiated? Grounded in noise, this session draws out a poetic cartography of chance—chaotic patterns, heterogeneous forms, and the feedback emerging from both nature and the competing technical structures that define the technosphere. A stochastic sound experiment created by Katrina Burch aka Yoneda Lemma will foreground a conversation between herself, Giuseppe Longo and Inigo Wilkins. Traversing the worlds of noise found in mathematics, the sciences, politics and art it will provide the cosmological baseline from which to explore phenomena of chance.

8.30 pm
Josh Berson, Seth Bullock, Nahum, Helena Shomar
A Million Random Digits
Performance, Conversation

Do chaos and disorganization even exist in and of themselves, or are they merely a product of certain tools and models devised to predict events and processes? Is chance perhaps even a mask for the “unwanted” parts of a world too complex to make definitive sense of? Departing from the publication ofA Million Random Digits (1947–55) by the Research and Development (RAND) Corporation, this section will explore human uses of chance across different historical periods and cultures. Artist Nahum will enact a ritualistic reading of random numbers, performed in tandem with anthropologist Josh Berson who explores controlled uses of fire in different social and cultural contexts. Following the performance, a conversation between Nahum, Seth Bullock and Helena Shomar will delve into the tools of chance, drawing a picture of a shift from a culture of control to one which may be more comfortable with chance.

9.30 pm
Elena Esposito
Rational Divination
Presentation

Algorithmic prediction is very different from the idea of prediction established in modern society since the 18th century. Whereas in the modern view, the future is open and unknowable, predictive algorithms promise to know the future in advance. Like a modern divination, algorithmic prediction does not address averages and general trends, but attempts to give precise indications about the future of a single event in which it directly intervenes.Sociologist Elena Esposito will explore these aspects of predictive logic: Which are the risky formations of causality presented by algorithmic prediction?

10 pm
Benjamin Bratton, Katrina Burch aka Yoneda Lemma, Luis Campos, Elena Esposito, Alexander R. Galloway, Oscar Guardiola-Rivera, and Orit Halpern
2048, According to Chance
Collaborative Speculation

The year is 2048. The technosphere has evolved—much more as it did between 1948 and 2017—and so has humankind’s relationship to chance. Working with life has become much more commonplace as biotechnology became mainstream. As we are looking back at the year 2017 we must ask: “What brought us here?” This performative conversation extrapolates a collaboratively crafted speculative scenario, building on individual predictions, dreams, hopes, and fears. What was signaling this world back in 2017? What does it mean to look back at the present and what does the history of futurology tell us about looking forward?

Information on the contributors

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Sa, 02. Dezember 2017

Chance

© Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken | Quarterspin aus The House in the Sky, 2015

© Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken | Quarterspin aus The House in the Sky, 2015

Die menschliche Kultur war schon immer eine Kultur des Umgangs mit Zufall. Praktiken der Wahrsagung dienten Jahrtausende lang als Puffer zwischen Gesellschaften und den sie umgebenden Ökosystemen. Methoden der Voraussage und Prophezeiung kamen vielfach zum Einsatz, sei es beim Anbau von Nahrung oder der räumlichen Orientierung. Mit der Etablierung von rechnerischen Methoden der Spieltheorie, Computersimulationen und Planungsszenarien um 1948 wird eine neue Art der Zufallspraxis funktionsfähig. Seither sind hochwertige (Pseudo-)Zufallszahlen unerlässlich, um komplexe Verfahren wie die Konstruktion von Atomwaffen, Bevölkerungsplanung und Klimasimulationen zu berechnen. Worin liegen die Unterschiede und Ähnlichkeiten dieser beiden Einsatzformen von Zufallsinstrumenten für die Prognose? Chance erkundet den Zufall und damit ein eher unbekanntes, jedoch essenzielles Element der Technosphäre und seine Phänomene. Am Ende steht ein spekulativer Ausblick, in dem das Jahr 2017 bereits Geschichte ist.

Programm in Zusammenarbeit mit Sascha Pohflepp, visuelle Gestaltung von Tea Palmelund, programmiert von Archive Studio, London

19.45h
Katrina Burch aka Yoneda Lemma, Giuseppe Longo, Inigo Wilkins
Noise Floor
Performance, Gespräch

Damit etwas als Zufallsereignis wahrgenommen wird, muss es einen Unterschied zwischen Bedeutung und Störung, zwischen Signal und Rauschen geben. Wie aber differenzieren wir die Struktur des Undifferenzierten? Ein Soundexperiment von Katrina Burch aka Yoneda Lemma führt ein in die Welt des stochastischen, also vom Zufall beeinflussten Rauschens. Die klangliche Intervention steht im Zentrum eines Gesprächs mit Inigo Wilkins und Giuseppe Longo: Sie bildet die kosmologische Grundlage, um das Muster des Zufalls selbst nachzuzeichnen, jene chaotischen Konturen, die aus dem Feedback miteinander konkurrierender technischer Strukturen entstehen.

20.30h
Nahum, Josh Berson, Seth Bullock, Helena Shomar
A Million Random Digits
Performance, Gespräch

Existieren Chaos und Desorganisation tatsächlich an und für sich? Oder sind sie nur ein Produkt bestimmter Tools und Modelle zur Vorhersage bestimmter Ereignisse und Prozesse? Ist der Zufall vielleicht gar eine Maskierung der „unerwünschten“ Anteile einer Welt, die zu komplex ist, als das man sie verstehen könnte? Ausgehend vom Buch A Million Random Digits der Research And Development Corporation (RAND) wird die Nutzung von Zufallsprozessen in verschiedenen Kulturen diskutiert. Der Performancekünstler Nahum inszeniert eine rituelle Lesung der RAND-Zufallszahlen zusammen mit dem Anthropologen Josh Berson, der den gezielten Einsatz von Feuer in verschiedenen sozialen und kulturellen Kontexten untersucht. Im Anschluss sprechen Nahum, Seth Bullock und Helena Shomar über die Instrumente des Zufalls und den Übergang von einer Kultur der Steuerung zu einer Kultur, die sich mit dem Zufall arrangiert.

21.30h
Elena Esposito
Rational Divination
Präsentation

Algorithmische Prognosen unterscheiden sich grundsätzlich von der Idee der Vorhersage, wie sie moderne Gesellschaften seit dem 18. Jahrhundert kennen. Während in der Moderne die Zukunft als offen und unbekannt aufgefasst wurde, implizieren prädiktive Algorithmen die Möglichkeit, die Zukunft vorab zu kennen. Gleich moderner Hellseherei adressiert auch die algorithmische Prognose weder den Durchschnitt noch allgemeine Trends, sondern versucht sich in exakten Hinweisen auf die Zukunft eines einzelnen Ereignisses, in die sie unmittelbar eingreift. Die Soziologin Elena Esposito spricht über diese Aspekte der prädiktiven Logik und diskutiert die riskanten Formationen der Kausalität, auf der die algorithmische Prognose aufbaut.

22h
Benjamin H. Bratton, Katrina Burch aka Yoneda Lemma, Luis Campos, Elena Esposito, Alexander R. Galloway, Oscar Guardiola-Rivera, und Orit Halpern
2048, According to Chance
Kollaborative Spekulation

Wir schreiben das Jahr 2048. Die Technosphäre hat sich entwickelt – in viel radikalerer Weise als sie es zwischen 1948 und 2017 tat. Und so entwickelte sich auch die Beziehung des Menschen zum Zufall. Während Biotechnologie zum Mainstream wurde, wurde die Arbeit an Lebensformen alltäglich. Im Rückblick auf das Jahr 2017 fragen wir uns: „Wie kamen wir an diesen Punkt?“ Das performative Gespräch entfaltet ein spekulatives Szenario, das die Beitragenden auf Basis von individuellen Prognosen, Träumen, Hoffnungen und Ängsten entwickeln. Welche Anzeichen für eine solche Welt waren schon damals, im Jahr 2017 erkennbar? Was bedeutet der Blick zurück auf die Gegenwart? Was lehrt uns die Geschichte der Futurologie für den Blick nach vorn?

Informationen zu den Beitragenden