2018, Wed, Mar 21

W.J.T. Mitchell, Hito Steyerl & John Tresch – IMAGE

VIDEODROME (1983), film still | © 1982 Guardian Trust Company

VIDEODROME (1983), film still | © 1982 Guardian Trust Company

With every transformation in the media, images negotiate between the levels of the visible and the invisible anew. For the tenth edition of Dictionary of Now, Hito Steyerl, W.J.T. Mitchell, and John Tresch reflect on contemporary paradigms of perception and the politics of images. They examine strategies for evidence production and the visual’s claim to reality in an era of techno-capitalism which is addicted to images.

How is cultural knowledge reproduced in images? How do collectives deal with the constant transformation and increasing individualization of their perceived reality? And is such a thing as global visual knowledge even possible?

The art theorist W. J. T. Mitchell sketches three phases in contemporary iconology against the background of the “pictorial turn”. The historian of science John Tresch describes the universal readability of signs and symbols. Employing the phenomenon of food photography in social media, he demonstrates how it is possible to draft cosmograms of the present. In her lecture Bubble Vision, the film maker and author Hito Steyerl examines the paradox of immersion: In a virtual reality, observers shift from the margins to the center, although they can never capture the entire image of the digital reality.

This phenomenon of immersive seeing will be taken up by the event location itself: The Pierre Boulez Saal at the Barenboim-Said Academy forms a spherical space which describes a complete 360° loop, with every point within the room opening up a new perspective.

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Mi, 21. März 2018

W.J.T. Mitchell, Hito Steyerl & John Tresch – BILD

VIDEODROME (1983), Filmstill | © 1982 Guardian Trust Company

VIDEODROME (1983), Filmstill | © 1982 Guardian Trust Company

Mit jedem medialen Wandel verhandeln Bilder das Sichtbare und das Unsichtbare aufs Neue. Für die zehnte Ausgabe des Wörterbuchs der Gegenwart reflektieren Hito Steyerl, W.J.T. Mitchell und John Tresch gegenwärtige Wahrnehmungsparadigmen und Bildpolitiken. Sie befragen Strategien der Evidenzproduktion und den Wirklichkeitsanspruch des Visuellen in einem bildersüchtigen Techno-Kapitalismus.

Wie reproduziert sich kulturelles Wissen in Bildern? Wie gehen Kollektive mit dem ständigen Wandel und wachsender Individualisierung ihrer wahrgenommenen Realität um? Und kann ein globales Bilderwissen überhaupt existieren?

Der Kunsttheoretiker W.J.T. Mitchell skizziert die drei Phasen gegenwärtiger Bildwissenschaften und Ikonologie vor dem Hintergrund des „Pictorial Turn“. Der Wissenschaftshistoriker John Tresch beschreibt die universelle Lesbarkeit von Zeichen und Symbolen. Er zeigt, wie sich anhand des Phänomens der Food-Fotografie in sozialen Medien, Kosmogramme der Gegenwart ableiten lassen. In ihrem Vortrag Bubble Vision untersucht die Filmemacherin und Autorin Hito Steyerl das Paradox der Immersion: In einer Virtuellen Realität rücken die Betracher*innen vom Rand ins Zentrum und können das gesamte Bild der digitalen Wirklichkeit jedoch nie erfassen.

Dieses Phänomen immersiven Sehens wird mit dem Veranstaltungsort aufgegriffen: der Pierre Boulez Saal der Barenboim-Said Akademie beschreibt einen sphärischen Raum, der eine vollständige 360-Grad-Schleife vollzieht, und jeder Punkt im Raum eröffnet eine neue Perspektive.