Tour

Surrealism and Ethnography in Paris, 1925 ff

Sun, May 27, 2018
3 pm
Fee: 3€ plus exhibition ticket
In German

In 1920s and 1930s France, the relatively late establishment of ethnology as an academic discipline in comparison to other colonial empires, the modernization of the ethnographic museum, and the commencement of collective fieldwork coincided with Surrealism, jazz and “negrophilia.” James Clifford coined the term “ethnographic Surrealism” to explain the correlations between Avant-Garde art and the questioning of “cultural orders” as well as those between rationality-critical discourse and references to non-Western cultures.
In a tour of the exhibition, Irene Albers illuminates the interconnections between Surrealism and ethnology in Paris between the World Wars. The focus is on the journal Documents, on whose editorial team Carl Einstein, Georges Bataille and Michel Leiris collaborated, and on the Dakar-Djibouti mission (1931-1933).

Irene Albers has been professor of general and comparative literary studies and Romance languages at the Freie Universität Berlin since 2004. Her research focuses on relations between literature and photography, the embodiment of emotions in Romance language novels and the relationship between literature and anthropology in the context of Surrealism and the Collège des Sociologie. She edited the German edition of Collège de Sociologie 1937-1939 (2012) with Stephan Moebius and Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne (2012) and Nach dem Animismus (2016) with Anselm Franke. In 2018, she will publish Der diskrete Charme der Anthropologie – Michel Leiris’ ethnologische Poetik.

Führung

Surrealismus und Ethnografie in Paris, 1925 ff.

So 27.5.2018
15h
Teilnahmebeitrag: 3 € zzgl. Ausstellungsticket
Auf Deutsch

Die – im Vergleich zu anderen kolonialen Imperien – verhältnismäßig späte Etablierung der Ethnologie als akademische Disziplin, die Modernisierung des ethnografischen Museums und der Beginn kollektiver Feldforschungen koinzidiert im Frankreich der 1920er und 1930er Jahre mit Surrealismus, Jazz und „Negrophilie“.James Clifford hat den Begriff des »ethnografischen Surrealismus« geprägt, um den Zusammenhang zwischen der Avantgarde-Kunst und der Infragestellung »kultureller Ordnungen« wie auch zwischen rationalitätskritischem Diskurs und der Bezugnahme auf nichtwestliche Kulturen zu verdeutlichen.
In einem Rundgang durch die Ausstellung beleuchtet Irene Albers die Verschränkung von Surrealismus und Ethnologie im Paris der Zwischenkriegszeit. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Zeitschrift Documents, in deren Redaktion Carl Einstein, Georges Bataille und Michel Leiris zusammenarbeiteten, und auf der Mission Dakar-Djibouti (1931–1933).

Irene Albers ist seit 2004 Professorin für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und für Romanische Philologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Schwerpunkte ihrer Forschung sind Beziehungen zwischen Literatur und Fotografie, die Verkörperung von Emotionen in der romanischen Novellistik und das Verhältnis von Literatur und Ethnologie im Umfeld des Surrealismus und des Collège des Sociologie. Mit Stephan Moebius hat sie die deutsche Ausgabe des Collège de Sociologie 1937-1939 (2012) ediert. Mit Anselm Franke ist sie Herausgeberin von Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne (2012) und Nach dem Animismus (2016). 2018 erscheint Der diskrete Charme der Anthropologie – Michel Leiris’ ethnologische Poetik .