2019, Fri, Feb 08 — 2019, Sun, Feb 17

Berlinale Generation

Tashi Gyeltshen | Filmstill The Red Phallus | © Studio108

Tashi Gyeltshen | Filmstill The Red Phallus | © Studio108

Two competitions, Generation Kplus and Generation 14plus, present international cinema for a young audience: epic narratives and snapshots, longings, fantasies, and bitter realities. Feature films, documentary works and animated films compete equally with each other.

Consistent with past editions, this year’s Generation selection reflects a great diversity of cinematic imagery and form. Young individuals can be witnessed searching for lives of meaning and self-determination while facing down uncertain future prospects in a world that often appears to have gone off the rails. The films reflect upon current fundamental socio-political themes and grants young people in particular a voice. Frequently neglected and oppressed by the adult world surrounding them, many of the films’ protagonists feel forced to make radical decisions, with no turning back. Striking is the wide range of female perspectives on display— expressing solidarity with the less powerful, defiant, rebellious, and hell-bent on their aims: At the heart of the selection are girls and young women fighting to gain control of their own destinies, against all odds and external opposition.

Makoto Nagahisa’s feature-film debut We Are Little Zombies will open Generation 14plus, with the director and his team in attendance: In the film, four 13-year-old youngsters set off on a fulminant journey through their turbulent inner lives. An adventurous trip through time and a treasure hunt through the German capital, all the way to a spot under the Devil’s Mountain (Teufelsberg), await in Cleo by Erik Schmitt, the opening film for Generation Kplus.

2040 – Telling New Stories About Our Future

On the occasion of the screening of the documentary 2040, which celebrates its world premiere at Generation, the Berlinale is hosting a panel discussion with director Damon Gameau, and experts from the fields of film, culture, science and politics. Together, they will debate the possibility and potential of sustainable responses to climate change, the single most important issue facing humanity.

Fr, 08. Februar 2019 — So, 17. Februar 2019

Berlinale Generation

Tashi Gyeltshen | Filmstill The Red Phallus | © Studio108

Tashi Gyeltshen | Filmstill The Red Phallus | © Studio108

Zwei Wettbewerbe, Generation Kplus und Generation 14plus, präsentieren internationales Kino für ein junges Publikum: epische Erzählungen und Momentaufnahmen, Sehnsüchte, Fantasien und bittere Realitäten. Spielfilme, dokumentarische Arbeiten und Animationen konkurrieren gleichrangig miteinander.

Auf formal wie inhaltlich ganz unterschiedliche Weisen zeigt die diesjährige Auswahl junge Menschen auf der Suche nach Sinn und Identität im Leben angesichts ungewisser Zukunftsaussichten in einer aus den Fugen geratenen Welt. Die Filme reflektieren fundamentale gesellschaftspolitische Themen der Gegenwart und geben insbesondere jungen Menschen eine Stimme. Oft vernachlässigt und bedrängt von der sie umgebenden Erwachsenenwelt, sehen sich viele der Protagonist*innen zu radikalen Entscheidungen gezwungen, hinter die es meist kein Zurück mehr gibt. Ungewohnt auffällig ist die Diversität weiblicher Perspektiven – solidarisch gegenüber Schwächeren, trotzig, rebellisch und wild entschlossen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen häufig Mädchen und junge Frauen, die ihr Schicksal, unbeirrbar gegen alle äußeren Widerstände, selbst in die Hand nehmen.

Den Wettbewerb Generation 14plus eröffnet Makoto Nagahisas Langfilmdebüt We Are Little Zombies: Vier junge Japaner*innen begeben sich darin auf eine fulminante Reise durch ihr aufgewühltes Innenleben. Eine abenteuerliche Zeitreise und eine Schatzsuche quer durch die deutsche Hauptstadt bis unter die Erde des Teufelsbergs erzählt der Eröffnungsfilm von Generation Kplus, Cleo von Erik Schmitt.

2040 – Telling New Stories About Our Future

Anlässlich der Vorführung des Dokumentarfilms 2040, der im Rahmen von Generation seine Weltpremiere feiert, findet eine Podiumsdiskussion mit Regisseur Damon Gameau und Expert*innen aus Film, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Politik statt. Gemeinsam erörtern sie die Möglichkeiten und Chancen verantwortungsvollen Handelns angesichts des Klimawandels, der als aktuell drängendstes Thema der Menschheit weltweit Gegenstand intensiver Diskussionen ist.